Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

LMS and Apple M1 Mac

I am a long-time LMS user on Windows. Recently, I switched to Mac, and I have a new M1 Mac Mini. This is my first time running LMS on a Mac, and on Big Sur, and with the new M1 SoC. I am running LMS version 8.0.1, and have been having major problems. I have already granted full disk access to perl and bash. I did get it mostly working at one point, but now it is unusable. In the preference pane, most of the dropdowns and buttons are greyed-out, including being unable to add a media folder (currently blank), and I cannot start the server. Also cannot click "Advanced Settings" on the Advanced tab. When it was briefly working, I was also getting the error "Problem: can't open file for" on my Boom for some songs but not others (all of which work fine in Apple Music and are the same file types).

LMS and Apple M1 Mac

> I am a long-time LMS user on Windows. Recently, I switched to Mac, and I
    > have a new M1 Mac Mini. This is my first time running LMS on a Mac, and

Thanks for getting here (though for the wrong reasons, of course :-)). I
    was wondering about this combination...

> on Big Sur, and with the new M1 SoC. I am running LMS version 8.0.1, and
    > have been having major problems. I have already granted full disk access

Have you ever been able to run LMS at all?

What would "perl5.18 -v" run in a terminal session give you?

> to perl and bash. I did get it mostly working at one point, but now it
    > is unusable. In the preference pane, most of the dropdowns and buttons
    > are greyed-out, including being unable to add a media folder (currently
    > blank), and I cannot start the server. Also cannot click "Advanced

Yes, those symptoms would show if LMS wasn't running.

> Settings" on the Advanced tab. When it was briefly working, I was also
    > getting the error "Problem: can't open file for" on my Boom for some