Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    25

    my Pi4 died and can't figure it out.

    OK, It boots up and the screen that checks everything and when it goes to to the last line it goes blank and the green light stops flashing. I've left it on for an hour and nothing changes. Here is a pic of the screen just before it goes blank. P.S. I reseated the chip and nothing changes.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,932
    Can you ssh in to the device?
    The IP address is shown on the screen.
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    25
    I'll try and get back to you. However the reason I started looking into this is it no longer appeared on my list on either my laptop or phone. Just to be clear, SSH means wifi right?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,932
    Not necessarily - it could be Ethernet.
    However, from you screen it looks like you have connected by WiFi so that is the way to do it for now.
    Paul Webster
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, ABC Australia and CBC/Radio-Canada
    and, via the extra "Radio Now Playing" plugin lots more - see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...Playing-plugin

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    25
    when I go to the address on the net, this is the page I get.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  6. #6
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    2,134
    The address in your first image is 192.168.0.11

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    7,986
    Quote Originally Posted by chill View Post
    The address in your first image is 192.168.0.11
    I wonder if the Ethernet address was 192.168.0.14 before the WiFi was setup. Some people must get caught out by that.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    2,134
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    I wonder if the Ethernet address was 192.168.0.14 before the WiFi was setup. Some people must get caught out by that.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    Yep - been there, done that.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    25
    Well I'll be damned. The address just changed arbitrarily? Will that happen again? So I can see the Pi4 on my laptop but not on the monitor that is plugged into it. what does that mean?

  10. #10
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,380
    To me it looks like there is a Bluetooth problem and LMS is failing to completely start. The RPi4B has not dead.

    I don't recommend running LMS over wifi (probably old school thinking) unless you are making a stand alone player.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •