Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    6,565
    ?
    Quote Originally Posted by pete105 View Post
    Quick bump on this.

    To summarise based on recent testing, if I queue a new album when the penultimate or final track of the previous album is playing, playback stops after the current album. I have to click "next track" to commence payback of the next album. If I do this earlier in the album, playback continues uninterrupted.

    Does anyone else experience this? It doesn't seem like it should be by design.

    I can replicate this easily and regularly. I could grab some log files to help work out what's going on if needed.

    Thanks,

    Pete.
    I just tried this again and added a flac album while the final track in a flac album was playing and playback didn't stop. I swear I have seen this happen but I can't repeat it now. If playback stops for you even when adding the new album during the penultimate track it can't be caused by adding too close to the end of the track. Which LMS and OS are you using?

    Edit. I see it is Windows 10 but I am pretty sure it has happened to me on Raspbian.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    Last edited by slartibartfast; 2021-02-26 at 04:53.

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    ?I just tried this again and added a flac album while the final track in a flac album was playing and playback didn't stop. I swear I have seen this happen but I can't repeat it now. If playback stops for you even when adding the new album during the penultimate track it can't be caused by adding too close to the end of the track. Which LMS and OS are you using?

    Edit. I see it is Windows 10 but I am pretty sure it has happened to me on Raspbian.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    Logitech Media Server Version: 8.1.1 - 1610364019 @ Mon Jan 11 12:27:34 WEST 2021
    Running on Windows 10 Pro 20H2

    The issue used to occur on a different OS build, and different hardware. When I moved to the current hardware (a NUC), I set up LMS from scratch on a fresh OS.

    I'm playing to a Pi running PiCorePlayer and a USB DAC plugged into the NUC (running Squeezelite-X), synchronised. Also running Chromecast Bridge for occasional use in another room. The issue occurs regardless of the player.

    I tested earlier 3 tracks from the end, and playback continued, so it does appear to be an issue with the final or penultimate tracks in my case.

    I did wonder whether it could be a plugin causing the issue, as when I set up LMS I manually installed the same plugins as I had in my previous setup.

    Is it worth me providing a log file when this happens?
    Last edited by pete105; 2021-02-26 at 05:43.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    6,565
    Quote Originally Posted by pete105 View Post
    Logitech Media Server Version: 8.1.1 - 1610364019 @ Mon Jan 11 12:27:34 WEST 2021
    Running on Windows 10 Pro 20H2

    The issue used to occur on a different OS build, and different hardware. When I moved to the current hardware (a NUC), I set up LMS from scratch on a fresh OS.

    I'm playing to a Pi running PiCorePlayer and a USB DAC plugged into the NUC (running Squeezelite-X), synchronised. Also running Chromecast Bridge for occasional use in another room. The issue occurs regardless of the player.

    I tested earlier 3 tracks from the end, and playback continued, so it does appear to be an issue with the final or penultimate tracks in my case.

    I did wonder whether it could be a plugin causing the issue, as when I set up LMS I manually installed the same plugins as I had in my previous setup.

    Is it worth me providing a log file when this happens?
    Hopefully @mherger will see this and comment.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    24
    Hi,

    I enabled a few playback logging options and got the following when the issue occurs (which is does every time when album #2 is added on the final or penultimate track of album #1):

    [21-03-08 17:13:59.0431] Slim::Player::Playlist::modifyPlaylistCallback (1006) Checking if persistPlaylists is set..
    [21-03-08 17:13:59.0440] Slim::Player::Playlist::modifyPlaylistCallback (1030) saveCurrentSong not set. returing.
    [21-03-08 17:21:42.2528] Slim::Player::Playlist::reshuffle (730) Reshuffling, current song index: 45, preserve song? yes
    [21-03-08 17:21:42.2536] Slim::Buttons::Playlist::jump (374) Jumping to song index: 45
    [21-03-08 17:21:42.2549] Slim::Player::Playlist::modifyPlaylistCallback (1006) Checking if persistPlaylists is set..
    [21-03-08 17:21:42.2554] Slim::Player::Playlist::modifyPlaylistCallback (1030) saveCurrentSong not set. returing.
    [21-03-08 17:21:42.2737] Slim::Player::Playlist::modifyPlaylistCallback (1006) Checking if persistPlaylists is set..
    [21-03-08 17:21:42.2743] Slim::Player::Playlist::modifyPlaylistCallback (1034) saveCurrentSong is: [1]
    [21-03-08 17:21:42.2747] Slim::Player::Playlist::modifyPlaylistCallback (1048) Saving client playlist for: b0:c0:90:c6:30:07
    [21-03-08 17:25:17.0079] Slim::Player::Playlist::modifyPlaylistCallback (1006) Checking if persistPlaylists is set..
    [21-03-08 17:25:17.0089] Slim::Player::Playlist::modifyPlaylistCallback (1030) saveCurrentSong not set. returing.

    I'm not sure if this provides any clarity on the situation. 17:25:17 is the point where album #2 should have started playing back but the queue stops at that point. Pressing play commences playback of album #2.

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    24
    A quick update on this.

    I've discovered that disabling the Maintain Client Playlist option (which generates m3u files in the Prefs folder and saves copies of active playlists) seems to resolve this. I'm happy to live without this functionality for now in favour of being able to queue albums during playback.

    I'm not sure if this specific to my setup or a wider issue, but I'm happy to involved in more troubleshooting if needed.

    Thanks for the input slartibartfast.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •