Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    60

    Advice on hi res Tidal on rpi4

    Sadly my good old SB receivers are beginning to fail😦 Instead I ordered rpi4 and hifi-Berry.
    I plan to use piCore player. Only drawback is that I don't get hi res audio from the LMS Tidal app (not talking about MQA just higher sampling rate and more bit depth).
    1) Is there a way to get Tidal hi res with LMS?
    2) If not is there a way to get hi res on my rpi4 outside LMS while keeping piCore player on the rpi4?

    I guess ropieee could work. I am not sure how to install and run both ropieee and piCore player at the same time since they both have separate images for rpi4.

    Alternative solutions are very welcome.
    Thx
    Thomas
    --
    Server: Raspberry Pi 3 running LMS 8.1
    Players: SB receiver + 4 SB boom, two groups: Group1: 3 SB Boom + 1receiver, Group2: 1 SB Boom
    Remotes: Mobile phone 1+ 5 and Asus tablet with SqueezeCtrl, Orange Squeeze and SqueezeCommander

    Apps:
    Tidal

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    394
    What do you mean by HiRes audio from Tidal I wonder. The Premium account gives you CD quality

    https://tidal.com/sound-quality

    So, that's just 16/44.1 I guess. To get higher, it's Masters

    https://tidal.com/Masters

    but, that's MQA only for hires - so no use for use with PCP etc. That's the reason I've dumped Tidal and moved over to qobuz - nice plain hires flac files.

    pete S

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    5,928
    Quote Originally Posted by psketch View Post
    What do you mean by HiRes audio from Tidal I wonder. The Premium account gives you CD quality

    https://tidal.com/sound-quality

    So, that's just 16/44.1 I guess. To get higher, it's Masters

    https://tidal.com/Masters

    but, that's MQA only for hires - so no use for use with PCP etc. That's the reason I've dumped Tidal and moved over to qobuz - nice plain hires flac files.

    pete S
    +1

    I moved from Tidal to Qobuz as soon as the latter allowed full Hi-Res via the plugin
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room Joggler & Pi4/Khadas -> Onkyo TXNR686 -> Celestion F20s
    Office Joggler & Pi3 -> Denon RCD N8 -> Celestion F10s
    Dining Room SB Boom
    Kitchen UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) Pi Zero+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) & Bathroom SB Touch ->Denon AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s + Kef ceiling speakers
    Guest Room Joggler > Topping Amp -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Everything controlled by iPeng & Material on iOS

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    60
    Thanks for the reply.
    I thought that Tidal provided other hi res than MQA but as you point out this is not the case.

    In one sense this makes it easy for me because I can simply use picoreplayer as is.
    On the other hand I am missing out on the hi res content. So perhaps qobuz is better for higher sampling rates. I will have a look.

    Thomas
    --
    Server: Raspberry Pi 3 running LMS 8.1
    Players: SB receiver + 4 SB boom, two groups: Group1: 3 SB Boom + 1receiver, Group2: 1 SB Boom
    Remotes: Mobile phone 1+ 5 and Asus tablet with SqueezeCtrl, Orange Squeeze and SqueezeCommander

    Apps:
    Tidal

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    394
    Quote Originally Posted by tuc View Post
    Thanks for the reply.
    I thought that Tidal provided other hi res than MQA but as you point out this is not the case.

    In one sense this makes it easy for me because I can simply use picoreplayer as is.
    On the other hand I am missing out on the hi res content. So perhaps qobuz is better for higher sampling rates. I will have a look.

    Thomas
    btw, I used https://soundiiz.com/ to copy playlists, favourites etc. from Tidal to Qobuz - made the switch pretty easy tbh.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    248
    Quote Originally Posted by psketch View Post
    What do you mean by HiRes audio from Tidal I wonder. The Premium account gives you CD quality

    https://tidal.com/sound-quality

    So, that's just 16/44.1 I guess. To get higher, it's Masters

    https://tidal.com/Masters

    but, that's MQA only for hires - so no use for use with PCP etc. That's the reason I've dumped Tidal and moved over to qobuz - nice plain hires flac files.

    pete S
    Not sure what you mean - MQA works fine on PiCorePlayer for me.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    5,928
    Quote Originally Posted by amey01 View Post
    Not sure what you mean - MQA works fine on PiCorePlayer for me.
    Are you sure? What DAC are you using?
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room Joggler & Pi4/Khadas -> Onkyo TXNR686 -> Celestion F20s
    Office Joggler & Pi3 -> Denon RCD N8 -> Celestion F10s
    Dining Room SB Boom
    Kitchen UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) Pi Zero+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) & Bathroom SB Touch ->Denon AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s + Kef ceiling speakers
    Guest Room Joggler > Topping Amp -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Everything controlled by iPeng & Material on iOS

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    394
    Quote Originally Posted by amey01 View Post
    Not sure what you mean - MQA works fine on PiCorePlayer for me.
    Sorry, I guess I should have been more specific. No use unless your USB DAC does all the MQA, since PCP and none of the pi HATs can unfold/decode MQA, so no use for most cases where people don't have MQA externals DACs.

    Having said that, I don't understand why anyone would want to use MQA vs. a "normal" hi-res flac file. I found this article really interesting - MQA Deep Dive - I published music on tidal to test MQA

    - both the details about the behaviour of Tidal to block testing of what MQA actually does, and the details that were gleaned before tidal blocked them.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •