Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    423

    Stream without sound

    I have a seasonal web stream ( "Q Music Christmas", NL ) I listen to every year in december.
    Last year it worked, this year it doesn't.

    The strange thing:
    - stream starts
    - progress is shown ("time")
    - track information are shown correctly (and change with every new track)
    ... but NO sound can be heard.

    If I start the stream using my web browser or VLC it runs finde.

    Any idea what I get wrong?
    btw, URL is
    https://icecast-qmusicnl-cdp.triple-...lassics_96.mp3

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,333
    Quote Originally Posted by frank1969 View Post
    I have a seasonal web stream ( "Q Music Christmas", NL ) I listen to every year in december.
    Last year it worked, this year it doesn't.

    The strange thing:
    - stream starts
    - progress is shown ("time")
    - track information are shown correctly (and change with every new track)
    ... but NO sound can be heard.

    If I start the stream using my web browser or VLC it runs finde.

    Any idea what I get wrong?
    btw, URL is
    https://icecast-qmusicnl-cdp.triple-...lassics_96.mp3

    Thanks!
    It is a https URL. SB hardware player do not support https so you need a local LMS which is up to date (ie. 7.9.4 or 8.0.*) and up to date OS SSL support.

    However, it seems the http version still seems to play - try http://icecast-qmusicnl-cdp.triple-i...lassics_96.mp3

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    423
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    It is a https URL.
    Thanks, I forgot to mention, I also tried the

    http://icecast-qmusicnl-cdp.triple-i...lassics_96.mp3

    with the same result, hearing no sound

    (btw. using the lastest nightly, actually LMS 8.0.1r1606756069 (on Windows 10 2004) and a SB Touch with latest firmware (I guess) 7.8.0 r16754.)

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,333
    Quote Originally Posted by frank1969 View Post
    Thanks, I forgot to mention, I also tried the

    http://icecast-qmusicnl-cdp.triple-i...lassics_96.mp3

    with the same result, hearing no sound

    (btw. using the lastest nightly, actually LMS 8.0.1r1606756069 (on Windows 10 2004) and a SB Touch with latest firmware (I guess) 7.8.0 r16754.)
    The http stream plays OK for me on LMS 8.0.0 30Nov, on a clean Touch (no EDO etc.) on Windows 10 20H2

    Any messages in server.log ?
    Do other MP3 96kHz stream plays OK ?
    Anything "interesting" about your setup ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    423

    Caused by 96 KHz stream through digital output

    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    The http stream plays OK for me on LMS 8.0.0 30Nov, on a clean Touch (no EDO etc.) on Windows 10 20H2
    Many thanks for trying, so it's obviously not caused by the stream or the software.

    I know found the problem - but not the solution:

    It's obviously caused by a 96kHZ-Stream through the digital output.

    If I play using the analog output or the headphone jack, it plays fine.
    If I play a 128 KHz stream using the digital output, it plays fine.
    If I play a 96 KHz stream using the digital output - no sound!

    Is there any chance to change this behaviour?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,333
    Quote Originally Posted by frank1969 View Post
    Many thanks for trying, so it's obviously not caused by the stream or the software.

    I know found the problem - but not the solution:

    It's obviously caused by a 96kHZ-Stream through the digital output.

    If I play using the analog output or the headphone jack, it plays fine.
    If I play a 128 KHz stream using the digital output, it plays fine.
    If I play a 96 KHz stream using the digital output - no sound!

    Is there any chance to change this behaviour?

    Thanks
    I made a typo - the stream are 96kbps and not 96 kHz.

    The MP3 stream is 32kHz 96kbps - 32kHz is a bit unusual (esp at 96kbps) but valid MP3 stream rate.
    It "feels" like your DAC does not support 32kHz.
    What is make/model ofthe DAC on the digital connection so specs can be checked.
    Is connected via optical or coax (some DACs interfaces have different specs ) ?

    What is the URL for the 128kbps.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    423
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    I made a typo
    sry, I was confused, too

    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    It "feels" like your DAC does not support 32kHz.
    What is make/model ofthe DAC on the digital connection so specs can be checked.
    Is connected via optical or coax (some DACs interfaces have different specs ) ?
    It's via optical directly connected to my soundbar Sony HT-RT3 - it has an optical digital input, too. I checked the manual of the soundbar and there seem to be no limitations/specs...?
    If I connect it via analog to the same soundbar, it works...

    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    What is the URL for the 128kbps.
    e.g.
    http://playerservices.streamtheworld...ect/QMUSIC.mp3

    and MANY thanks again!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    423
    OK,

    found how to check the stream information in my soundbar -
    with "usual" streams or mp3 from my LMS it says "LPCM",
    with THIS 96 kbp/s stream it says "NO IN".

    So it should be either SB Touch doesn't play it out on its optical digital - or my soundbar doesn't receive it..

    If there is no way to change it in SB Touch, I guess I have no chance...

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,333
    The 96kbps stream is MP3 32kHz. The 128kbps stream is MP3 44.1kHz.

    No detailed specs online.

    This is a sound bar, not an AV receiver so its capabilities are limited (e.g. Dolby digital only, no dts, raw PCM not supported on ARC ) and I think the optical input is intended to come from either TV or some other TV source - so the expected frequencies used on TV , DVD etc are usually 44.1khz, 48Khz and maybe 96kHz. I think 32kHz is really only used on Digital Radio (MP2) and MP3 and not with digital video sources.

    It is possible to set up LMS to resample all MP3 stream going to the specific Touch to say 44.1kHz - but it'll need adding a file to your LMS setup and it will load your LMS system which may be an issue if it is low powered.

    Out of curiosity - why did you start this thread in the Developers Beta forum ? It is way off the beaten track.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    6,613
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    I made a typo - the stream are 96kbps and not 96 kHz.

    The MP3 stream is 32kHz 96kbps - 32kHz is a bit unusual (esp at 96kbps) but valid MP3 stream rate.
    It "feels" like your DAC does not support 32kHz.
    What is make/model ofthe DAC on the digital connection so specs can be checked.
    Is connected via optical or coax (some DACs interfaces have different specs ) ?

    What is the URL for the 128kbps.
    I think a lot of modern DACs won't support 32kHz. My Topping E30 doesn't according to the spec.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •