Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 32 of 35 FirstFirst ... 223031323334 ... LastLast
Results 311 to 320 of 341
  1. #311
    Senior Member sle118's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Quebec City, Canada
    Posts
    362
    Quote Originally Posted by KeBul View Post
    I tried 526 on my A1S Audio Developer board, but it was a real struggle, OTA worked but device went from slow to very slow, lost rotary encoder and buttons despite them being configured correctly, in the end had to recover with download tool re-flash because the device became completely unresponsive.

    Tried erase and then fresh download of 526, still no encoder or buttons... eventually traced this to "too many CLI instances in LMS" reboot of LMS fixed it. Also playback was less reliable, lots of pauses, stops, loss of connection and skips to next track... wifi disconnected, wifi connected.
    Checked I had changed wifi mode to Comprehensive (a in NVM editor) and yes that was set, but checked my access points and it was connected to the one furthest away that just happened to be Channel 1, repeated this behaviour with a brand new previously unused A1S, on 526 both pretty much always connected to my Router on Channel 1, two floors and two walls away, rather than the access point in the same room on channel 11.

    Went back to the trusty 142 on both devices and all is well again, they both connect to the nearby access point every time, although I hit the "too many CLI instances in LMS" again and had to once more restart LMS to get encoder and buttons working.

    ...and now just noticed on the current one powered up the equaliser doesn't work... getting this in the LMS logs:

    [20-11-21 21:06:55.7461] Slim::Web::JSONRPC::requestMethod (455) Request failed with error: Bad dispatch!
    [20-11-21 21:06:56.7094] Slim::Control::Request::execute (1888) Error: While trying to run function coderef [Plugins::SqueezeESP32::Plugin::setEQ]: [Can't locate object method "send_equalizer" via package "Slim::Player::SqueezePlay" at /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins/SqueezeESP32/Plugin.pm line 98.
    ]

    Time for a cleanup in LMS caches and remove/re-install SqueezeESP32 plugin I think, must admit I'd had enough after messing around with them for many hours, I'll take one back up to 526 again and re-check the wifi behaviour when I feel like having a play again.

    Edit:

    One more thing I found with 526 - I could not get it to fully populate the squeezelite startup line for bluetooth, even though I'd put the sink device name in at the bottom of the page, and then save and apply
    I always got:
    squeezelite -b 500:2000 -d all=info -C 30 -W -n "squeezelite" -o "BT" -R -Z 192000"
    I had to edit in a name manually in NVS:
    squeezelite -b 500:2000 -d all=info -C 30 -W -n "squeezelite" -o "BT -n 'SoundCore 2'" -R -Z 192000"

    I've not got screenshots of what I was entering where - I'll double check it when I try 526 again.


    Kev
    If possible, please log some defects in GitHub. It is currently very difficult for me to commit to the project and do proper regression testing. If 142 works, then please stick to it. Is anyone else using 526 or 529? If so, is it any stable? I'd like to know.
    Last edited by sle118; 2020-11-21 at 22:14.
    LMS 7.9 - 1xRadio, 1xBoom, 5xDuet,3xTouch, 1 SB2. Sony PlayStation, Emby, Chromecast v1 and v2 and...
    6xSqueezeAmp!
    Contributing to Folding@Home : https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/squeezelite-esp32

  2. #312
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by sle118 View Post
    If possible, please log some defects in GitHub. It is currently very difficult for me to commit to the project and do proper regression testing. If 142 works, then please stick to it. Is another else using 526 or 529? If so, is it any stable? I'd like to know.
    Sure, will do once I've clarified and proved the issues are 526 - quite happy to stay on 142, but thought I'd try 526 hoping to report back some good news on it, but to be honest I had such a torrid time with it, in the end clear thinking and troubleshooting became difficult.

    Kev

  3. #313
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    353
    Quote Originally Posted by sle118 View Post
    Is anyone else using 526 or 529? If so, is it any stable? I'd like to know.
    fw: I2S-4MFlash.526.master-cmake
    config as attached

    just experienced it stop in mid-play (synchronised with another ESP). no automatic reboot, no response to telnet or web interface, just stuck.
    power cycle brought it back on.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #314
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by KeBul View Post
    Sure, will do once I've clarified and proved the issues are 526 - quite happy to stay on 142, but thought I'd try 526 hoping to report back some good news on it, but to be honest I had such a torrid time with it, in the end clear thinking and troubleshooting became difficult.

    Kev
    Hopefully final update on this here...

    Last night I started again, OTA from 142 to 529 (thought i might as well test the latest). As before OTA worked fine and upgrade completed.

    This time I was more organised and had putty connected to the device so I could see what was going on...

    1. The poor response from the web interface is because the device is continuously looping through a crash and core dump... ESP_ERROR_INVALID_STATE in bt_app_sink.c I think it does eventually recover from this and starts responding normally
    2. The sound pauses and skipping to next track is caused by wifi disconnects and subsequent underflow error
    3. The wifi mode seems to be working correctly, testing last night and this morning showed it was connecting to the nearest AP the majority of the time, but with so many disconnects sometimes it would connect to an AP further away - but that's wifi! Having said that I'm currently listening on i2S with wired headphones and it's still disconnecting but seems to be favouring the AP furthest away on Channel 1 again
    4. Both SqueezeESP32 and LMS report the CLI connection refused too many connections error when it happens, Reboot LMS clears, assume the excess connections are due to the "dirty" wifi disconnects
    5. Filling in the Bluetooth sink name in the web interface and saving changes the name in NVS but it doesn't put that name in the Squeezelite startup line. Easy to fix in NVS editor by adding -n 'your sink name'" after "BT in the squeezelite startup line in autoexec1


    I've got output and screenshots if relevant for each issue, will head over to GitHub and log them there.

    Kev
    Last edited by KeBul; 2020-11-22 at 06:47.

  5. #315
    Senior Member sle118's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Quebec City, Canada
    Posts
    362
    Quote Originally Posted by KeBul View Post
    Hopefully final update on this here...

    Last night I started again, OTA from 142 to 529 (thought i might as well test the latest). As before OTA worked fine and upgrade completed.

    Kev

    I have installed rev 529 and it has been stable for me. The main difference, however, seems to be the hardware platform; you are running on the ESP32-A1S build and I'm running the I2S 4Mb build on a DAC that does not have i2c. I also noticed that you are sharing the i2c bus between the amp board and the display and I am wondering if this could be a source of conflict, as I do believe our core assumes a separation between i2c for amp and display (I'd have to check that).

    Could you please try to deactivate your display and see if this helps? Something else you could try is attaching your display's sda/scl to different GPIOs.

    I think it's time I order one of these boards so I can include them in my tests going forward.

    Thank you
    LMS 7.9 - 1xRadio, 1xBoom, 5xDuet,3xTouch, 1 SB2. Sony PlayStation, Emby, Chromecast v1 and v2 and...
    6xSqueezeAmp!
    Contributing to Folding@Home : https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/squeezelite-esp32

  6. #316
    Senior Member sle118's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Quebec City, Canada
    Posts
    362
    Quote Originally Posted by mboxler View Post
    Just hooked up an I2C display and got the same results. This command must be used for something else. Sorry
    Scanning is exactly what it says. If connections are done correctly and configuration alings, then the scan should report something back.

    edit: actually, commands in the "advanced" menu aren't regression tested. I currently don't have a device to test so I cannot confirm if it's still working or not right now, but I'll try to set one up later today.
    Last edited by sle118; 2020-11-22 at 09:38.
    LMS 7.9 - 1xRadio, 1xBoom, 5xDuet,3xTouch, 1 SB2. Sony PlayStation, Emby, Chromecast v1 and v2 and...
    6xSqueezeAmp!
    Contributing to Folding@Home : https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/squeezelite-esp32

  7. #317
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by sle118 View Post
    I have installed rev 529 and it has been stable for me. The main difference, however, seems to be the hardware platform; you are running on the ESP32-A1S build and I'm running the I2S 4Mb build on a DAC that does not have i2c. I also noticed that you are sharing the i2c bus between the amp board and the display and I am wondering if this could be a source of conflict, as I do believe our core assumes a separation between i2c for amp and display (I'd have to check that).

    Could you please try to deactivate your display and see if this helps? Something else you could try is attaching your display's sda/scl to different GPIOs.

    I think it's time I order one of these boards so I can include them in my tests going forward.

    Thank you
    I do not have a display configured or attached to either of my A1S boards, did trial one briefly on a SqueezeAMP a short while back. I am using GPIO21 for a rotary encoder on one A1S but not on the one i was using last night and this morning, all that's configured GPIO wise is the buttons as per the example on the readme.
    I'll remove the buttons config and test again with a minimum default install.

    I'm happy to help and test, I'm learning and beginning to understand it all a bit more which is good, I got the A1S board(s) because they are ridiculously cheap and I thought they would be easier to play around with for learning and adding/testing I/O options (have to take the SqueezeAMP out of its case).
    I felt bad about highlighting these issues because I know you are putting a lot of hard work into improving the software and to be honest the thanks go out to the SqueezeESP32 team it's an incredible solution you've all managed to create.

    I also have a confession to make, I think some of my Bluetooth issues have been because I have left squeezelite turned off on the Audio+LMS page, partly due to my mis-understanding the "toggle to activate changes" and partly because I've also found/realised I've been suffering from browser page refresh issues. Testing with the console connected often showed clicks were acted on but the browser showed nothing.
    When I went back to 142 after testing today, I couldn't get Bluetooth to connect to either headphones or speaker, browser showed squeezelite as on and everything was configured ok but no connection and what puzzled me was no console output regarding BT. I force refreshed the web page and it reloaded back to wifi page, clicked on Audio+LMS page and squeezelite was off, turned it on and BT connected to my speaker, but not my Bose headphones - which must now also be considered a suspect in my issues with BT, the speaker has been far more reliable, I've been using it on version 142 for hours each day without any major issues - it's superb, a mini marvel, if only I could find a box/case to fit the oddly sized A1S into.

    I've created a GitHub account and have just transferred all the console captures over from my Windows machine to my Mac and will sit here this evening adding the issues, as I've already said, I'm happy on 142, the 526/529 testing was just to try and help you guys with some feedback.

    Kev
    Last edited by KeBul; 2020-11-30 at 12:55.

  8. #318
    Senior Member sle118's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Quebec City, Canada
    Posts
    362
    Quote Originally Posted by KeBul View Post
    I've created a GitHub account and have just transferred all the console captures over from my Windows machine to my Mac and will sit here this evening adding the issues, as I've already said, I'm happy on 142, the 526/529 testing was just to try and help you guys with some feedback.
    Kev
    Your feedback is precious; it is hard if not impossible to test on a wide set of scenarios that cover real world usage patterns. Thank you for creating a GitHub account! It is challenging to try and keep track of issues in a forum because of the linearity of threads. Having a dedicated GitHub issue will allow a better/easier understanding and cause analysis.

    To be honest, streaming to Bluetooth external device was something I integrated early on (with the help of Philippe to get syncing, smootheness, and stability) because I didn't have an i2s DAC when Philippe and I launched ourselves into a crazy project. Note that I deliberately separated BT output configuration from squeezelite configuration. This means Bluetooth command line will now show -o "BT" or something along these lines, and BT configuration itself will appear below in a separate config. The benefit is that BT external configuration isn't lost when switching output to i2s.
    LMS 7.9 - 1xRadio, 1xBoom, 5xDuet,3xTouch, 1 SB2. Sony PlayStation, Emby, Chromecast v1 and v2 and...
    6xSqueezeAmp!
    Contributing to Folding@Home : https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/squeezelite-esp32

  9. #319
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by sle118 View Post
    it is hard if not impossible to test on a wide set of scenarios that cover real world usage patterns.
    You are not kidding, this has taken me several hours for at least 3 days, it can be so time consuming and my use case is very limited, I used to be a development test engineer for dealing telephone systems, obviously far more complex but we had hundreds of test scripts to check every functionality, each new release would take weeks and then months of running the scripts plus adhoc "play" time where we would try and break the system... fun times.

    I've logged the 3 main problems I've seen, If there's anything else I can do to help then let me know, only too happy to assist and learn further.

    Kev

  10. #320
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    2
    small suggestion for improvement:
    The link of the LMS-Plugin (...repo.xml) in the first post ist broken. I found the korrekt link in the Readme... so no problem for me, but maybe for new people, who only read the first post...
    Can you edit the first post? Thanks and Greetings.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •