Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 48 of 48
  1. #41
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,272

    Upgraded from 7.9.1 => 7.9.4: Logitech Media Server died. Restarting.

    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    Triode had used one instance of "//" in BBCiPlayer plugin - it took me ages to find it as it caused weird problems for a NAS user.
    I have to confess that I’ve used it more than once in my plugins... (including YT) I assumed that the oldest reasonable Perl was the 5.14 used on Windows and anything else means HW that is too old
    LMS 7.9 on Pi 3B+ & Odroid-C2 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, Riva 1 & 3

  2. #42
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,479

    Upgraded from 7.9.1 => 7.9.4:Logitech Media Server died. Restarting.

    > Perl 5.8.0 was released in 2002, 5.10 was 2007 -

    When I started to use LMS (SliMP3.pl at the time :-)) it was on Perl
    5.8. And I had issues, crashes, which lead me to compile 5.10 for the
    sole purpose of running LMS...

    --

    Michael

  3. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    19,590
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Perl 5.8.0 was released in 2002, 5.10 was 2007 -

    When I started to use LMS (SliMP3.pl at the time :-)) it was on Perl
    5.8. And I had issues, crashes, which lead me to compile 5.10 for the
    sole purpose of running LMS...
    IIRC - Perl got "stuck" on 5.8 for a long time as there were argument about Perl 6. Then after a few years, there was a rash of increments - all on Perl 5.

  4. #44
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    633
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    Not a C comment but a the Perl defined OR operator "//" . The "//" operator is only supported in Perl 5.10 onwards and not in Perl 5.8
    Would a statement in the source like "use v5.8.8;" protect against this sort of inadvertent version dependent mishap ?

  5. #45
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    3,123
    Another way to check ... an automated source code checker.
    I think it has not been updated for all things changed in Perl since 5.12 ... but it might help identify the size of the problem and therefore whether or not it is now too big to tackle.
    perlver - http://p3rl.org/perlver
    Perl::MinimumVersion::Fast - http://p3rl.org/Perl%3a%3aMinimumVersion
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  6. #46
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by mps View Post
    Yeah, I’ve reluctantly reached the conclusion that it’s time for me to retire my LMS on ReadyNAS (see my earlier post today in this thread). While the // is fixable, the SSL problem seems more fundamental. I hate seeing you have to spend time supporting such archaic systems...

    Still, I’m not the only ReadyNAS user and would love to know what Ligerien thinks.
    Hi mps,

    Same here, it strikes me that the RAIDiator OS is really really old and does not warrant any time for support from the (great) LMS/etc. dev team.
    I am still hoping that upgrading the NAS to ReadyNAS OS 6 will enable to have SSL support.
    I see in the literature that Https can be enabled... Some hope.

    Anyway, I will give it a try and see what it gives. I also want to run a DomoticZ server on the NAS, and the upgrade to OS6 is mandatory for that.
    I am just not familiar enough with those little animals Raspberries and all PiCo to know what to buy and install...

    Patrick

  7. #47
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,479

    Upgraded from 7.9.1 => 7.9.4:Logitech Media Server died. Restarting.

    > I am just not familiar enough with those little animals Raspberries and
    > all PiCo to know what to buy


    Pi4/2GB

    > and install...


    https://picoreplayer.org

    :-)

    If you can update the NAS to some new OS, then you can handle pCP easily!

    --

    Michael

  8. #48
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    11

    NAS ReadyNAS Ultra upgraded to OS6 --> still issue

    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >

    [...]

    If you can update the NAS to some new OS, then you can handle pCP easily!

    --

    Michael
    So... I upgraded the NAS to OS6, it went smoothly, for those who are afraid, don't be, just Back-up before, and know that if you have redundant disks, it takes 5 days to resynchronize them, so the NAS is slow for 5 days!

    Unfortunately, LMS 8.0 does not work (same issue as before), and I installed the proposed by the NAS OS, version 7.9 something (looked strange):

    Edit: it is NAStools Release v7.9.0~1477086729-nt1 on GitHub

    Here is the Info from LMS settings page:

    Etat du Logitech Media Server
    Logitech Media Server Version : 7.9.0 - TRUNK @ UNKNOWN
    Nom d'hôte : Nas-LMS
    Adresse IP du serveur : 127.0.0.1
    Port HTTP du serveur : 9000
    Système d'exploitation : Debian - FR - utf8
    Architecture de la plate-forme : x86_64-linux
    Version de Perl : 5.20.2 - x86_64-linux-gnu-thread-multi
    Audio::Scan : 0.95
    Version de la base de données : DBD::SQLite 1.34_01 (sqlite 3.7.7.1)
    Platines identifiées : 2

    So the OS6 is based on an old Debian (Jesse I found out) and maybe still not compatible.
    I did not go into much more detail as the LMS proposed works well, including Spotty.
    I had a more bitter desillusion when trying to install Domoticz, it will not work even if complied onsite, as the Jesse Debian is too old for the current versions of the application... (One day I will buy the RPi)

    Now that the NAS is stable, I may try the lastest 8.0.1 nightly to see if Michael's recent tweaks may work. I did no do it before as it was so slow....

    Good evening !
    Patrick
    Last edited by Ligérien; 2020-12-01 at 11:54. Reason: NAStools Release v7.9.0~1477086729-nt1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •