Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1

    Problems with Spotty

    Hi all,

    My main family musical requirement at the moment is to be able to play Spottify, from everyone's iPhone, on varius the speaker systems in the house.

    It doesn't feel like too much of an ask, but I just can't get it working. And when it occasioanly does, it's intermittant and flakey at best.

    I thought that the key was going to be setting up the different users in Spotty's settings (I've only had me set up in the past).

    However, I added everyone in the house's spotify accoiunts yesterday. They all seem to be set up fine, but it's still not working.

    When I play something on Spotify, on their phones, then press the little button on the iPhone UI, none of the Slim Devices in the house show up.

    I have seen the setting about enabling Lan discovery (or whatever it's called) for Spotify, on the phones, but that isn't fixing anything.

    The phones are all connected to the same wifi that my phone is connected to.

    On my own phone, sometimes the slim devices do show up, but that's only half of the battle. Pressing on them sometimes works and delvivers music from the speakers. Sometimes (often) nothing happens. Right now, I seem to be in the same position as everyone else. Nothing showing up in the list at all.

    I have just rebooted my server and everything seems to be fine with that, as far as I can tell.

    I'm running Xbuntu 20.04 LTS and Logitech Media Server Version: 8.1.0

    If it's relevant, I've also never managed to get AirPlay working, at all, ever.

    Can anyone help me to make this 'just work'?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,082
    Are all the devices enabled for "Spotify Connect" ?

    ronnie

  3. #3
    Hi Ronnie,

    Yes, and I've tried it both ways. I've tried anabling all of the devices for Spotify Connect. I've also tried (due to the warning on the settings screen about memory) just enabling one device.

    It changes what shows up in the list of devices on the phone(s), but doesn't affect how relibale the conenction is.

    Right now, on my phone, I can select to play back on my phone - which obviously works fine, via my PC (logged in in a firefox tab) - which also works fine, or through the SLIMP3 or one of my Jogglers - Selecting either of these does nothing at all.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,082
    I think

    That if say you are playing to a Touch

    And someone wants to play to, say a Boom, it won't work.

    You may need the Friends and Family Account for Spotify

    Or set up a LMS for each user's phone

    ronnie

    guessing a bit

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,082
    I have two phones, one Android and one iPhone

    I have one Spotify account

    I have started a Radio from the iPhone

    I opened spotify on the Android and have a screen telling me I am listening to a Radio and do I want to continue or listen on the Android.

    If you have a user with a seperate Spotify Account are you saying that they can't connect to a different device?

    Just trying to get things straight in my head, so someone else can solve tghe problem

    ronnie

  6. #6
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,524

    Problems with Spotty

    Is the "do not announce players" box checked in the Spotty settings?
    That would explain it. Unfortunately this sometimes is set automatically
    when Spotty discovers a conflict with another application on your computer.

    --

    Michael

  7. #7
    Thanks Michael,

    I unchecked "do not announce players", and now it seems to be working a bit more consistantly for my phone.

    However, the device(s) still aren't showing up at all on the other iPhones.

    Here are all of my Spotty settings ...

    Name:  2021-01-04 16_26_15-Window.png
Views: 210
Size:  71.6 KB

    Name:  2021-01-04 16_27_07-Window.png
Views: 210
Size:  100.6 KB

    Is anything else set incorrectly?

    Thanks,
    Damian

  8. #8
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,524

    Problems with Spotty

    > I unchecked "do not announce players", and now it seems to be working a
    > bit more consistantly for my phone.


    If you don't want the Spotify content mixed with your local library,
    then either disable the import in the Spotty settings, or disable the
    Online Music Library Integration plugin.

    > However, the device(s) still aren't showing up at all on the other
    > iPhones.


    - Only one is currently set up to be seen.
    - set up a client ID (see last option)
    - only mobile phone connected to the same network (wlan) can see your
    players. If they're on the cell network only, they won't see it.

    --

    Michael

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    17
    Hello, I stil got problems with spotty. I updated lms to 8.0.0, and also spotty to 4.4.6 and got the client id. What s wrong?

  10. #10
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,524

    Problems with Spotty

    > Hello, I stil got problems with spotty. I updated lms to 8.0.0, and also
    > spotty to 4.4.6 and got the client id. What s wrong?[image:


    What system are you running this on? What other spotty helper options
    would you have in that droptdown list in the Spotty settings?

    --

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •