Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: SSH into pCP

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Cotswolds UK
    Posts
    11

    SSH into pCP

    Hi all and great to be here, my first post.

    Setup pCP on pi3+ and got LMS working fine and it still is, but can I get into pCP via putty, nope.

    I am sure it worked fine during setup with the default user and PW but not working now, any ideas appreciated as to how to gain access again?

    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,165
    What do you see in the putty diagnostics?
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Cotswolds UK
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    What do you see in the putty diagnostics?

    2020-07-15 13:29:02 Looking up host "192.168.1.98" for SSH connection
    2020-07-15 13:29:02 Connecting to 192.168.1.98 port 22
    2020-07-15 13:29:02 We claim version: SSH-2.0-PuTTY_Release_0.73
    2020-07-15 13:29:03 Remote version: SSH-2.0-OpenSSH_7.7
    2020-07-15 13:29:03 Using SSH protocol version 2
    2020-07-15 13:29:03 No GSSAPI security context available
    2020-07-15 13:29:03 Doing ECDH key exchange with curve Curve25519 and hash SHA-256 (unaccelerated)
    2020-07-15 13:29:03 Server also has ecdsa-sha2-nistp256/ssh-rsa host keys, but we don't know any of them
    2020-07-15 13:29:03 Host key fingerprint is:
    2020-07-15 13:29:03 ssh-ed25519 255 4f:70:2f:4c:a4:2f:ac:b1:84:f3:de:8a:44:b6:ed:7d
    2020-07-15 13:29:03 Initialised AES-256 SDCTR (AES-NI accelerated) outbound encryption
    2020-07-15 13:29:03 Initialised HMAC-SHA-256 (unaccelerated) outbound MAC algorithm
    2020-07-15 13:29:03 Initialised AES-256 SDCTR (AES-NI accelerated) inbound encryption
    2020-07-15 13:29:03 Initialised HMAC-SHA-256 (unaccelerated) inbound MAC algorithm
    2020-07-15 13:30:12 Attempting keyboard-interactive authentication
    2020-07-15 13:30:12 Server refused keyboard-interactive authentication
    2020-07-15 13:30:24 Sent password
    2020-07-15 13:30:24 Password authentication failed
    2020-07-15 13:30:30 Sent password
    2020-07-15 13:30:30 Password authentication failed
    2020-07-15 13:31:03 Remote side unexpectedly closed network connection

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,165
    I have an older version of Putty here - but the dialogue os broadly the same until the password is sent.
    In my case it works.
    So first guess is typing error on password (or user id).
    You can set the password for the tc account from the pCP web interface - so maybe reset it and try again.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Cotswolds UK
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    I have an older version of Putty here - but the dialogue os broadly the same until the password is sent.
    In my case it works.
    So first guess is typing error on password (or user id).
    You can set the password for the tc account from the pCP web interface - so maybe reset it and try again.

    Now into putty OK but now cannot get into pCP web interface - http://192.168.1.98 is requesting your username and password. The site says: ôWeb Server Authenticationö failed. Can I reset this via putty?

    Apologies for the newbie questions.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,165
    try
    sudo cat /etc/httpd.conf
    You might see the id/password in there.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  7. #7
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,230
    For the web interface to prompt for a username and password it means you set this up via the web interface. The default is admin:admin. This is completely separate to the tc user and password.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Cotswolds UK
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Erskine View Post
    For the web interface to prompt for a username and password it means you set this up via the web interface. The default is admin:admin. This is completely separate to the tc user and password.
    Paul opened sudo cat /etc/httpd.conf , not in there.

    Greg spot on now in again.

    Many thanks to you both

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •