Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Bury - UK
    Posts
    49

    Touch 'requesting' LMS update

    Evening all

    My touch has been playing up the last couple of days, and unable to connect to the server.

    Having a fiddle with it tonight, It reported that a firmware update was available - so I let it do this and it rebooted as you would expect a couple of minutes later when the download had completed.


    However nothing has changed - it still can't see my LMS server (simply named DELL). Nor can my server see the player.

    I've been using it daily up till this without (many) issues.

    It now (if I try to play any of my music, or connect to Spotty) gives me this message.

    Name:  Touch.jpg
Views: 296
Size:  59.3 KB

    Any help, as always, most welcome.

    Thanks
    Tony
    13 x Classic / 4 x Boom / 2 x Touch / 2 x Radio / 3 Duet / 3 Controller / W10 LMS 8.0.0

  2. #2
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,645
    The new firmware wants a newer version of LMS to be running on your server. Log into server, download, and install:
    http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/index.php

    I've been using v8.0 for a while now without issue.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Bury - UK
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by Apesbrain View Post
    The new firmware wants a newer version of LMS to be running on your server. Log into server, download, and install:
    http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nightly/index.php

    I've been using v8.0 for a while now without issue.
    I'm already on LMS8

    I assumed that's where the Touch gets its update from - there is an issue with the Radios in this area, I wonder if it's a similar problem...
    13 x Classic / 4 x Boom / 2 x Touch / 2 x Radio / 3 Duet / 3 Controller / W10 LMS 8.0.0

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    6,249
    Quote Originally Posted by merlineng View Post
    I'm already on LMS8

    I assumed that's where the Touch gets its update from - there is an issue with the Radios in this area, I wonder if it's a similar problem...
    There shouldn't be an issue with a Touch as long as it has the latest firmware which would be 7.8 something.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,526

    Touch 'requesting' LMS update

    > Having a fiddle with it tonight, It reported that a firmware update was
    > available - so I let it do this and it rebooted as you would expect a
    > couple of minutes later when the download had completed.


    What firmware version are you on (Settings/Advanced/About)?

    --

    Michael

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Bury - UK
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Having a fiddle with it tonight, It reported that a firmware update was
    > available - so I let it do this and it rebooted as you would expect a
    > couple of minutes later when the download had completed.


    What firmware version are you on (Settings/Advanced/About)?

    --

    Michael
    Evening Michael

    Software Version : 7.7.3 r16676

    Which I can only assume is what it updated to when it reported the software was out of date.

    It now reports that it is 'up-to-date'.

    Hasn't magically fixed itself while I've been at work.. (you never know - sometimes does happen!)



    Tony.
    13 x Classic / 4 x Boom / 2 x Touch / 2 x Radio / 3 Duet / 3 Controller / W10 LMS 8.0.0

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Bury - UK
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    There shouldn't be an issue with a Touch as long as it has the latest firmware which would be 7.8 something.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    Thanks.

    It's not reporting 7.8 anything... I'll see what Michael has to say (above or below) depending on when you read this.

    Tony
    13 x Classic / 4 x Boom / 2 x Touch / 2 x Radio / 3 Duet / 3 Controller / W10 LMS 8.0.0

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    6,249
    Quote Originally Posted by merlineng View Post
    Evening Michael

    Software Version : 7.7.3 r16676

    Which I can only assume is what it updated to when it reported the software was out of date.

    It now reports that it is 'up-to-date'.

    Hasn't magically fixed itself while I've been at work.. (you never know - sometimes does happen!)



    Tony.
    That isn't the latest firmware. Maybe the update failed. Which LMS version?

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,122
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    That isn't the latest firmware. Maybe the update failed. Which LMS version?

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    Is 7.7.3 what the Touch offers if connected to mysqueezebox.com?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    6,249
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    Is 7.7.3 what the Touch offers if connected to mysqueezebox.com?
    Maybe that is the issue. The Touch is not connected to LMS.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •