Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 43
  1. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    5,707
    Now Playing

    Three links

    Name:  2021-01-12 15_10_13-Logitech Media Server.jpg
Views: 45
Size:  13.2 KB
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room Joggler & Pi4/Khadas -> Onkyo TXNR686 -> Celestion F20s
    Office Joggler & Pi3 -> Denon RCD N8 -> Celestion F10s
    Dining Room SB Boom
    Kitchen UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) Pi Zero+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) & Bathroom SB Touch ->Denon AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s + Kef ceiling speakers
    Guest Room Joggler > Topping Amp -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Everything controlled by iPeng & Material on iOS

  2. #32
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,530

    Artist & AlbumArtist - multi values and JSON

    > That is for the "albums" API call. The queue and now-playing use
    > "status" - and this response has the space. As I said earlier, even the
    > default web UI has broken links (I assume) because of this. i.e. artist
    > a="a, b" artist b="c", default use shows (separate) underscores for "a"
    > and "b", and none for "c" - in its now-playing.


    Oh, I'm sorry... got stuck on that posting #4 which mentions New Music.

    I do see the issue in the Default skin. Would you mind repeating what
    you'd like to see fixed?

    --

    Michael

  3. #33
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,530
    Haha.... just found this comment in the "Now Playing" JS code:

    Code:
    // Don't split the artist name if we only have a single id. Or Earth would no longer play with Wind & Fire.
    Michael

    "It doesn't work - what shall I do?" - "Please check your server.log and/or scanner.log file!"
    (LMS: Settings/Information)

  4. #34
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,530

    Artist & AlbumArtist - multi values and JSON

    > I do see the issue in the Default skin. Would you mind repeating what
    > you'd like to see fixed?


    I believe I could relatively easily "fix" that the same way we do in the
    browse menu: return concatenated without the space, then split on that.
    I was seeing some issues with the regex in Safari, but a simplified
    version did pass. Would you be interested?

    --

    Michael

  5. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    2,731
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    I do see the issue in the Default skin. Would you mind repeating what
    you'd like to see fixed?
    Personally I have no issue. dj6g seems to want a way for Material to just show the 1st artist, composer, etc, in queue and now-playing. But, as these are comma-separated lists, IMHO, there is no fool-proof way to do this - as you cannot guarantee that a comma is not part of a name. Now I can check if there are multiple IDs, and split if there are multiple. But if I have 2 IDs and "a, b, c" is it; "a, b" and "c", or is it "a" and "b, c"??? There is no way to know. Hence I cant really see there being a possible change. Unless the API was changed, as per albums, but then that would break older clients. I guess a new tag letter to just return the first artist, composer, etc would resolve this. e.g. "tags:A" returns as is (so behaves like "aa" in albums), "tags:A1" (allow 1 anywhere) returns the 1st (so behaves like "a" in albums).
    Last edited by cpd73; 2021-01-12 at 14:14.
    Material debug: 1. Launch via http: //SERVER:9000/material/?debug=json (Use http: //SERVER:9000/material/?debug=json,cometd to also see update messages, e.g. play queue) 2. Open browser's developer tools 3. Open console tab in developer tools 4. REQ/RESP messages sent to/from LMS will be logged here.

  6. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    2,731
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > I do see the issue in the Default skin. Would you mind repeating what
    > you'd like to see fixed?


    I believe I could relatively easily "fix" that the same way we do in the
    browse menu: return concatenated without the space, then split on that.
    I was seeing some issues with the regex in Safari, but a simplified
    version did pass. Would you be interested?
    To be honest, no. Because when this is shown it will look odd without the space. In the scenario where all should be shown I don't want to split a list and then rejoin.

    Unless commas are escaped in the string there will never be a full-proof way to split on comma.
    Last edited by cpd73; 2021-01-12 at 14:13.
    Material debug: 1. Launch via http: //SERVER:9000/material/?debug=json (Use http: //SERVER:9000/material/?debug=json,cometd to also see update messages, e.g. play queue) 2. Open browser's developer tools 3. Open console tab in developer tools 4. REQ/RESP messages sent to/from LMS will be logged here.

  7. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    5,707
    This started from me asking for display of single first Artist value in Queue & Now Playing and yes ideally I’d still like to see that (on a switchable basis as I’m conscious that others want full values).

    The reason this was drawn to my attention is Craig’s forthcoming change to optionally show Artist - Conductor - Composer etc in Now Playing. If you have multi values that has the potential to be an awfully long messy display.

    At the outset I had expected Craig to say it was an array and could easily be manipulated - it still could if it wasn’t for a couple of US bands from the 70s!
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room Joggler & Pi4/Khadas -> Onkyo TXNR686 -> Celestion F20s
    Office Joggler & Pi3 -> Denon RCD N8 -> Celestion F10s
    Dining Room SB Boom
    Kitchen UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) Pi Zero+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) & Bathroom SB Touch ->Denon AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s + Kef ceiling speakers
    Guest Room Joggler > Topping Amp -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Everything controlled by iPeng & Material on iOS

  8. #38
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,530

    Artist & AlbumArtist - multi values and JSON

    > To be honest, no. Because when this is shown it will look add without
    > the space. In the scenario where all should be shown I dont want to
    > split a list and then rejoin.


    When I saw it I was really tempted to fix it. Because it's really broken
    right now. But changing this would likely render the lists for other
    uses ugly. I might need to introduce the aa, SS trick to achieve the
    same behaviour in the status query, without breaking other uses.

    > Unless commas are escaped in the string there will never be a full-proof
    > way to split on comma.


    Right. But it's proved to be good enough :-).

    --

    Michael

  9. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    2,731
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    I might need to introduce the aa, SS trick to achieve the
    same behaviour in the status query, without breaking other uses.
    I think that would be best. As I stated above, perhaps "tags:A1" could be used to state only 1 artist, composer, etc. This would be backwards compatible, as older LMSs would ignore the 1. "aa" is used for multiple, but "A" on status is already multiple.
    Material debug: 1. Launch via http: //SERVER:9000/material/?debug=json (Use http: //SERVER:9000/material/?debug=json,cometd to also see update messages, e.g. play queue) 2. Open browser's developer tools 3. Open console tab in developer tools 4. REQ/RESP messages sent to/from LMS will be logged here.

  10. #40
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,530

    Artist & AlbumArtist - multi values and JSON

    > I think that would be best. As I stated above, perhaps "tags:A1" could
    > be used to state only 1 artist, composer, etc. This would be backwards
    > compatible, as older LMSs would ignore the 1. "aa" is used for
    > multiple, but "A" on status is already multiple.


    I've implemented AA for the "status" query in 8.2. It would give the
    comma separated list without the space, behaving the same as the...
    other query (what was it again? albums?). This fixed the Default web UI.
    And using AA instead of A should be backwards compatible from your POV,
    as older versions would simply see that "A" was being used.

    --

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •