Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    2

    LMS on Synology via docker?

    I've been a fan of LMS for some time, running the package locally on Synology (community package, beta version as that was the only one that seemed to work). I'd like to be running this in docker instead, but can't seem to get that working. I've tried dozens of docker images and feel like I must be missing something obvious - has anyone gotten a new version of LMS working in this way?

    using: registry hub docker com / r / gfjardim/logitechmediaserver
    runs the following in logs forever without the frontend becoming available
    Slim::Utils::PluginManager::_parseInstallManifest (658) Warning: Unable to parse XML in file [/usr/share/perl5/Slim/Plugin/Rescan/install.xml]: [Can't use string ("1") as an ARRAY ref while "strict refs" in use at /usr/share/squeezeboxserver/CPAN/XML/Simple.pm line 231.

    using: registry hub docker com / r / apnar/logitech-media-server
    I get the following thrown into the logs, and then the container stops
    YAML::XS::LoadFile (48) Warning: Usage: YAML::XS::LibYAML::Load(yaml_sv) at /usr/share/squeezeboxserver/CPAN/YAML/XS.pm line 48.

    I've tried dozens of containers with various configs. Any advice or suggestions would be most appreciated!



    Edit: I do run other apps within docker without difficulty on this device.
    Last edited by aBlueSunset; 2020-10-01 at 10:09.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    2
    There must be something missing from the synology docker UI, as I was able to get this working on the first try using the command line.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    14
    I just bought a Synology on Prime Day. (The original shipment was lost, so I had to get a replacement and only started setting it up this weekend.)

    I started using the apnar LMS container, and it was ok; it popped up a message that there was now a LMS community Docker that I like a little bit better. It keeps the config out of the container, which I'd bolted on to the first one I tried, but the community container is a bit easier to use. In both cases, I was able to get it running without any problems. I'm on DSM 6.2.3-25426 update 2, if that helps you.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by flacpilot View Post
    I just bought a Synology on Prime Day. (The original shipment was lost, so I had to get a replacement and only started setting it up this weekend.)

    I started using the apnar LMS container, and it was ok; it popped up a message that there was now a LMS community Docker that I like a little bit better. It keeps the config out of the container, which I'd bolted on to the first one I tried, but the community container is a bit easier to use. In both cases, I was able to get it running without any problems. I'm on DSM 6.2.3-25426 update 2, if that helps you.
    Would you be so kind as to provide a quick step by step install? I'm not familiar with docker but usually not bad with new software and even I'm struggling to get this working. I've installed docker, installed the lms community container, switched the ports to 9002 in the settings, but can't work out the terminal procedure. One of the posts on the container page mentions a series of commands to effect the port change but it's not clear what to do or even if I should be switching to 9002. I've created a shared folder on the NAS, but when trying to add the folder in the volume settings I can't even figure out the mount path. Can you sense the frustration yet?! Any assistance would be much appreciated!

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by tommyleinen View Post
    Would you be so kind as to provide a quick step by step install? I'm not familiar with docker but usually not bad with new software and even I'm struggling to get this working. I've installed docker, installed the lms community container, switched the ports to 9002 in the settings, but can't work out the terminal procedure. One of the posts on the container page mentions a series of commands to effect the port change but it's not clear what to do or even if I should be switching to 9002. I've created a shared folder on the NAS, but when trying to add the folder in the volume settings I can't even figure out the mount path. Can you sense the frustration yet?! Any assistance would be much appreciated!

    Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
    If you still need any help about this (or perhaps to assist future folks looking for the same answer), a detailed step-by-step guide has been posted here.

    There is one error with this description, which is when creating the playlist in Step 7, it needs to be read-write, not read-only as pictured.

    Otherwise it worked a treat for me. Long live my LMS/Synology setup.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by megarat View Post
    If you still need any help about this (or perhaps to assist future folks looking for the same answer), a detailed step-by-step guide has been posted here.

    There is one error with this description, which is when creating the playlist in Step 7, it needs to be read-write, not read-only as pictured.

    Otherwise it worked a treat for me. Long live my LMS/Synology setup.

    Thank you very much. I followed the link and deleted what I'd previously done and followed these instructions and it worked. My only issue was seeing the library in the volume, however I hadn't realised, or perhaps forgot that you need to then log in to the ip address:9000 to get to the web GUI itself and point LMS to the correct file paths from there. After that, my only issue is the time on all our clocks is an hour behind (being GMT daylight savings time just now - I'm in the UK). I know the command to run, as I had the same problem with vortexbox previously:

    Code:
    timedatectl set-timezone Europe/London
    I'm currently trying to work out how to run this in the docker container terminal to overcome error:

    Code:
    OCI runtime exec failed: exec failed: container_linux.go:345: starting container process caused "exec: \"datetimectl\": executable file not found in $PATH": unknown
    I will post back once figured out in case anyone else finding this thread has the same issue (probably me at a future date!). Most importantly, the music is flowing, thanks again.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    UK, Nottinghamshire
    Posts
    448
    Quote Originally Posted by tommyleinen View Post
    Thank you very much. I followed the link and deleted what I'd previously done and followed these instructions and it worked. My only issue was seeing the library in the volume, however I hadn't realised, or perhaps forgot that you need to then log in to the ip address:9000 to get to the web GUI itself and point LMS to the correct file paths from there. After that, my only issue is the time on all our clocks is an hour behind (being GMT daylight savings time just now - I'm in the UK). I know the command to run, as I had the same problem with vortexbox previously:

    Code:
    timedatectl set-timezone Europe/London
    I'm currently trying to work out how to run this in the docker container terminal to overcome error:

    Code:
    OCI runtime exec failed: exec failed: container_linux.go:345: starting container process caused "exec: \"datetimectl\": executable file not found in $PATH": unknown
    I will post back once figured out in case anyone else finding this thread has the same issue (probably me at a future date!). Most importantly, the music is flowing, thanks again.
    Just put 'Europe/London' in new variable 'TZ' in environment tab.
    3x Squeezebox Touch, 4x Squeezebox Radio, Squeezelite (RPi 3B with HiFiBerry DAC+Pro on OSMC), Material Skin Apk, Squeeze Commander, Logitech Media Server Version: 8.2.0 with Material Skin (Docker in DS218+)

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaca View Post
    Just put 'Europe/London' in new variable 'TZ' in environment tab.
    Brilliant, thanks for pointing that out! It's amazing how this tech just keeps on trucking with the community behind it.

    I've lost Tunein, but can work around that, and the Tidal plugin doesn't show up for me despite being ticked in the Web interface. Other than that, our house is back on track! Thanks all.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    11
    Just input mysqueezebox.com details in the Web interface and now have my plugins back and working.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •