Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Resetting my problem. LMS won't install

    I've posted below, but my question has become so messy I'll try to clarify my problem.

    I've cranked up my old SBB after a couple of years, but can't get it to connect to LMS in my Apple Mac.

    I have the LMS screen up. I am signed in to my account. My current Mac OSX version 10.15.6 is registered. I click on "Download Media Server" and the installer package arrives in "Downloads" in "Finder". When I click to open it, a new screen pops up with the message "Click to perform standard installation", then "Standard install on MacIntosh HD". I'm next asked to authorise the installation. However, I notice that the little coloured wheel is spinning if I move the pointer off the installation window, indicating that something is probably not ok. Proceeding with the installation however, the installation bar shows the installation proceeding, and then a message comes up saying "The installation was successful" .

    However, there is no LMS icon on the desktop. Nor is there one in APPLICATIONS. But if I right click and select "More Information" on the installer icon, a box pops up showing that "Installer Package 49.2MB" was installed on "MacIntosh HD > Users > Allen Hull (me) > Downloads 24 July 2020 at 2.08pm. Its source was "downloads.slimdevices.com".

    So everything looks ok, but isn't. Finally a new window comes up headed Logitech Media Server, Status showing that the server is stopped. Clicking on "Start Server"doesn't do anything, and there are no entries under the headings "Library", "Accounts" etc, and nor can I enter my email address or password under accounts.

    Any solution to my problem will be warmly welcomed. Many thanks. Allen

    By the way, I see there is a newer version of LMS released earlier this year.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,559
    You might try the 7.9.3 build from here:
    http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nig...ex.php?ver=7.9

    I suppose it could be a "Catalina" OS version incompatibility, so hopefully a Mac user will reply soon. Search the forum; I'm pretty sure I remember some posts regarding this.
    Last edited by Apesbrain; 2020-07-24 at 05:01.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    19,284
    Definitely start with the Catalina fixes on permissions

    such as in this thread and a second post further down https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post969208

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Apesbrain View Post
    You might try the 7.9.3 build from here:
    http://downloads.slimdevices.com/nig...ex.php?ver=7.9

    I suppose it could be a "Catalina" OS version incompatibility, so hopefully a Mac user will reply soon. Search the forum; I'm pretty sure I remember some posts regarding this.
    Yes, I tried that. Didn't work. Maybe I should open a battle with Apple

  5. #5
    Thanks everyone for your replies. I have looked at the various links mentioned, but they all begin with "Install LMS". My problem is that LMS won't install, so none of the solutions are applicable. So as LMS won't install, is it likely that I have an 'Apple' problem rather than a Logitech problem? It's all very frustrating because the screen and speakers are still in fine shape, the sound is great and even the facia and knob are not sticky.

    It's such a shame to have it sitting here, but barely useable.

    Allen
    Margaret River
    Western Australia

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    19,284
    Quote Originally Posted by Allen View Post
    Thanks everyone for your replies. I have looked at the various links mentioned, but they all begin with "Install LMS". My problem is that LMS won't install, so none of the solutions are applicable. So as LMS won't install, is it likely that I have an 'Apple' problem rather than a Logitech problem? It's all very frustrating because the screen and speakers are still in fine shape, the sound is great and even the facia and knob are not sticky.

    It's such a shame to have it sitting here, but barely useable.

    Allen
    Margaret River
    Western Australia
    With only little knowledge of MacOS, try the permission fixes on Perl etc as it is about getting LMS to start running - which may have the same symptoms as "not installed".

    There are only a few Mac LMS "power" users on the forum. Michael Herger who knows about Apple, Catalina etc but is on vacation. Check back in a few weeks with a post and if he is back and he should be able to provide specific help.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    28

    Resetting my problem. LMS won't install

    Allen,

    Search for LMS will not start, MAC. Your LMS is installing but it's
    file permissions (I believe) that prevent it from starting.

    Also it may be "ownership" of the files and if your username has
    authority in that group where the executable of the LMS server
    belongs to.

    Linux which I'm running is very similar, be sure also to be using the
    latest LMS for your particular operating system.

    Best wishes,
    David N1EA

    On Fri, Jul 24, 2020 at 3:18 AM Allen
    <Allen.9mi7zz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    >
    >
    > I've posted below, but my question has become so messy I'll try to
    > clarify my problem.
    >
    > I've cranked up my old SBB after a couple of years, but can't get it to
    > connect to LMS in my Apple Mac.
    >
    > I have the LMS screen up. I am signed in to my account. My current Mac
    > OSX version 10.15.6 is registered. I click on "Download Media Server"
    > and the installer package arrives in "Downloads" in "Finder". When I
    > click to open it, a new screen pops up with the message "Click to
    > perform standard installation", then "Standard install on MacIntosh HD".
    > I'm next asked to authorise the installation. However, I notice that the
    > little coloured wheel is spinning if I move the pointer off the
    > installation window, indicating that something is probably not ok.
    > Proceeding with the installation however, the installation bar shows the
    > installation proceeding, and then a message comes up saying "The
    > installation was successful" .
    >
    > However, there is no LMS icon on the desktop. Nor is there one in
    > APPLICATIONS. But if I right click and select "More Information" on the
    > installer icon, a box pops up showing that "Installer Package 49.2MB"
    > was installed on "MacIntosh HD > Users > Allen Hull (me) > Downloads 24
    > July 2020 at 2.08pm. Its source was "downloads.slimdevices.com".
    >
    > So everything looks ok, but isn't. Finally a new window comes up headed
    > Logitech Media Server, Status showing that the server is stopped.
    > Clicking on "Start Server"doesn't do anything, and there are no entries
    > under the headings "Library", "Accounts" etc, and nor can I enter my
    > email address or password under accounts.
    >
    > Any solution to my problem will be warmly welcomed. Many thanks. Allen
    >
    > By the way, I see there is a newer version of LMS released earlier this
    > year.
    >
    >
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > Allen's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=48681
    > View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=112645
    >
    >

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    With only little knowledge of MacOS, try the permission fixes on Perl etc as it is about getting LMS to start running - which may have the same symptoms as "not installed".

    There are only a few Mac LMS "power" users on the forum. Michael Herger who knows about Apple, Catalina etc but is on vacation. Check back in a few weeks with a post and if he is back and he should be able to provide specific help.

    Thanks for that advice. I'm afraid I don't understand "Perl", although it is mentioned in many posts along with another which escapes me at the moment. I assume it's not a firewall problem, because the App has actually downloaded. Just won't open.



    Allen

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    28

    Resetting my problem. LMS won't install

    Are you using Catalina?

    The problem is likely permissions - read that big thread on Mac Installations.

    There are a bunch of permissions that have to be changed by the user
    to install non Apple Store apps to get the job done.

    73
    DR
    N1EA

    On Sat, Jul 25, 2020 at 10:48 PM Allen
    <Allen.9mlku0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    >
    >
    > bpa wrote:
    > > With only little knowledge of MacOS, try the permission fixes on Perl
    > > etc as it is about getting LMS to start running - which may have the
    > > same symptoms as "not installed".
    > >
    > > There are only a few Mac LMS "power" users on the forum. Michael Herger
    > > who knows about Apple, Catalina etc but is on vacation. Check back in a
    > > few weeks with a post and if he is back and he should be able to provide
    > > specific help.

    >
    >
    > Thanks for that advice. I'm afraid I don't understand "Perl", although
    > it is mentioned in many posts along with another which escapes me at the
    > moment. I assume it's not a firewall problem, because the App has
    > actually downloaded. Just won't open.
    >
    >
    >
    > Allen
    >
    >
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > Allen's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=48681
    > View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=112645
    >
    >

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •