Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    2

    Control Panel for LMS is not starting up after upgrade to 8.0.1, when LMS is running

    Windows 7PL
    2x Xeon machine
    LMS 8.0.1

    cannot start Control Panel while LMS is running
    starting screen is showing up, and than gone, and control panel is not starting
    it did start with LMV version 7.8.x

    I can start it only after stopping LMS and closing it
    than I can start it in administrative mode by running "squeezeboxcp.exe"

    if when in control panel, I will start LMS, after a short while control panel is suddenly disappearing.
    and cannot be started again. LMS is not starter

    but if I start LMS normally, (not from Control Panel) all the database and Squeezbox Touch music is running fine
    andy

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    3

    Same issue

    I am having the exact same issue with Control Panel not starting up/disappearing.

    Windows Server Essentials 2016
    VMware VM - Host does have 2x Xeons
    LMS 8.0.1

    Problem happens both in console and via RDP session.

    Thanks in advance.
    Michael (SpectrumTic)

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    2

    same problem with 8.1

    still not possible to start Control Panel in. LMS 8.1, while LMS is running
    andy

  4. #4
    I can start the control panel (LMS V8.1 under M1 Big Sur) but it looses the information about the folders with the music. So if I start rescan, it does nothing. These folders are on the external disc, which is connected with Thunderbolt connection. I resolved the issue by restarting the server.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    3

    It works!

    I'm able to open the control panel! I guess it was the most recent update, 8.1.2, that resolved the issue for me.

    Thank you!!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by spectrumtic View Post
    I'm able to open the control panel! I guess it was the most recent update, 8.1.2, that resolved the issue for me.

    Thank you!!
    I spoke too soon. It stopped working on the next update.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    9

    Control panel just dissapperaing

    Logitech Media Server Version: 8.2.0 - 1617513382 @ Sun Apr 4 07:33:15 WEDT 2021
    Windows 10


    I have the same problem that the LMS control panel starts and dissappears without getting any control over it.

    Any solution yet?

    Is it possible to enter and change information manually in any configuration file?

  8. #8
    Senior Member w3wilkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,505
    Quote Originally Posted by Rober View Post
    Is it possible to enter and change information manually in any configuration file?
    What is it that you want to change? I've not found anything that couldn't be done from the LMS settings themselves.

    I'm on Win10 and the Control panel opens fine for me - Version: 8.1.2 - 1617513319 @ Sun Apr 4 08:26:40 WEDT 2021
    Last edited by w3wilkes; 2021-04-06 at 09:02.
    Main system - Rock Solid with LMS 8.1.2 on WHS 2011 - 2 Duets and Squeeseslave
    Cabin system - Rock solid with LMS 8.1.2 on Win10 Pro - 1 RPi 3 Model B/Hifiberry DAC+ Pro/PiCorePlayer and Squeezeslave
    Squeezebox Boom - "At Large" player around both home and cabin
    Headphones and car - Android phone/Bluetooth w/full library on MicroSD card - PowerAmp music player app (similar to Material Skin)

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    21
    Hi,
    maybe the program is just minimiized. After selecting the icon type <ALT>+<SPACE> then there should be a menu to maximize the program. Another possibility would be that the program is located outside the vivible desktop. With the above combination then you cold move the program windown with the arrow keys.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    126

    Me too

    Quote Originally Posted by chirhonix View Post
    Hi,
    maybe the program is just minimiized. After selecting the icon type <ALT>+<SPACE> then there should be a menu to maximize the program. Another possibility would be that the program is located outside the vivible desktop. With the above combination then you cold move the program windown with the arrow keys.
    No, I have the same issue and the Control Panel is definitely not running - you can see the program start and then die in the Task Manager. Double click on squeezeboxcp.exe - the splash appears and then shortly after vanishes and the program disappears from task manager. Can't see any logging anywhere, not even Windows Event Viewer.

    Not sure when the problem started but fairly recently.

    Version: Logitech Media Server Version: 8.1.2 - 1617991245 @ Fri Apr 9 20:47:54 WEDT 2021
    Windows 10 20H2 fully up to date.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •