Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    47

    New router from ISP severs my LMS connection?

    I recently switched ISPs, and was provided a new modem with its own built-in router. I'd rather use my own router, but haven't got that working yet so it's out of the picture.

    1. So I have all of my devices on the same 192.168.2.* network
    2. A LAN scan discovers my Squeezebox Touch
    3. It also discovers my NAS that hosts LMS
    4. The Squeezebox Touch can connect to mysqueezebox.com BUT it cannot find my local LMS
    5. I can access my NAS in the browser, BUT when I attempt to visit the LMS at port 9002, the browser returrns as "The connection was reset" error.
    6. Strangely my browser can access Plex at port 32400, so I'm not sure what's going on.


    I've restarted the NAS and the SBT without success.

    Attached is a screenshot showing the Synology NAS installed package at http://192.168.2.16:5000/ but oddly when I click the link it resets. Something about port 9002 my new router doesn't likee?

    Any other ideas?
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by starwalt; 2021-01-24 at 07:25.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    5,416
    Has the subnet changed between routers i.e the 2 bit of 192.268.2.x
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room Joggler & Pi4/Khadas -> Onkyo TXNR686 -> Celestion F20s
    Office Joggler & Pi3 -> Denon RCD N8 -> Celestion F10s
    Dining Room SB Boom
    Kitchen UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) Pi Zero+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) & Bathroom SB Touch ->Denon AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s + Kef ceiling speakers
    Guest Room Joggler > Topping Amp -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Everything controlled by iPeng & Material on iOS

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    47
    Thanks fof the quick response! I am seriously missing my music on a Sunday here.

    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    Has the subnet changed between routers i.e the 2 bit of 192.268.2.x
    Unfortunately, I don't know what this means. I am using a couple of ethernet switches on the network, so is that a factor? All of the devices appear on 192.168.2.* so I assumed it was fine.

    Here is a screenshot of the new modem/routerĺs DHCP settings. Does that help?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    Has the subnet changed between routers i.e the 2 bit of 192.268.2.x
    I think I understand what you mean, and yes, all of my local IPs have changed. I think I had a weird situation before with double NAT.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    5,416
    I think you may have to tell us in some detail the before and after in networking terms and also details of your NAS and how LMS is installed.
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room Joggler & Pi4/Khadas -> Onkyo TXNR686 -> Celestion F20s
    Office Joggler & Pi3 -> Denon RCD N8 -> Celestion F10s
    Dining Room SB Boom
    Kitchen UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) Pi Zero+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) & Bathroom SB Touch ->Denon AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s + Kef ceiling speakers
    Guest Room Joggler > Topping Amp -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Everything controlled by iPeng & Material on iOS

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    I think you may have to tell us in some detail the before and after in networking terms and also details of your NAS and how LMS is installed.
    The LMS is installed on a Synology NAS and my primary player is a SBT.

    Previously I had a cable modem that fed ethernet to my own router (AirPort Extreme).

    Now everything connects wirelessly or wired via switches to the new ISP modem/router hybrid.

    I could try connecting the SBT wirelessly and see if that helps.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    5,416
    Quote Originally Posted by starwalt View Post
    The LMS is installed on a Synology NAS and my primary player is a SBT.

    Previously I had a cable modem that fed ethernet to my own router (AirPort Extreme).

    Now everything connects wirelessly or wired via switches to the new ISP modem/router hybrid.

    I could try connecting the SBT wirelessly and see if that helps.
    Leave the SBT as it is. You said http://nas-up:9002 no longer works but http://nas-ip does

    Has the NAS address been changed?
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room Joggler & Pi4/Khadas -> Onkyo TXNR686 -> Celestion F20s
    Office Joggler & Pi3 -> Denon RCD N8 -> Celestion F10s
    Dining Room SB Boom
    Kitchen UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) Pi Zero+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) & Bathroom SB Touch ->Denon AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s + Kef ceiling speakers
    Guest Room Joggler > Topping Amp -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Everything controlled by iPeng & Material on iOS

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    Leave the SBT as it is. You said http://nas-up:9002 no longer works but http://nas-ip does

    Has the NAS address been changed?
    The IP address has changed to 192.168.2.16. In my browser I can still go by original hostname or the new IP and can reach the Synology admin web interface.

    But in the admin there is list of running packages, one of which is LMS. When I click it, it just goes to http://synology.local:9002/

    Same for http://192.168.2.16:9002/

    Anything with port 9002 is giving me "The connection was reset" in Firefox or Chrome. Other packages like Plex, that runs on 32400, is fine.

    If I type in a random port where I don't think anything is running I get "Unable to connect".

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    5,416
    What was the previous IP address?

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    What was the previous IP address?
    10.0.1.2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •