Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    15

    LMS won't autostart on Windows 10

    Was running LMS 7.7 and for some reason LMS failed to autostart some time ago, maybe the last 6 months. I've tried everything with Google searches. LMS is in the Talks Mgr, Start tab, set to Enable. In LMW ControlPanel, Startup Options - set to Auto run at Login. I've checked for a bogus copy of the Startup folder, not present. It runs fine when started manually.

    Upgraded to 7.9.3 LMS, and no difference. Still will not auto start. Other programs in the start folder do start up automatically.

    One clue may be that in the Startup tab of Task Mgr, under the Startup Impact column - it says "Not measured".

    And have checked the server.log file and there is no entry, until I manually start LMS.

    Any hints on why this is happening? Likely a Windows issue, but maybe someone else has discovered a fix.

    Thanks much!

    Doug
    NN7D

  2. #2
    Senior Member w3wilkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,551
    I'm on Win10 20H2 with LMS 7.9.4. In the Startup list (Settings -> Apps -> Startup) I only have the LMS Tray Icon and then in the LMS Control Panel I have Automatically run at Login. LMS is not in the startup folder (C:\Users\ME\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Sta rt Menu\Programs\Startup). With this configuration it works just fine.
    Main system - Rock Solid with LMS 8.2.0 on WHS 2011 - 2 Duets and Squeeseslave
    Cabin system - Rock solid with LMS 8.2.0 on Win10 Pro - 1 RPi 3 Model B/Hifiberry DAC+ Pro/PiCorePlayer and Squeezeslave
    Squeezebox Boom - "At Large" player around both home and cabin
    Headphones and car - Android phone/Bluetooth w/full library on MicroSD card - PowerAmp music player app (similar to Material Skin)

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    340
    I am on Windows 10 and in the LMS Control Panel I use the option to 'Automatically run at system start' rather than login.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    14
    I believe that is only to start/run the control panel itself at system startup, not the actual LMS server. To auto start the server, it needs to be set up within the server settings.

    Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    340
    Quote Originally Posted by NovaNed View Post
    I believe that is only to start/run the control panel itself at system startup, not the actual LMS server. To auto start the server, it needs to be set up within the server settings.

    Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk
    That's not my understanding - its the setting I have always used and I have not had to change any Windows settings?

  6. #6
    Senior Member w3wilkes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,551
    Quote Originally Posted by Shozzer View Post
    That's not my understanding - its the setting I have always used and I have not had to change any Windows settings?
    I believe this starts LMS as a service. I have this on my main server that runs WHS 2011 and it works fine. The ...at Login starts LMS as a background task under the SqueezeTray task.
    Last edited by w3wilkes; 2020-11-10 at 09:37.
    Main system - Rock Solid with LMS 8.2.0 on WHS 2011 - 2 Duets and Squeeseslave
    Cabin system - Rock solid with LMS 8.2.0 on Win10 Pro - 1 RPi 3 Model B/Hifiberry DAC+ Pro/PiCorePlayer and Squeezeslave
    Squeezebox Boom - "At Large" player around both home and cabin
    Headphones and car - Android phone/Bluetooth w/full library on MicroSD card - PowerAmp music player app (similar to Material Skin)

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    15
    Thanks all for your comments. Still puzzled. As some have suggested, I have set and reset in the LMS Control Panel - Automatically run at login, and Automatically at system start - and entered login name and password. Neither work. But the Task Mgr, Startup tab shows Logitech Media Server Tray Icon is enabled, but it never runs, and the LMS icon is not in the sys tray. Unless I start it manually.

    I have tried including the SqueezeTray.exe in the Start folder, with no luck.

    Did I mention I hate Microsoft?

    Thanks,

    Doug

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by svtdoug View Post
    Thanks all for your comments. Still puzzled. As some have suggested, I have set and reset in the LMS Control Panel - Automatically run at login, and Automatically at system start - and entered login name and password. Neither work. But the Task Mgr, Startup tab shows Logitech Media Server Tray Icon is enabled, but it never runs, and the LMS icon is not in the sys tray. Unless I start it manually.

    I have tried including the SqueezeTray.exe in the Start folder, with no luck.

    Did I mention I hate Microsoft?

    Thanks,

    Doug
    Not sure if this will have any bearing on your issue but does the user credentials you are using for auto login/autorun have administrator rights?

    Sent from my CLT-L04 using Tapatalk

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •