Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    16

    Loss of stations

    I have a squeezebox and a UE smart radio. Over the last few months I am unable to pick up stations that I did before on both.

    Some of the messages I get on the UE are:

    Error: no items found in playlist
    Http://opml.radiotime.com......

    Connection reset by remote host https://media-ssl.musicradio.com...

    HTTP/1.1 404 Not found https://solid24.streamupsolutions.com/proxy...

    This has made both radios almost unusable as all I can really get is BBC stations.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,996
    My guess is that you do not have a local LMS server.

    Running one is your likely solution.

    This is because many radio stations have changed how they stream and now insist of using https (arguably a waste of bandwidth and computing resources for internet radio streams but such is life) and the Squeezebox cannot handle this itself ... so it needs a server to proxy the connection and convert it to http.

    If your UE device is still in UE mode then you would also have to convert it to be in Squeezebox mode via a firmware change (easy).
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,996
    (Good topic for a wiki article)
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    16
    I think my UE is running in Squeezebox mode I converted years ago I think. What do I do next? My squeezebox LZ715LP is my top priority.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,996
    First step is to choose a system to run it on

    Download LMS
    https://mysqueezebox.com/download

    Probably choose a Windows PC or MAC to and then show that it solves your problem.

    Then on your Squeezebox, use the remote control to tell it to access your new LMS if it does not find it by itself.

    Ideally you would have a system running 24*7 to host LMS - so that you can be sure that whenever you want to hear something the server is immediately available.
    Some people do this by installing on a Raspberry Pi (search for more info) or a local NAS (network attached storage) or a network router running 3rd-party operating system(although I suspect that is happening less nowadays).
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thank you.
    I have searched on here and there is lots of Raspberry pi info but can someone tell me which version I need and step by step instructions what and how to install please.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,996
    For an example of installation and configuration see
    https://www.picoreplayer.org/landingzone_option2.html

    Any Raspberry Pi with Ethernet (could be RPi Zero with USB->Ethernet adapter) is sufficient for running LMS where the sources are internet radio stations.

    If you have a huge music collection or want to run some memory hungry plugins (gateways to other types of system) then RPi with > 1GB memory (perhaps 2) is better and the newer ones are faster which makes them more future-proof ... so RPi 4 with 2GB is good.

    If buying a case then make sure it is for the RPi model that you buy.
    Also - better to get an official RPi power supply rather than use an old phone charger but you could try a phone charger to see if it works and then you save some money.
    You do not need to get a screen or keyboard.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    23
    I'd second the recommendation to use a Raspberry Pi (running piCorePlayer)

    For years I'd been running LMS on my ReadyNAS, but the performance was never great - to say the least.

    Moving to the Pi has been night and day better, with the added benefit that it also acts as another Squeezebox player (no front panel controls, but I'm happy operating it using Squeezer on my phone).

    I found the Raspberry Pi 3B+ was the sweet spot - Wi-Fi (I use wired ethernet, as it will always be more reliable and faster, but originally tested with Wi-Fi and it was fine). Nothing wrong with the Pi 4, but you really don't need the extra perfomance, and they do run quite a bit hotter and cost a (tiny) bit more.

    I can see my LMS & Pi & Squeezebox Radio lasting me until I die...

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    1

    Why is my Squeezebox x-RC4 not working apart from clock?

    Hello senior forum member, OK I lost Classic FM a couple of months ago, today although all my favourites are showing on my Squeezebox server on my laptop and Wi-fi is OK I can't get anything ... is that because Squeezebox can just no longer handle https addresses. I don't have a clue what a local LMS server is or UE. Please help or is it time to buy a new internet radio to play through my lovely speakers? Thanks and regards

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    My guess is that you do not have a local LMS server.

    Running one is your likely solution.

    This is because many radio stations have changed how they stream and now insist of using https (arguably a waste of bandwidth and computing resources for internet radio streams but such is life) and the Squeezebox cannot handle this itself ... so it needs a server to proxy the connection and convert it to http.

    If your UE device is still in UE mode then you would also have to convert it to be in Squeezebox mode via a firmware change (easy).

  10. #10
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    216
    Quote Originally Posted by Seatonspots View Post
    Hello senior forum member, OK I lost Classic FM a couple of months ago, today although all my favourites are showing on my Squeezebox server on my laptop and Wi-fi is OK I can't get anything ... is that because Squeezebox can just no longer handle https addresses. I don't have a clue what a local LMS server is or UE. Please help or is it time to buy a new internet radio to play through my lovely speakers? Thanks and regards
    Hi, Yes it's an issue with handling https streams your x-RC4 or Squeezebox Touch doesn't directly support this, to explain further;

    Your SB Touch can operate in several ways...

    1). Standalone but connected to MySqueezebox.com (https radio streams not supported)

    2). Standalone but using it's own built in Tiny Logitech Media Server (LMS) (https radio streams not supported)

    3). Connected to a local LMS running on a separate piece of computing hardware (latest versions support https radio streams because LMS handles the https stream and cnverts it to something the player still supports)

    UE Smart Radio doesn't apply to your setup because it's a totally different player to your SB Touch.

    So, you are left with 2 paths going forward...

    1). Sort yourself a local LMS and serve your favourite https radio streams through that.

    2). Change systems, i.e. as you say, buy yourself a new internet radio.

    Path 1) may seem a bit daunting and it really depends how techy you want to get, but the simplest way of getting LMS if you already have a computer of some kind is to download and install the latest LMS package for that platform, i.e. Windows or Mac OS.
    LMS is available for many hardware platforms such as PC, Raspberry Pi and some Network Attached Storage devices (NAS) and various Operating Systems - Windows, Mac OS, Linux.
    There's plenty of people here who will help you through this if you feel it's that way you want to go, just keep asking questions.

    Cheers

    Kev
    Last edited by KeBul; Yesterday at 11:10.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •