Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 52
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    31

    Help to Install on Synology

    It is odd that I have to ask such basic questions, considering I have been using my Squeezebox for quite a few years, but, I am about to install a new HDD on my NAS and am guessing I will need to reinstall stuff and set up again.......I have forgotten what I need to do!

    I am pretty sure what I have is a Squeezebox Duet - it has C-RM66 on label - and a Synology DS110j NAS. I also use Squeeze Commander on my Android tablet to control it.

    I need to take out the HDD currently in the NAS and put a blank one in.

    Can some one tell me (or point me to a tutorial) what I need to do to set up the NAS to allow me to play stuff through the SB, please?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,519

    Help to Install on Synology

    > Can some one tell me (or point me to a tutorial) what I need to do to
    > set up the NAS to allow me to play stuff through the SB, please?


    You probably don't want to hear this, but I'd suggest you don't install
    LMS on the Synology any more. There are multiple reasons:

    - Synology no longer provides LMS for their devices
    - your NAS is a rather slow model
    - your NAS is rather old, and it shouldn't come as a surprise if it died
    in the next year or two

    Therefore I'd strongly recommend you get a Raspberry Pi and install
    picoreplayer.org on it to run LMS. You can still keep the music file on
    the NAS. It will be much more future proof, easy to install, and much
    faster.

    --

    Michael

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Can some one tell me (or point me to a tutorial) what I need to do to
    > set up the NAS to allow me to play stuff through the SB, please?


    You probably don't want to hear this, but I'd suggest you don't install
    LMS on the Synology any more. There are multiple reasons:

    - Synology no longer provides LMS for their devices
    - your NAS is a rather slow model
    - your NAS is rather old, and it shouldn't come as a surprise if it died
    in the next year or two

    Therefore I'd strongly recommend you get a Raspberry Pi and install
    picoreplayer.org on it to run LMS. You can still keep the music file on
    the NAS. It will be much more future proof, easy to install, and much
    faster.

    --

    Michael
    Thanks for reply. However, I am looking to reduce the number of boxes I have rather than increase!

    Is there no way to install something on Synology to allow me to continue as I am now?

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,519

    Help to Install on Synology

    > Is there no way to install something on Synology to allow me to continue
    > as I am now?


    There's a (now abandoned) community build. Just search the forum for
    Synology, you can't miss it. But as it's based on Synology's package,
    it's no longer maintained either.

    If the count of boxes is important, then Docker would be an alternative.
    But not on your model NAS. Your setup has reached its end of supported
    life...

    --

    Michael

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Is there no way to install something on Synology to allow me to continue
    > as I am now?


    There's a (now abandoned) community build. Just search the forum for
    Synology, you can't miss it. But as it's based on Synology's package,
    it's no longer maintained either.

    If the count of boxes is important, then Docker would be an alternative.
    But not on your model NAS. Your setup has reached its end of supported
    life...

    --

    Michael
    OK, thanks.

    I have decided to leave the HDD in and carry on as I was (will buy a new HDD to use where this one was going!)

    Will just have to keep my fingers crossed that it doesn't croak too soon!!!!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    31
    OK, a few things have happened, which are making me reconsider my plans and I would appreciate some input from you knowledgeable people to help me plan what to do!

    If I get a new Synology NAS will I be able to install the necessary software to continue using my Squeezebox with it? Doesn't have to be Synology.....just that the one I've had has been very reliable!

    Also, do you know if NAS devices can be set up to allow the HDDs to "sleep" if they are inactive for a while? I do not use the NAS that often and do not want it sat there spinning away and using power when it isn't needed!
    Last edited by MysteryMan99; 2021-01-01 at 06:33.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,273
    Quote Originally Posted by MysteryMan99 View Post
    If I get a new Synology NAS will I be able to install the necessary software to continue using my Squeezebox with it?
    Not with native packages, As of DSM7 LMS is no longer available for your Syno. You'll have to use Docker to be able to continue LMS on your Syno. Docker however, is only available for intel based nas. So check if Docker is available for your (new) Syno:
    https://www.synology.com/nl-nl/dsm/packages/Docker

    Also, do you know if NAS devices can be set up to allow the HDDs to "sleep" if they are inactive for a while? I do not use the NAS that often and do not want it sat there spinning away and using power when it isn't needed!
    Depents on which packages are running on your nas, but most have the option to schedule services, like your Syno has. You can use Task Scheduler to start/stop services on specific times (including Docker or LMS).

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by pinkdot View Post
    Not with native packages, As of DSM7 LMS is no longer available for your Syno. You'll have to use Docker to be able to continue LMS on your Syno. Docker however, is only available for intel based nas. So check if Docker is available for your (new) Syno:
    https://www.synology.com/nl-nl/dsm/packages/Docker
    OK, seems like Docker is not available on the Synology I was thinking of.

    So, I will widen out the question.....

    I have a Squeezebox Duet that I would like to continue using. Can anybody suggest a reasonably priced (less than ú200) NAS that I can use that has a version of LMS still supported.

    Alternatively, do I have to use LMS or is there any other was to use the SQB and a NAS together?

    Another question......seems like I can update the firmware on my Synology NAS, which might solve other issues I have. Not sure if that would delete the copy of Squeezebox Server I have on there now (v 7.4.1). Have found that I can download a copy of this still, but, there are several variants - which one would I need to put back on to Synology?
    Last edited by MysteryMan99; 2021-01-03 at 11:06.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    91
    If you get a NAS that supports hosting Virtual Machines, then you could always create a VM and run your LMS inside the VM. It's a little bit more effort to set up, and may have the downside of keeping the hard drives from ever spinning down (although not a problem if you're using SSDs), but avoids having an additional box.

  10. #10
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,519

    Help to Install on Synology

    > I have a Squeezebox Duet that I would like to continue using. Can
    > anybody suggest a reasonably priced (less than Ł200) NAS that I can use
    > that has a version of LMS still supported.


    AFAIK there's no NAS which supports LMS out of the box. There are
    community solutions for some of them.

    > Alternatively, do I have to use LMS or is there any other was to use the
    > SQB and a NAS together?


    Go the Raspberry Pi route: run LMS on a Pi, connect to the NAS for the
    music files.

    --

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •