Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 42
  1. #21
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,536

    PicorePlayer LMS Media scanterminated unexpectedly and then rescans randomly

    > Just under 100k

    143MB for 100k. OP has about double that number, or more. Which means
    the file _could_ be 300MB.

    It's possible that this really is very close to fitting the condition I
    came up with at some point to decide over running in memory or not. I
    guess LMS tries to optimize in memory, but actually doesn't have enough
    memory, because my estimation isn't good enough.

    Pommes - if you're reading here: how computer literate are you? Would
    you feel comfortable editing a file or two to test whether we can figure
    out what's going on?

    You could also enable INFO logging for database.info
    (Settings/Advanced/Logging) before re-running a scan with max memory
    mode. That would give us some information about what's going on without
    modifying the code. Do NOT set the log level to DEBUG, as this could
    create a huge scanner.log!

    --

    Michael

  2. #22
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,536

    PicorePlayer LMS Media scanterminated unexpectedly and then rescans randomly

    > 357.6M library.db

    Yeah, this could really be just a bit too much for in-memory
    optimization, but not large enough to trigger my condition. Please see
    my previous response to Paul.

    --

    Michael

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    PARIS, Fr
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Just under 100k

    143MB for 100k. OP has about double that number, or more. Which means
    the file _could_ be 300MB.

    It's possible that this really is very close to fitting the condition I
    came up with at some point to decide over running in memory or not. I
    guess LMS tries to optimize in memory, but actually doesn't have enough
    memory, because my estimation isn't good enough.

    Pommes - if you're reading here: how computer literate are you? Would
    you feel comfortable editing a file or two to test whether we can figure
    out what's going on?

    You could also enable INFO logging for database.info
    (Settings/Advanced/Logging) before re-running a scan with max memory
    mode. That would give us some information about what's going on without
    modifying the code. Do NOT set the log level to DEBUG, as this could
    create a huge scanner.log!

    --

    Michael
    Well, i am not that IT professionell, all the commands i use i found out on google:-)
    But if you┤d give me step by step instructions, i would be pleased to help.
    I am very grateful for this community here, so i will do all i can:-)
    The Earth Has Music For Those Who Listen

  4. #24
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4,052
    pCP 32 bit will use all memory of the rpi4 boards, but its 3GB per process. (2GB in practicality with overhead) There is however a full 64bit pCP that doesn't have these restrictions.

    pCP7 is in beta now, I'm waiting for a few kernel fixes from RPI (for some fridge case uses - not normal LMS/squeezelite), then I'll push out the normal release.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,405
    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    pCP 32 bit will use all memory of the rpi4 boards,
    even the 8Gb boards ?

  6. #26
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4,052
    Yes. They are using a LPAE in the kernels. So there is some overhead to do it.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  7. #27
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,536

    PicorePlayer LMS Media scanterminated unexpectedly and then rescans randomly

    >> You could also enable INFO logging for database.info
    >> (Settings/Advanced/Logging) before re-running a scan with max memory
    >> mode. That would give us some information about what's going on without
    >> modifying the code. Do NOT set the log level to DEBUG, as this could
    >> create a huge scanner.log!

    >
    > Well, i am not that IT professionell, all the commands i use i found out
    > on google:-)
    > But if you┬┤d give me step by step instructions, i would be pleased to
    > help.


    Please try the above with memory set to max. Yes I know, it'll crash the
    scanner. But that's what I'm looking for. Maybe if you could monitor the
    memory usage when it's getting closer to the optimize stage (and I know
    again, this asking much :-)).

    --

    Michael

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    PARIS, Fr
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >> You could also enable INFO logging for database.info
    >> (Settings/Advanced/Logging) before re-running a scan with max memory
    >> mode. That would give us some information about what's going on without
    >> modifying the code. Do NOT set the log level to DEBUG, as this could
    >> create a huge scanner.log!

    >
    > Well, i am not that IT professionell, all the commands i use i found out
    > on google:-)
    > But if you┬┤d give me step by step instructions, i would be pleased to
    > help.


    Please try the above with memory set to max. Yes I know, it'll crash the
    scanner. But that's what I'm looking for. Maybe if you could monitor the
    memory usage when it's getting closer to the optimize stage (and I know
    again, this asking much :-)).

    --

    Michael
    Yes i can do that, a complete delete and rescan everything?
    How would i monitor the memory usage?
    The Earth Has Music For Those Who Listen

  9. #29
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4,052
    open up a shell and run the command `top`

    Name:  12-18-2020 9-36-55 AM.png
Views: 71
Size:  23.2 KB

    watch the MiB Mem: line.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  10. #30
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,536

    PicorePlayer LMS Media scanterminated unexpectedly and then rescans randomly

    > Yes i can do that, a complete delete and rescan everything?

    SSH in to the device
    (https://docs.picoreplayer.org/how-to...s_pcp_via_ssh/), run "top".
    The top line would give you something like this:

    Mem: 222824K used, 775996K free, 13088K shrd, 17652K buff, 68236K cached

    Just try to see whether during the optimize step the usage increases a
    lot. I would expect it to.

    --

    Michael

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •