Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31
  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    166
    Quote Originally Posted by CJS View Post
    => I will check what happens when I start from scratch using the downloaded pCP6.1.0 image, only install jivelite on the Tweaks page, and then update to the test jivelite. I will report back in this thread what is the result of this experiment.
    I did this experiment. I burned the original PCP6.1.0 image to the SD card and apart from selecting the proper audio output device on the Squeezelite Settings page (in my case Hifiberry DAC Zero) I did not change any setting. Then I installed the Jivelite extension on the Tweaks page, and after reboot checked that Jivelite was working as expected. I checked that in the piCorePlayer menu option "Enable Power On Button when Powered Off" was enabled, and that the POWER button was behaving according to this setting (pressing first time => Power off, playback stops; pressing second time => Playback resumes). Then I updated to the test jivelite extension following your instructions.

    Observations after updating to the test jivelite extension:
    * Behaviour of PLAYPAUSE button of my remote control has not changed, it still behaves like a PLAY button
    * I can't enter the piCorePlayer menu item anymore
    * Behaviour of POWER button has changed. Pressing first time => Power off, playback stops; pressing second time => playback starts for a fraction of a second but then almost immediately stops again.
    After selecting a screensaver for "When off", after pressing POWER for the first time playback stops and the screensaver is shown. After pressing POWER for the second time the Now Playing screen is shown for a fraction of a second (and sometimes I hear a very short audio glitch) but then the screensaver is shown again.

    I am not sure why the test jivelite works different in my environment than in yours. Maybe it is because I have a different Raspberry Pi Model (ZeroW) that uses different kernel modules? I am just guessing now.
    For now the "normal" jivelite version that comes with pCP 6.1.0 works better for me, so I will revert to the configuration that I had before updating to the test jivelite.
    Thanks for your time and let me know if you have additional questions.
    | LMS 8.1.2 | Squeezebox Boom | RPi0W + pCP 6.1.0 + HiFiBerry DAC Zero | SqueezeAMP |

  2. #22
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,790
    Quote Originally Posted by CJS View Post
    Yes, that is also what I see.
    and are they the translations you expected?

    Quote Originally Posted by CJS View Post
    With unplug I suppose that you mean unplug the power supply.
    yes that's what I meant.

    Quote Originally Posted by CJS View Post
    If I navigate to a track in my library and press the PLAYPAUSE key then indeed the track starts to play, both before and after installing the test jivelite. If this means that you can't map KEY_PLAYPAUSE to KEY_PAUSE without breaking other remotes than I agree that we can better stop our attempts to make the PLAYPAUSE key functional.
    Yes I won't be able to change the mapping in the official builds, however.....

    Quote Originally Posted by CJS View Post
    Observations after updating to the test jivelite extension:
    * Behaviour of PLAYPAUSE button of my remote control has not changed, it still behaves like a PLAY button
    * I can't enter the piCorePlayer menu item anymore
    * Behaviour of POWER button has changed. Pressing first time => Power off, playback stops; pressing second time => playback starts for a fraction of a second but then almost immediately stops again.
    After selecting a screensaver for "When off", after pressing POWER for the first time playback stops and the screensaver is shown. After pressing POWER for the second time the Now Playing screen is shown for a fraction of a second (and sometimes I hear a very short audio glitch) but then the screensaver is shown again.
    I think the POWER button changes are a side effect of the picoreplayer applet not loading, because the code in the repository jivelite build is the same. Otherwise, I've introduced an issue that I need to resolve before starting on the next release.

    I've uploaded a new test jivelite extension that should fix the picoreplayer applet and as an added incentive to try it, I've remapping the PLAYPAUSE key to PAUSE just for the test build. Use my previous instructions to install it.

    Quote Originally Posted by CJS View Post
    I am not sure why the test jivelite works different in my environment than in yours. Maybe it is because I have a different Raspberry Pi Model (ZeroW) that uses different kernel modules? I am just guessing now.
    For now the "normal" jivelite version that comes with pCP 6.1.0 works better for me, so I will revert to the configuration that I had before updating to the test jivelite.
    Thanks for your time and let me know if you have additional questions.
    Very unlikely that different kernel modules armv6 vs armv7 would cause the problem.

    To switch back to the jivelite package in the repository, if the new test build still has issues, without having to reinstall jivelite.
    Code:
    tc@rpi27:~$ ceo
    tc@rpi27:/mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/optional$ wget -O pcp-jivelite.tcz http://repo.picoreplayer.org/repo/10.x/armv7/tcz/pcp-jivelite.tcz
    tc@rpi27:/mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/optional$ wget -O pcp-jivelite.tcz.md5.txt  http://repo.picoreplayer.org/repo/10.x/armv7/tcz/pcp-jivelite.tcz.md5.txt
    tc@rpi27:/mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/optional$ pcp br
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 2-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    166
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    I've uploaded a new test jivelite extension that should fix the picoreplayer applet and as an added incentive to try it, I've remapping the PLAYPAUSE key to PAUSE just for the test build. Use my previous instructions to install it.
    Hi Ralphy, good news! I have installed the updated jivelite test version per your instructions, and everything looks OK now:

    1) PLAYPAUSE button is now working as intended (press first time => playback is paused; press second time => playback is resumed)
    2) I can navigate into the piCorePlayer menu item again
    3) NL and DE translations of menu item "MENU_ENABLE_POWER_ON_BUTTON_WHEN_OFF" are updated and OK.
    4) Behavior of POWER button is OK again.

    Since everything looks OK I have stored a backup of the updated test versions of files pcp-jivelite.tcz and pcp-jivelite.tcz.md5.txt.

    Thank you very much for your time and for your great support!
    | LMS 8.1.2 | Squeezebox Boom | RPi0W + pCP 6.1.0 + HiFiBerry DAC Zero | SqueezeAMP |

  4. #24
    Member wtnh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    US - East Coast
    Posts
    98

    PLAYPAUSE changes

    Question for @ralphy - I recently got a similar remote to the one CJS has. I was pleasantly surprised when I plugged it in and it mostly functioned. I immediately noticed the play/pause button did not work (as has been noted), but that the spacebar on the qwerty keyboard side of the remote did work for play/pause.

    I was wondering if the mapping changes you created for the CJS test version will make it into the main repo anytime soon, or should I try the workaround with the test version?

    Another mapping that I could not find is having a remote button which is the same as tapping the music icon in the upper right of the screen so that I can get back to the now playing screens, so that would be a nice bonus.

    Thanks!

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    3,641
    Quote Originally Posted by wtnh View Post
    Another mapping that I could not find is having a remote button which is the same as tapping the music icon in the upper right of the screen so that I can get back to the now playing screens, so that would be a nice bonus.
    Try a long hold on Back (top left on JiveLite when not on Home page).
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  6. #26
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,790
    Quote Originally Posted by wtnh View Post
    Question for @ralphy - I recently got a similar remote to the one CJS has. I was pleasantly surprised when I plugged it in and it mostly functioned. I immediately noticed the play/pause button did not work (as has been noted), but that the spacebar on the qwerty keyboard side of the remote did work for play/pause.

    I was wondering if the mapping changes you created for the CJS test version will make it into the main repo anytime soon, or should I try the workaround with the test version?

    Another mapping that I could not find is having a remote button which is the same as tapping the music icon in the upper right of the screen so that I can get back to the now playing screens, so that would be a nice bonus.

    Thanks!
    No that change will not be applied to main, it conflicts with other supported remote key mappings. You'll need to use the test version.
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 2-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  7. #27
    Member wtnh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    US - East Coast
    Posts
    98
    OK - thanks. I am finding the remote pretty useful out of the box. Like I mentioned the space bar on the keyboard side does work as a play/pause.

    BTW - I am using this one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Also - I discovered that the HOME button returns Jivelite to the now playing screen. Some of the other buttons (especially the qwerty keys) do some strange things to the interface. I have to learn to avoid them!

    ***EDIT*** I just discovered ralphy's mapping chart on GitHub: https://github.com/ralph-irving/tcz-...r/jivekeys.csv . This makes things clearer; I'll try some of the qwerty keys.
    Last edited by wtnh; 2021-01-18 at 16:53.

  8. #28
    Member wtnh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    US - East Coast
    Posts
    98
    Just got another RF remote to try out: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Name:  61HvQTA2pkL._AC_SL1001_.jpg
Views: 31
Size:  41.3 KB

    I wanted to try this one since the front side is much simpler and should do the job for jivelite control.

    All the buttons work with jivelite EXCEPT the OK button and the enter key on the back. They do nothing. These are obviously the most important for selections, so it is pretty useless.

    I suspect it is just defective and will send it back, but I was wondering about a quick way to check in the logs to see if these keys are getting recognized?

    Thanks

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    3,641
    Quote Originally Posted by wtnh View Post
    I was wondering about a quick way to check in the logs to see if these keys are getting recognized?
    See the 2nd post in this thread.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  10. #30
    Member wtnh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    US - East Coast
    Posts
    98
    Thanks for the pointer. It turns out this new remote is sending a different code for the OK and Enter keys than the one that works.

    Working remote:
    Code:
    Event: time 1613328411.379315, type 4 (EV_MSC), code 4 (MSC_SCAN), value 70028
    Event: time 1613328411.379315, type 1 (EV_KEY), code 28 (KEY_ENTER), value 1
    Event: time 1613328411.379315, -------------- SYN_REPORT ------------
    Event: time 1613328411.387290, type 4 (EV_MSC), code 4 (MSC_SCAN), value 70028
    Event: time 1613328411.387290, type 1 (EV_KEY), code 28 (KEY_ENTER), value 0
    Non-working new remote:
    Code:
    Event: time 1613328715.194926, type 4 (EV_MSC), code 4 (MSC_SCAN), value 70058
    Event: time 1613328715.194926, type 1 (EV_KEY), code 96 (KEY_KPENTER), value 1
    Event: time 1613328715.194926, -------------- SYN_REPORT ------------
    Event: time 1613328715.298836, type 4 (EV_MSC), code 4 (MSC_SCAN), value 70058
    Event: time 1613328715.298836, type 1 (EV_KEY), code 96 (KEY_KPENTER), value 0
    So it looks like the remote is functioning, but Jivelite is ignoring the 70058 code. I guess I will need to remap the codes to get it to work if I want to keep it?

    Is this typical of RF remotes? I would have expected Enter to be consistent/universal.

    Sorry for the RF remote newbie questions.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •