Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    12

    Tidal app not appearing on SB Receiver & Radio

    Hello!

    I'm not sure if this is the right forum or if it would be better in the dedicated Radio/Duet forums, but it might as well be a server issue...

    I'm trying to get TIDAL access up and running, but on Squeezebox Radio and Receiver the TIDAL app is not showing up under "My Apps". It's working on a Squeezebox Boom, but here I can fix the TIDAL sub-menu in the main menu via the server config. TIDAL access in principle is working (also with AAC streams via conversion) in Boom, Radio and Receiver, but on Radio and Receiver the only way to start the TIDAL app is to uninstall it via the "App gallery" menu, re-install it and start it directly after the "add link" option (which doesn't seem to do anything). But as soon as you lose the TIDAL screen, you have to go the same way again, the "My Apps" menu doesn't list TIDAL.

    BTW, also on the web interface TIDAL doesn't show up under "My Apps". And even more strange: after many server and client uninstallations and installations and reboots I had the TIDAL app in "My Apps" on all systems, but now it disappeared again.

    Any clue how to make this work?

    I tried the latest Nightly Build (Logitech Media Server Version: 8.1.1 - 1609569900) and am running it on OpenSUSE 15.2. TIDAL plugin is active, sync to mysqueezebox.com is running, TIDAL account is activated via mysqueezebox.com. And, as mentioned, in principle it's working, except for the disappearing TIDAL app.

    Any clues? Any log files I should scan to get some more details on this?

    And thank you very much for keeping this system up and running!

    Best regards,
    Alex

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,526

    Tidal app not appearing on SBReceiver & Radio

    > I'm trying to get TIDAL access up and running, but on Squeezebox Radio
    > and Receiver the TIDAL app is not showing up under "My Apps". It's


    Did you buy these units second hand?

    --

    Michael

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > I'm trying to get TIDAL access up and running, but on Squeezebox Radio
    > and Receiver the TIDAL app is not showing up under "My Apps". It's


    Did you buy these units second hand?
    Thanks for the reply. I bought the Radio and the Receiver first hand. I have a second Receiver in the network which I bought second hand after the production was stopped.

    Alex

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,526

    Tidal app not appearing on SBReceiver & Radio

    > Thanks for the reply. I bought the Radio and the Receiver first hand. I
    > have a second Receiver in the network which I bought second hand after
    > the production was stopped.

    Would you mind sharing your players' MAC addresses and server.log.zip
    with me (via PM or https://www.dropbox.com/request/T3RctyzGgNg0oFDubq6a)?

    --
    --

    Michael

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >
    Would you mind sharing your players' MAC addresses and server.log.zip
    with me (via PM or https://www.dropbox.com/request/T3RctyzGgNg0oFDubq6a)?
    Thanks, uploaded log and sent further infos via PM.

    Alex

  6. #6
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,526

    Tidal app not appearing on SBReceiver & Radio

    > Thanks, uploaded log and sent further infos via PM.

    Hi Alex - two of your Controllers were not assigned to your account.
    Controlling TIDAL using them would have failed. Could you please try again?

    --

    Michael

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Thanks, uploaded log and sent further infos via PM.

    Hi Alex - two of your Controllers were not assigned to your account.
    Controlling TIDAL using them would have failed. Could you please try again?
    Hi Michael, thanks a lot. The second receiver is now connecting again to the local LMS and playing and all players show up under mysqueezebox.com.

    Yet, on the Radio and the second receiver I still have the issue that TIDAL doesn't appear under "My Apps", it also doesn't appear in the LMS web interface. On these two players, I have to re-install TIDAL via the app gallery to access it. On the Radio, it survives a reboot but automatically connects me to mysqueezebox.com instead of the local LMS. When I switch back, TIDAL is gone again.

    Looks a bit similar to this thread: https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...y-queued-songs

    Alex

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    12
    Short update - all players work sort of consistent now, but still not right (except for my Boom, where it simply works... ;-).

    When I switch the network to mysqueezebox.com, TIDAL appears in "My Apps", but doesn't work ("unknown file format"). For the "2nd hand SB receiver" I can now switch the network to mysqueezebox.com (this menu wasn't visible before, thanks for fixing), but connection to mysqueezebox.com fails (it works for the other receiver and the Radio).

    When I switch back to the local LMS, TIDAL disappears again from "My Apps".

    Alex

  9. #9
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,526

    Tidal app not appearing on SBReceiver & Radio

    > When I switch the network to mysqueezebox.com, TIDAL appears in "My

    Forget mysqueezebox.com. It can't handle TIDAL any more (need to make
    this clear at some point...)

    > When I switch back to the local LMS, TIDAL disappears again from "My
    > Apps".


    Are you saying that even when all devices are connected to the same LMS,
    _some_ would show TIDAL, while others wouldn't?

    Can you check the player settings on
    https://www.mysqueezebox.com/user/apps/WiMP, whether the app is enabled
    for all players?

    --

    Michael

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > When I switch the network to mysqueezebox.com, TIDAL appears in "My

    Forget mysqueezebox.com. It can't handle TIDAL any more (need to make
    this clear at some point...)
    This is what I understood, you only need mysqueezebox.com to get the OAuth token. I never really used mysqueezebox.com anyway, I just returned there to get the token. The problem is: the few times I was connected to my local LMS *and* had the TIDAL app in the menu, the *TIDAL app* requested to connect to mysqueezebox.com. When I allowed it, it connected to mysqueezebox.com, showed the content but couldn't play it. I stopped the playing, switched back to my local LMS and then the TIDAL app was gone. I have seen this behavior now on both Receivers and the Radio.


    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post

    > When I switch back to the local LMS, TIDAL disappears again from "My
    > Apps".


    Are you saying that even when all devices are connected to the same LMS,
    _some_ would show TIDAL, while others wouldn't?
    I had this scenario, yes, but the devices were in different "reboot states" - let's best call it like this. Now the behavior is consistent - TIDAL doesn't show up on all devices when connected to the local LMS (as usual except for my SB Boom, but here I pinned the TIDAL app in the menu in the player's LMS server config).

    On the Receivers and the Radio, I can get TIDAL to work in this way: I go the App Gallery, uninstall TIDAL, install it again, accept the link creation for "My Apps" (which never appears), start the App and can use it. But as soon as I leave it, e.g. because I switch to radio or some other non-TIDAL content, I can't get back there, only via the re-install just described.

    And yes, for a short time everything worked (devices connected to local LMS, TIDAL app in menu), but this is not robust and I don't know how to get back to this state. This state usually doesn't survive a power cycle.

    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    Can you check the player settings on
    https://www.mysqueezebox.com/user/apps/WiMP, whether the app is enabled
    for all players?
    Yes, it's active and states "display in main menu". And thanks to your registration fix, I can now reproducible show the TIDAL app when switching to mysqueezebox.com, but of course to no avail...

    So I suppose the problem now lies in my local LMS installation. The original config is rather old, I started with some 7.something (may have been 7.5 or 7.6) and upgraded all the way to 8.1. Could this be an issue?

    A further side note: besides TIDAL, I use the podcast and the bookmark app. Both appear in the "My Apps" menu, but not TIDAL.

    Or some debugging on the devices? I have seen in the extended settings that you can enable SSH (never tried this yet), would this help? And if yes, where to look?

    Best regards,
    Alex
    Last edited by alema89; 2021-01-04 at 11:05.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •