Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,536

    Tidal app not appearing on SBReceiver & Radio

    > it. I stopped the playing, switched back to my local LMS and then the
    > TIDAL app was gone. I have seen this behavior now on both Receivers and
    > the Radio.


    You didn't uninstall the TIDAL plugin in LMS, did you?...

    --

    Michael

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post

    You didn't uninstall the TIDAL plugin in LMS, did you?...
    Nope, it's there. "TIDAL (v2.0)" has a checkmark in "active plugins" on the server's plugin config.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    12
    After some further debugging and setting up the whole TIDAL setup again, I got the following behavior:

    1. removed TIDAL token in mysqueezebox.com
    uninstall/reinstall TIDAL app and connect: I got the request to authenticate on mysqueezebox.com. -> OK

    2. re-added token on mysqueezebox.com again
    uninstall/reinstall TIDAL app, started it, worked -> OK

    3. switched to my own music and found the search "on TIDAL" option (nice, haven't noticed this yet)
    worked *always* on all players -> OK

    4. Removed the "bookmark" app to see what happens in "My Apps"
    -> "My Apps" was not updated, "bookmark" app was still listed, no TIDAL
    -> Reboot: "bookmark" disappeared, TIDAL appeared

    5. Started TIDAL from "My Apps"
    -> App connected automatically to "mysqueezebox.com"
    -> let it do, returned to home screen aand switched back to local LMS via "My music"
    -> TIDAL app was gone from "My Apps"
    -> searching "on TIDAL" via my local collection still works (and plays music, so routes via the local LMS)

    To summarize: the main issue seems to be the central starting point of the TIDAL app, for whatever reason it focuses on mysqueezebox.com and switches to it directly after start. Once you switch to mysqueezebox.com, TIDAL disappears from the local LMS "My Apps" menu.

    And also the "My Apps" menus seem to have some problems updating - they only updated after a reboot of the device.

    I hope this helps a bit to narrow down the problem...

    Alex

  4. #14
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,536

    Tidal app not appearing on SBReceiver & Radio

    I think you're trying too many things in a too short time... Please:

    - connect all players to your LMS
    - go to Settings/Advanced/Logging and enable logging for
    network.squeezenetwork
    - check the "keep setting at reboot"
    - save logging options
    - power down _all_ devices
    - restart LMS
    - power up all devices
    - send server.log.zip

    https://www.dropbox.com/request/T3RctyzGgNg0oFDubq6a

    --

    Michael

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    I think you're trying too many things in a too short time... Please:

    - connect all players to your LMS
    - go to Settings/Advanced/Logging and enable logging for
    network.squeezenetwork
    - check the "keep setting at reboot"
    - save logging options
    done. Set network.squeezenetwork to "Debugging" and plugin.tidal to "Information".

    - power down _all_ devices
    - restart LMS
    - power up all devices
    - send server.log.zip

    https://www.dropbox.com/request/T3RctyzGgNg0oFDubq6a
    also done. server.log is uploaded.

    Interesting thing when scanning through the log: in the device list, there is only one controller listed, although there are two. Is this an issue?

    After the reboot, TIDAL was listed in the Receivers and the Radio. When accessing it, it immediately wanted to connect to mysqueezebox.com.

    Also further information: the device "Receiver WZ" turned off again immediately after booting when accessing TIDAL, I had to power cycle it again. I had this problem already a several months ago, but it disappeared again. So there may be several boot up sequences in the log for this one.

    Best regards,
    Alex

  6. #16
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,536

    Tidal app not appearing on SBReceiver & Radio

    > also done. server.log is uploaded.

    Crap... there's no trace of TIDAL in there. And there's also a "next
    player check" delay of 24h. This usually is the case if the user didn't
    have any player or had not been seen in a long time - which is not the
    case for you. I'm a bit lost.

    --

    Michael

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    12
    > Crap... there's no trace of TIDAL in there.

    That's what I wondered as well.

    > And there's also a "next player check" delay of 24h. This usually is the
    > case if the user didn't have any player or had not been seen in a long
    > time - which is not the case for you. I'm a bit lost.

    Well, I haven't been using mysqueezebox.com for a very long time until I had to use it again to get the TIDAL token. And the token retrieval works (see previous post). Except for some hickups from time to time (like the boot issue above for the SB Receiver, which may also be aging hardware) everything worked fine with the local LMS.

    I did some further experiments and uploaded the log files. network.squeezenetwork and plugin.tidal are set to log level "Debugging", server is freshly restarted.

    First on the SB Receiver with MAC ending e6:44. I didn't restart it as TIDAL was showing up in the main menu (as it should). I started it, it connected to the local LMS (fine, but strange, usually it doesn't) and I could stream 166307039.mp4.

    Now, next, the SB Radio with MAC ending 83:40.

    I rebooted it, TIDAL showed up in the main menu. I started it and it connected (as usual) to mysqueezebox.com. There is no log entry for this in the local LMS log file. I let it connect to mysqueezebox.com, browsed to same track as above and wanted to stream it and it failed (unknown file format, as usual). Also no log entry for this in the local LMS.

    I connected to my local music archive, went to the same artist (Alicia Keys in this case), searched "on TIDAL" for the song above and could stream it. This is visible in the log files. The TIDAL app from the main menu (and "My Apps") is gone, though.

    I hope this helps to bring some more light into this...

    Best regards,
    Alex

  8. #18
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,536

    Tidal app not appearing on SBReceiver & Radio

    On 05.01.21 10:54, alema89 wrote:
    >
    > done. Set network.squeezenetwork to "Debugging" and plugin.tidal to
    > "Information".


    Alex - could you please run "ping www.mysqueezebox.com" from the machine
    where you're running LMS?

    Is something about your network setup special? Are you using a VPN, or
    some particular DNS? After a bunch of reports about Apps missing from
    LMS I came to the conclusion that most, or almost all users seem to be
    in the US - except you! I wonder whether you're hitting the US
    datacenter for whatever reason.

    --

    Michael

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    On 05.01.21 10:54, alema89 wrote:[color=blue]

    Alex - could you please run "ping www.mysqueezebox.com" from the machine
    where you're running LMS?
    NP, here you are:

    Code:
    PING www.mysqueezebox.com (3.232.61.123) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from ec2-3-232-61-123.compute-1.amazonaws.com (3.232.61.123): icmp_seq=1 ttl=83 time=111 ms
    64 bytes from ec2-3-232-61-123.compute-1.amazonaws.com (3.232.61.123): icmp_seq=2 ttl=83 time=110 ms
    64 bytes from ec2-3-232-61-123.compute-1.amazonaws.com (3.232.61.123): icmp_seq=3 ttl=83 time=108 ms
    Is something about your network setup special? Are you using a VPN, or
    some particular DNS? After a bunch of reports about Apps missing from
    LMS I came to the conclusion that most, or almost all users seem to be
    in the US - except you! I wonder whether you're hitting the US
    datacenter for whatever reason.
    Good catch, according to ipstack.com this server is in the US...

    I'm not using a VPN, but I'm running DNS over TLS using the Google and Cloudflare DNS Servers. Maybe this is it?

    If it's working when being connected to the European data centers, this could also explain that in the last days on one day TIDAL was working right away as it should on one device, and later again it didn't... Maybe at this point I was directed to the European servers.

    Alex

  10. #20
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,536

    Tidal app not appearing on SBReceiver & Radio

    > 64 bytes from ec2-3-232-61-123.compute-1.amazonaws.com (3.232.61.123): icmp_seq=1 ttl=83 time=111 ms
    >
    > Good catch, according to ipstack.com this server is in the US...


    Yep!

    > I'm not using a VPN, but I'm running DNS over TLS using the Google and
    > Cloudflare DNS Servers. Maybe this is it?


    Hmm... I think you're the second person reporting connecting to the US
    while using CF, when I would have expect you/him to connect to EU.

    > If it's working when being connected to the European data centers, this


    Good to know!

    After I came to believe this was a US datacenter issue I figured out
    there was a database problem. One server got out of sync with the
    others. We're working on it.

    --

    Michael

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •