Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    16

    Picoreplayer 7 + RPi4B. USB DAC output problems

    Hi everyone!

    Just started to use Picoreplayer, my hardware: RPi 4B 2GB, USB DAC Sabaj DA2.
    Now Iĺm facing problem with USB DAC output:
    After loading of RPi there is no music output, just a silent noise.
    If I re-plug (or have a series of replugging) USB DAC it helps and music output appears. But after restarting PRi I have the initial situation.
    Tried both USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 ports - no difference. Also replugging into the same port works.

    Thought that it might be some kind of problem with USB power. But DAC takes about 200mAh.
    Tried to plug a USB HDD (about 350-400mAh) - no problem, works well.
    Also tried different adapters (3A and 3.1A) - no changes.

    With analog (3.5mm) output from RPi is OK.
    The DAC itself works well when plugged into Win10 laptop, no output problems.

    Maybe someone have any idea what can help or encountered something similar?
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    16
    Here is the output devices list, tried all variants with USB DAC, no changes.

    tc@pCP:~$ squeezelite -l
    Output devices:
    null - Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
    default
    plugequal
    equal
    hw:CARD=Headphones,DEV=0 - bcm2835 Headphones, bcm2835 Headphones - Direct hardware device without any conversions
    plughw:CARD=Headphones,DEV=0 - bcm2835 Headphones, bcm2835 Headphones - Hardware device with all software conversions
    sysdefault:CARD=Headphones - bcm2835 Headphones, bcm2835 Headphones - Default Audio Device
    dmix:CARD=Headphones,DEV=0 - bcm2835 Headphones, bcm2835 Headphones - Direct sample mixing device
    hw:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - Direct hardware device without any conversions
    plughw:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - Hardware device with all software conversions
    sysdefault:CARD=v12 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - Default Audio Device
    front:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - Front output / input
    surround21:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - 2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
    surround40:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - 4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
    surround41:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - 4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
    surround50:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - 5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
    surround51:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - 5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
    surround71:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - 7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
    iec958:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
    dmix:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - Direct sample mixing device

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,648
    I would restrict your output selection to these

    hw:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - Direct hardware device without any conversions
    plughw:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - Hardware device with all software conversions
    sysdefault:CARD=v12 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - Default Audio Device
    front:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - Front output / input
    iec958:CARD=v12,DEV=0 - SABAJ DA2 v1.2, USB Audio - IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
    Can you access the pi via ssh and check the volume in alsamixer ?

    ronnie

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    I would restrict your output selection to these



    Can you access the pi via ssh and check the volume in alsamixer ?

    ronnie
    When output is ok:
    Name:  output+.PNG
Views: 287
Size:  15.0 KB

    After reboot:
    Name:  output-.PNG
Views: 286
Size:  11.8 KB

    In squeezelite settings USB output is selected with "front:CARD=v12,DEV=0" specified.
    Somehow after reboot Headphone becomes as default.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by bigq View Post
    In squeezelite settings USB output is selected with "front:CARD=v12,DEV=0" specified.
    Somehow after reboot Headphone becomes as default.
    A fix might be to disable the on-board audio (Squeezelite Settings -> Card Control), assuming that is what the Headphones card refers to. I have seen a case like yours on another forum where this is reported to have worked.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by jophill View Post
    A fix might be to disable the on-board audio (Squeezelite Settings -> Card Control), assuming that is what the Headphones card refers to. I have seen a case like yours on another forum where this is reported to have worked.
    That worked, now in ALSAMIXER the default is USB DAC.

    But the initial problem remains: after reboot no sound, only quiet noise.
    After re-plugging (same port) sound appears.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,648
    Quote Originally Posted by bigq View Post
    That worked, now in ALSAMIXER the default is USB DAC.

    But the initial problem remains: after reboot no sound, only quiet noise.
    After re-plugging (same port) sound appears.
    Try this

    On the WiFi page scroll down to Network wait and set it at 100, reboot

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,648
    Next time it does not work from startup or reboot paste the boot log

    Main Page > Diagnostics > Logs

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,648
    After setting alsamixer, did you save the settings ?

    Name:  alsamixe for usb.png
Views: 258
Size:  38.6 KB

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    171
    As discussed in this thread: https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...re-cannot-save, saved ALSA settings for a USB DAC are not restored successfully. A workaround is to put "su alsactl restore" as a user command in the Tweaks tab.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •