Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.

A crude form of automation for LMS

Ever since I started using LMS, nearly seven years ago, I have wished for some form of automation. What I mean is that I want a way to add commands to the playlist, so that certain tasks can be performed. For instance:

Pause or stop playback for a specified time, then resume playing with the next track in the playlist. (sometimes useful when a sync group has drifted out of sync)

Stop playback, clear the playlist, then load and begin playing a different playlist.

Maybe this capability exists in plugins that I am not aware of. But since I'm not aware of those options, I decided to try coming up with something on my own.

I am not a developer, so I do not have code to share, just a concept. So I'm not posting this in Third-party Software. And even though what I'm doing works only in Linux, I think the concept can be applied in other environments, so I think this fits best in the LMS forum.

I have added a folder named Commands to the top level of my music library. In that folder there are several audio files containing 30 seconds of silence. The Title tags of those files all begin with "[Command]", followed by a description of the task to be done. For instance, the first example I mentioned above becomes "[Command] pause group all then play next".

Next, some way of monitoring what's currently playing is needed. This can probably be achieved with the PlayLog or LMS Event Trigger plugins. I already have a shell script running that gets Now Playing updates through the Command Line Interface, so that is what I use. With a few lines added to that script, it now checks the title of every new track, and if it begins with "[Command]" it calls another script with the rest of the title as a parameter.