Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 88 of 92 FirstFirst ... 38788687888990 ... LastLast
Results 871 to 880 of 915
  1. #871
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,339
    I think it is 1mm wider than a Bluetooth module that other have used in that location in cassette adapters so it would be very tight ... however, I forgot about the connections ... they are along both long sides rather than the short sides so would probably make wiring it impossible.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  2. #872
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,202

    AAC update

    I've recently seen more AAC streams using SBR (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spectral_band_replication). I've updated the decoder wrapper to accept these (otherwise you'd hear a half-speed track) but it is really consuming too much CPU for the poor esp32 and the result is too random to be acceptable (mainly due to caching), even in 16 bits mode. I've pushed an updated version where SBR can be an option and I will likely remove support for it in future pre-built versions. You will still be able to compile it your self using "-DAAC_ENABLE_SBR" on idf command line.
    LMS 8.2 on Odroid-C4 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 5xBoom, 2xDuet, 1xTouch, 1xSB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, RivaArena 1 & 3

  3. #873
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,339
    So does that mean that these streams would play at half speed again or have you found some other trick that would let them play but with reduced quality?
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  4. #874
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,202
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    So does that mean that these streams would play at half speed again or have you found some other trick that would let them play but with reduced quality?
    AAC allows playing such content normally but with reduced quality, but using the SBR part
    LMS 8.2 on Odroid-C4 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 5xBoom, 2xDuet, 1xTouch, 1xSB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, RivaArena 1 & 3

  5. #875
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,339
    I presume "not using" rather than "using".
    So was the half speed issue a bug in trying to handle the SBR rather than a result of ignoring it?
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  6. #876
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,202
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    I presume "not using" rather than "using".
    So was the half speed issue a bug in trying to handle the SBR rather than a result of ignoring it?
    Yes, not using, sorry

    The half speed was a result of reading just the core sampling rate and not the extended sampling rate while still decoding the full SBR.

    SBR reconstructs higher spectrum part and thus double sampling rate.
    LMS 8.2 on Odroid-C4 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 5xBoom, 2xDuet, 1xTouch, 1xSB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, RivaArena 1 & 3

  7. #877
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,339

    ANNOUNCE: Squeezelite-ESP32 (dedicated thread)

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Would this tiny (18x32mm) device work?

    It is listed as having ESP32 Pico D4 with extra 4MB
    Aha ... he has made an even smaller one ... TinyPico Nano
    13x27mm

    https://www.tinypico.com/tinypico-nano
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  8. #878
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    200

    Firmware update hickup

    After receiving a github notification I have now updated my SqueezeAMP to FW v1.681. Thanks Philippe for the update.

    I would like to report a small hickup in the FW update process however. In the past, after selection of the wanted FW version in squeezelite/SqueezeAMP mode, I only needed to click the "Flash Firmware" button once. SqueezeAMP would than reboot into Recovery Mode and automatically the OTA FW update process was started and after flashing my SqueezeAMP would automatically reboot back in squeezelite mode again.

    This time after hitting the "Flash Firmware" button in squeezelite mode, my SqueezeAMP did reboot in Recovery Mode, and a popup window showing "Update Progress" appeared, but then nothing happened anymore. See screenshot below. After waiting a few minutes I closed the popup window and manually rebooted into squeezelite mode by hitting the "Exit Recovery" button, finding out that my SqueezeAMP was still running FW v1.665. FYI I did verify that the new v1.681 firmware file was downloaded and available on my Windows LMS server in folder C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache\updates.

    Name:  SqueezeAMP_FW_update.png
Views: 105
Size:  54.2 KB

    A second update attempt gave the same result. Then I decided to first manually reboot into Recovery mode by hitting button Recovery (instead of Flash Firmware). When starting the FW update in Recovery Mode the FW update process worked fine, and the firmware was successfully updated. In hindsight I probably could have simply hit the "Close" button on the "Upgrade Progress" window shown in the screenshot above, and then hit the Flash Firmware button while still in Recovery mode.

    => So I did manage to update the firmware, but thought it would be useful to report that the FW update only seems to work when started in Recovery Mode.
    | LMS 8.1.2 | Squeezebox Boom | RPi0W + pCP 7.0.1 + HiFiBerry DAC Zero | SqueezeAMP |

  9. #879
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,339
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  10. #880
    Senior Member sle118's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Quebec City, Canada
    Posts
    445
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Could you confirm that you have installed the most recent version of the plug-in on the server?

    I'm going to have a look into this
    LMS 7.9 - 1xRadio, 1xBoom, 5xDuet,3xTouch, 1 SB2. Sony PlayStation, Emby, Chromecast v1 and v2 and...
    6xSqueezeAmp!
    Contributing to Folding@Home : https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/squeezelite-esp32

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •