Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 47
  1. #31
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    and we'll also hide the 8MB version which is not needed for now.
    Ok so what happens if we've already moved to 8MB?

    I'm sure I saw a comment from SLE some here or on Gitter that things were getting a little close on 4MB, so when recovering from OTA certificate issues a while back I pre-empted what seemed an inevitable switch to 8MB and flashed the 8MB versions on both my SqueezeAMPs.

    Kev

  2. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    3,109
    and I think I saw from one of mherger's posts that he is on 8MB.
    I guess they would be hidden in a different branch so that those with the skills could simply repoint their SqueezeAMP.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  3. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,245
    Quote Originally Posted by KeBul View Post
    Ok so what happens if we've already moved to 8MB?

    I'm sure I saw a comment from SLE some here or on Gitter that things were getting a little close on 4MB, so when recovering from OTA certificate issues a while back I pre-empted what seemed an inevitable switch to 8MB and flashed the 8MB versions on both my SqueezeAMPs.

    Kev
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    and I think I saw from one of mherger's posts that he is on 8MB.
    I guess they would be hidden in a different branch so that those with the skills could simply repoint their SqueezeAMP.
    Don't worry - you can interchange 4MB and 8MB version on 8MB esp32 and so far, I've only built 8MB SqueezeAMP but we so far stick with 4MB-fitting binary to maximize compatibility. We'll try to keep it like that as long as possible, we regularly chop of some unused piece of code (that the linker can't do automatically).
    LMS 7.9 on Pi 3B+ & Odroid-C2 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, Riva 1 & 3

  4. #34
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    oh, which version are you running?
    It says "fw: development.148-SqueezeAmp4MBFl, mode: squeezelite" at the bottom of the screen. As I say, I don't know what the various update options are!

    Robert
    Home: Raspberry Pi 3/pCP6.1.0/LMS8.0.0/Material with files on QNAP TS-251A
    Touch > DacMagic 100 > Naim Audio Nait 3 > Mission 752 (plus Rega Planar 3 > Rega Fono Mini; Naim CD3)
    2 x Squeezebox Radios, 1 X Squeezebox 3 (retired), spare Pi2/piCorePlayer
    Office: LMS8.0.0 running on Raspberry Pi3; Raspberry Pi 3 player with touchscreen/piCorePlayer/IQaudIO DAC and Amp
    Portable: Raspberry Pi Zero/pCP6.1.0/LMS8.0.0/Material, files on Seagate portable drive, powered via power brick

  5. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,245
    Quote Originally Posted by Grumpy Bob View Post
    It says "fw: development.148-SqueezeAmp4MBFl, mode: squeezelite" at the bottom of the screen. As I say, I don't know what the various update options are!

    Robert
    If you scroll down a bit below, in the following screen, you'll see the option to select a server

    Name:  Capture d'Úcran 2020-10-26 23.21.07.png
Views: 112
Size:  74.8 KB
    LMS 7.9 on Pi 3B+ & Odroid-C2 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, Riva 1 & 3

  6. #36
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    If you scroll down a bit below, in the following screen, you'll see the option to select a server
    In my case, the screen seems slightly different.

    Instead of Configuration>Audio + LMS I have Configuration >Audio. If I go there i see an option to set LMS server under Squeezelite settings. But it doesn't seem to work, unless I have the syntax wrong. I have assumed I enter IP Address in the form xxx.xxx.x.xx:9000.

    Under Configuration>System I see sections for WiFi, Services and Device Name there's no option to set LMS server there.

    Robert
    Last edited by Grumpy Bob; 2020-10-27 at 00:49.
    Home: Raspberry Pi 3/pCP6.1.0/LMS8.0.0/Material with files on QNAP TS-251A
    Touch > DacMagic 100 > Naim Audio Nait 3 > Mission 752 (plus Rega Planar 3 > Rega Fono Mini; Naim CD3)
    2 x Squeezebox Radios, 1 X Squeezebox 3 (retired), spare Pi2/piCorePlayer
    Office: LMS8.0.0 running on Raspberry Pi3; Raspberry Pi 3 player with touchscreen/piCorePlayer/IQaudIO DAC and Amp
    Portable: Raspberry Pi Zero/pCP6.1.0/LMS8.0.0/Material, files on Seagate portable drive, powered via power brick

  7. #37
    Senior Member sle118's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Quebec City, Canada
    Posts
    361
    Quote Originally Posted by Grumpy Bob View Post
    In my case, the screen seems slightly different.

    Instead of Configuration>Audio + LMS I have Configuration >Audio. If I go there i see an option to set LMS server under Squeezelite settings. But it doesn't seem to work, unless I have the syntax wrong. I have assumed I enter IP Address in the form xxx.xxx.x.xx:9000.

    Under Configuration>System I see sections for WiFi, Services and Device Name there's no option to set LMS server there.

    Robert
    I have just pushed a new development release with this Squeezelite Options tab disabled; it wasn't implemented yet and caused just too much confusion.

    The server address can be set under Optional settings
    Name:  Screenshot 2020-10-27 131822.png
Views: 100
Size:  49.0 KB
    LMS 7.9 - 1xRadio, 1xBoom, 5xDuet,3xTouch, 1 SB2. Sony PlayStation, Emby, Chromecast v1 and v2 and...
    6xSqueezeAmp!
    Contributing to Folding@Home : https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/squeezelite-esp32

  8. #38
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    Don't worry - you can interchange 4MB and 8MB version on 8MB esp32 and so far, I've only built 8MB SqueezeAMP but we so far stick with 4MB-fitting binary to maximize compatibility. We'll try to keep it like that as long as possible, we regularly chop of some unused piece of code (that the linker can't do automatically).
    I get that we can run either, but to swap don't we need to re-flash using the ESP download tool? I seem to remember the partition sizes are different or is this old thinking and you can swap between the two using OTA updates.

    Kev

  9. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,245
    Quote Originally Posted by KeBul View Post
    I get that we can run either, but to swap don't we need to re-flash using the ESP download tool? I seem to remember the partition sizes are different or is this old thinking and you can swap between the two using OTA updates.

    Kev
    To be verified but the recovery partition is unchanged AFAIR so it should work
    LMS 7.9 on Pi 3B+ & Odroid-C2 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, Riva 1 & 3

  10. #40
    Senior Member sle118's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Quebec City, Canada
    Posts
    361
    Quote Originally Posted by KeBul View Post
    I get that we can run either, but to swap don't we need to re-flash using the ESP download tool? I seem to remember the partition sizes are different or is this old thinking and you can swap between the two using OTA updates.

    Kev
    The partitions are the same for all the build targets. As a matter of fact, I dropped the 8Mb target and renamed SqueezeAmp 4mb to SqueezeAmp.
    LMS 7.9 - 1xRadio, 1xBoom, 5xDuet,3xTouch, 1 SB2. Sony PlayStation, Emby, Chromecast v1 and v2 and...
    6xSqueezeAmp!
    Contributing to Folding@Home : https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/squeezelite-esp32

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •