Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 61

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member mvordeme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    402

    Receiver keeps disconnecting

    My Receiver is giving me headaches. It keeps disconnecting from the server (mysqueezebox or LMS) and won't be reconnected. I have to power-cycle it about once per day, and sometimes several times in a row. The Controller and iPeng have varying rates of success at connecting to the disconnected player. Usually, the LED will be yellow, but sometimes, it is still bright purple when the disconnect occurred while streaming.

    Does anybody have any ideas? Could it be a failing power supply, or is a factory reset likely to help?
    SCALEO Home Server 2105 & piCorePlayer 6.1.0 | Logitech Media Server 8.2.0 | Server Power Control 20120716.103808 | Transporter & Duet & Touch & Boom & Radio | Rotel RC-995 & RMB-100 | Nubert NuVero 140

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Western & Northern New York
    Posts
    414
    after years of fighting problems with my receivers hanging up, and battling the get them back on line, I have determined that it was because of wifi signal stength. I now have 3 receivers on ethernet and they are rock solid. I have one on wireless that I have improved the signal strength via a better router and recceiver location, and it's mostly ok.

    I also tried to give a duet to a non technical friend, located where his wifi was marginal, and took it back and gave up. He bought a used touch, and we moved his router, and it works fine now.

    It could be something else for you, but that is what was the cause of my struggles. I have touches, booms and radios that I have not had nearly the struggle I do with receivers. It is mentioned in this forum that the antenna location compromises performance.

    One thing I always had to do to get the receiver back online is to reset the receiver AND the controller together: Press and hold rexeiver until fast red flash, power down controller, press and hold '+' while powering controller back up. go through the process of attaching to network, lms, then "choose player" and look for your receiver {edit}. It really doesnt take that long, but is annoying when you have to do it often

    hope that helps

    Jim
    Last edited by Redrum; 2020-10-27 at 10:37.

  3. #3
    Senior Member mvordeme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    402
    Thanks for the response. The Receiver is actually located two meters away from a WiFi repeater, so the signal strength should not be a problem. I tried resetting the Receiver but to no avail. I hate resetting the Controller because I will have to re-enter the 63 character random WiFi password, and the Controller is quite stable since I gave up on activating the playback feature.

    Last night, I had consistent problems when trying to stream a 24-bit FLAC album from my LMS, but no trouble at all when streaming the same album from Tidal, which should have made it 16-bit FLAC after conversion on the LMS, so I was tempted to think that it has to do with too high data rates, but then again, this afternoon, the Receiver hung up after I put it on pause on a radio channel.

    Had I invested a few coins more, I could try an Ethernet connection to the repeater, but alas ...
    SCALEO Home Server 2105 & piCorePlayer 6.1.0 | Logitech Media Server 8.2.0 | Server Power Control 20120716.103808 | Transporter & Duet & Touch & Boom & Radio | Rotel RC-995 & RMB-100 | Nubert NuVero 140

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Western & Northern New York
    Posts
    414
    Quote Originally Posted by mvordeme View Post
    Thanks for the response. The Receiver is actually located two meters away from a WiFi repeater, so the signal strength should not be a problem. I tried resetting the Receiver but to no avail. I hate resetting the Controller because I will have to re-enter the 63 character random WiFi password, and the Controller is quite stable since I gave up on activating the playback feature.

    Last night, I had consistent problems when trying to stream a 24-bit FLAC album from my LMS, but no trouble at all when streaming the same album from Tidal, which should have made it 16-bit FLAC after conversion on the LMS, so I was tempted to think that it has to do with too high data rates, but then again, this afternoon, the Receiver hung up after I put it on pause on a radio channel.

    Had I invested a few coins more, I could try an Ethernet connection to the repeater, but alas ...
    you could check to make sure it's connected to the repeater and not the distant router. I have not used a repeater but am assuming they have a different ID? Maybe not....

    Im not a network guy, but others here have mentioned finding a clear channel for your router/extender with an app like wifi analizer, and then going into your router to set it to that channel rather than auto. I live in a fairly rural area so it's not as big an issue as some places.

    You can check wireless signal strength in (from memory) settings->advanced->squeezebox information, or networking, or something like that. I found alot of instability below, say 40% wireless signal strength.

    You could also just try an ethernet cable....it would tell you if it's wifi or not.

    Not saying your problems are the same as mine, but I bought my first duet in, I think 2007? and bought quite a few receivers for additional rooms along the way, and seemed to be resetting them from time to time. Then the touch and picore player came along, so my receivers are in seldom used zones - garage, basement, patio, and they were always goofy until I ran ethernet cables.

    good luck;

    Jim

  5. #5
    Senior Member Fahzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Outside Providence
    Posts
    411
    Agree with above. Wire that bad boy if you can.
    Living Room: Pi3 w/Allo Digione Player (Wired), Max2Play w/LMS Server 8.0 and SqueezeLite
    Pioneer Elite VSX 80, Parasound 2125 v2
    KEF LS50's, Paradigm SE Center, SVS SB12-NSD Subwoofer, Paradigm Atom v.5 Surrounds
    Harmony Smart Control w/Hub and iPeng
    Dining Room: KEF Q100's
    Bedroom: Logitech Boom
    Porch: Boston Acoustics Voyager Metro II
    Router: Netgear R700P
    File Storage: Samsung T5 SSD
    Music Service: Qobuz

  6. #6
    Senior Member mvordeme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    402
    It's actually Corona which has put me in the same room with the Receiver all day. I could easily have bought a repeater with an ethernet connector, but it seemed like a waste of money at the time. The router's user interface has a "mesh" page which shows that the Receiver is connected to the repeater, and it shows a varying connection speed between 20 and 54 Mbit/s (which should be enough for a 24-bit FLAC). The Squeezebox Information pick from the settings menu currently gives me a wireless strength of 68 %.

    I'll think about wiring, or I'll move a different player to my "office". I really like the concept of the Duet, but technically, it is a pain.
    SCALEO Home Server 2105 & piCorePlayer 6.1.0 | Logitech Media Server 8.2.0 | Server Power Control 20120716.103808 | Transporter & Duet & Touch & Boom & Radio | Rotel RC-995 & RMB-100 | Nubert NuVero 140

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    748
    I had something similar with transporter connected via ethernet cable. After some research I noticed strange ip adres for the transporter (outside dhcp scope) so I rebooted router and powered (again) the transporter off and on. Surprisingly this solved the issue.
    SqueezeBoxes: 1x Transporter (Living room) 1x SB2 (shed), 1x Radio (Kitchen), 1x Boom (Dining room), 1x piCorePlayer (jacuzzi), 1x piCorePlayer (Garden) 1x OSMC + Squeezelite (Movie room), 1x Touch (Study 2), few spare unit's
    Server: LMS on Pi3 7.9.1. on PcP 3.21
    Network: AVM Fritzbox, Netgear Smart Switch 24p, 3x Ubiquity

  8. #8
    Senior Member mvordeme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    402
    Ok, I hope it worked. Connecting the Receiver via Ethernet did not work, but running the tool as administrator did. I believe powering down the Controller is a good idea, too. The player was detected on WiFi, and I configured LanNetworkAddress, LanSubnetMask, LanGateway and PrimaryDNS. I should have picked a different IP for testing ...
    Last edited by mvordeme; 2020-11-29 at 09:06.
    SCALEO Home Server 2105 & piCorePlayer 6.1.0 | Logitech Media Server 8.2.0 | Server Power Control 20120716.103808 | Transporter & Duet & Touch & Boom & Radio | Rotel RC-995 & RMB-100 | Nubert NuVero 140

  9. #9
    Senior Member dolodobendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Posts
    1,353
    Quote Originally Posted by mvordeme View Post
    Ok, I hope it worked. Connecting the Receiver via Ethernet did not work, but running the tool as administrator did.
    I'm not sure I understand. It worked using a cable but only after running the tool in admin mode?

    Quote Originally Posted by mvordeme View Post
    I believe powering down the Controller is a good idea, too
    It probably doesn't matter, because they are not connected directly. Except if they both have the same IP but that would be a problem with any device. But even then they would not be connected directly.
    QLMS 8.2@2.21 x64 (digimaster) with perl 5.30.1 / QNAP 469L QTS 4.3.4

  10. #10
    Senior Member mvordeme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    402
    Quote Originally Posted by dolodobendan View Post
    I'm not sure I understand. It worked using a cable but only after running the tool in admin mode?
    No, it didn't work at all using the cable. I probably would have had to factory-reset it in order for the Receiver to use Ethernet, and who knows whether the PC's auto-sensing Ethernet port would have picked up the connection correctly. But it worked fine over WiFi.

    Quote Originally Posted by dolodobendan View Post
    It probably doesn't matter, because they are not connected directly. Except if they both have the same IP but that would be a problem with any device. But even then they would not be connected directly.
    I have the impression that as soon as the Controller sees the Receiver in configuration mode, it will configure it and reconnect it to the network. Maybe it is more subtle than that.

    It looks like the static IP improved things. Today, the LED went blue in the middle of a song, but only for a few seconds. Then the Receiver reconnected. The currently playing stream was gone, but skipping to the next track worked fine. Then I noticed something strange. The stream was re-buffering now and then with no apparent reason. When I checked the player info, it showed between 10 % and 30 % signal strength although the WiFi repeater is only a meter away. After power-cycling, the signal strength was back to 90 % and the re-buffering was gone.
    SCALEO Home Server 2105 & piCorePlayer 6.1.0 | Logitech Media Server 8.2.0 | Server Power Control 20120716.103808 | Transporter & Duet & Touch & Boom & Radio | Rotel RC-995 & RMB-100 | Nubert NuVero 140

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •