Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Senior Member pkfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    545

    Khadas Tone Control no sound

    Hi all, just bought a Khadas Tone Control USB DAC and can't get any sound from it - I have LMS running on a Ras Pi3b+ with Squeezelite as a player - I normally use a HifiBerry DAC Pro hat but I wanted to compare with the Khadas - I presume I need to tell Squeezelite to choose the Khadas but I don't know how
    We can't stop here this is bat country. RIP Hunter S Thompson.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,702
    squeezelite-l
    (Lowercase L)
    to list the available devices
    -o devicename
    to select it (Lowercase Oh)
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  3. #3
    Senior Member pkfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    545
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    squeezelite-l
    (Lowercase L)
    to list the available devices
    -o devicename
    to select it (Lowercase Oh)
    Hi Paul I'm unsure what to put after -o - this is my list abridged to show Khadas - will this be a one time setting or do I need to edit some config file ?


    sysdefault:CARD=Control - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - Default Audio Device
    front:CARD=Control,DEV=0 - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - Front speakers
    surround21:CARD=Control,DEV=0 - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - 2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
    surround40:CARD=Control,DEV=0 - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - 4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
    surround41:CARD=Control,DEV=0 - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - 4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
    surround50:CARD=Control,DEV=0 - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - 5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
    surround51:CARD=Control,DEV=0 - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - 5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
    surround71:CARD=Control,DEV=0 - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - 7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
    iec958:CARD=Control,DEV=0 - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
    dmix:CARD=Control,DEV=0 - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - Direct sample mixing device
    dsnoop:CARD=Control,DEV=0 - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - Direct sample snooping device
    hw:CARD=Control,DEV=0 - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - Direct hardware device without any conversions
    plughw:CARD=Control,DEV=0 - Khadas Tone Control, USB Audio - Hardware device with all software conversions
    Last edited by pkfox; 2020-08-01 at 08:11.
    We can't stop here this is bat country. RIP Hunter S Thompson.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,702
    Try
    hw:CARD=Control
    If you are using a Raspberry Pi 4 then I think you also need to use the command line switch to disable nmap with
    -a :::0
    (although you might need other things in there as well)

    Once you get it working from the command line you probably need to make the equivalent changes to an options file that is used by whatever startup process runs it.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  5. #5
    Senior Member pkfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    545
    Ran this

    squeezelite -o hw:CARD=Control

    [08:30:00.081463] test_open:294 playback open error: Device or resource busy
    [08:30:00.081566] output_init_common:381 unable to open output device

    I'm a bit out of my depth with this stuff
    We can't stop here this is bat country. RIP Hunter S Thompson.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    3,499
    [Khadas ToneBoard


    USB


    Code:
    hw:CARD=Control,DEV=0
    works for me

    ronnie

    How did you install squeezelite ?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,702
    Is the RPi being used for anything other than LMS-related things?
    If not then might be easier to put rewrite the SD card with pCP then nearly everything is configurable from web interface that has some contextual help.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,702
    Also ... the error implies that something else already has the device open.
    eg another copy of Squeezelite or (maybe) PulseAudio.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  9. #9
    Senior Member pkfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    545
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    [Khadas ToneBoard


    USB


    Code:
    hw:CARD=Control,DEV=0
    works for me

    ronnie

    How did you install squeezelite ?
    apt install squeezelite
    We can't stop here this is bat country. RIP Hunter S Thompson.

  10. #10
    Senior Member pkfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    545
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Is the RPi being used for anything other than LMS-related things?
    If not then might be easier to put rewrite the SD card with pCP then nearly everything is configurable from web interface that has some contextual help.
    Unfortunately it is used for other things - but I do have others I could try that on - I do like to know the config files these interfaces are modifying though otherwise I'll never understand what does what
    We can't stop here this is bat country. RIP Hunter S Thompson.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •