Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 59
  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,312
    @mibigo

    Have you tried either

    Music
    or
    Media

    as the Share name

    and do you fill in the username and password ?

    Edit:

    I see others have replied whilst I was typing, sorry

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    What is the configuration of your router. Is it open (no password) or is there a username and password configured. The manual is a bit vague as to authentication options.
    Thank You Paul; there is no password; it is shared also to guest users... however I will try your suggestions. But could you tell me hat should I exactly put in share name? the name of the medial folder, or its hierarchical superior, or what ? the name of the disk (in which case it 's hard to understand what should this name be...) is the name that I see on the Mac smb://10.0.0.1/sda2 ? or is it the name that I see in Volumio /mnt/NAS/MYNAME/Media ? Or the name of the of the disk that I see when I mount it on the Mac which is MYNAME/Music/Media; or any other of the parts of the path? Is this that I can't figure out..

    on the router it is like that:

    Name:  Schermata 2021-01-03 alle 18.40.31.png
Views: 64
Size:  119.4 KB

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    @mibigo

    Have you tried either

    Music
    or
    Media

    as the Share name

    and do you fill in the username and password ?
    Yes I tried both, I tried also using the password 1/1 as suggested by Paul, and setting a password to the share in the router, but neither work..

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,166
    Other Paul here ...
    I would expect "sda2"
    Is there a chance that you have reached the maximum number of mounts? ... shows 5 as the max on that screenshot.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Other Paul here ...
    I would expect "sda2"
    Is there a chance that you have reached the maximum number of mounts? ... shows 5 as the max on that screenshot.
    No idea.. but It's just me trying to connect to this drive would I have already reached the threshold?.. I don't know what it means indeed..

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,166
    In essence it is the count of devices connected to your remote disk storage at the same time.
    Your MAC is 1
    Your Volumio would be number 2 (if it is still running)
    The PC in someone else's room would 3
    The neighbour borrowing your WiFi and music would be 4
    etc
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  7. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    In essence it is the count of devices connected to your remote disk storage at the same time.
    Your MAC is 1
    Your Volumio would be number 2 (if it is still running)
    The PC in someone else's room would 3
    The neighbour borrowing your WiFi and music would be 4
    etc
    I see; however it's only me and Volumio (which is not active now as I'm trying PcP.) so it's only me, the neighbour I don't know but is should guess my hard to find password.. ;-)) anyhow I set it to 9 just to try and nothing changes..

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,166
    Did you try with the "cifs-utils" that paul- referred to?
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  9. #29
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4,060
    If you open a shell on your volumio system, you should be able to type "mount" and it should show the exact path that is mounted. But I thought your screen shot showing

    10.0.0.1 and sda2 was the correct paths.

    The Asus documentation is clear as mud.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Did you try with the "cifs-utils" that paul- referred to?
    No i did not, iím afraid i donít know how to install it.. nor I know how to open a shell on volumio and mount the drive.. iím really a newbie here... thatís my first experience with pCP.. after all volumio is simpler to install, but i like the idea of a light Music streamer as pCP.. i will try again tomorrow; is night time here.
    Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •