Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by tfec View Post
    This time I used the plugin Radio.net and found:
    Smooth Radio London: https://media-ice.musicradio.com/SmoothLondonMP3
    Fix Radio: https://edge-audio-03-gos2.sharp-str...m/fixradio.mp3
    Added them both, thank you! Would not work with https, but does work with http.

    I was of the opinion that AAC was supposed to be the better streaming mode, apparently not so? Or do the MP3 streams carry a higher bitrate?


    -Eric

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Home Counties, UK
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by ews2k View Post
    Vinnielo, thank you for the advice. I already have RadioFeeds UK & Ireland app, but if I attempt searching anu UK station (by location, anyway), I get the following:

    "Error: No items found in playlist "

    Why would this be?

    I am using a SB Touch for the purpose.


    -Eric
    Thanks for letting me know.
    I don't get this, no.
    What locations have you tried?
    Is anyone else having a similar problem?
    RadioFeeds UK & Ireland.. an up-to-date radio directory for your Squeezebox/Transporter/UE Smart Radio.. available from the mysqueezebox.com App Gallery.
    Bonus: our RadioFeeds LMS plugin also lists AAC and the BBC's high-quality HLS streams on top of what's available in our MSB app.
    Now with over 1000 registered users, it's available for Logitech Media Server (and Squeezebox Server, SqueezeCenter and SlimServer).
    Click for more info: http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/squeeze

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Home Counties, UK
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by ews2k View Post
    Added them both, thank you! Would not work with https, but does work with http.

    I was of the opinion that AAC was supposed to be the better streaming mode, apparently not so? Or do the MP3 streams carry a higher bitrate?


    -Eric
    Yes, mp3s carry a higher bitrate.
    At the moment, AAC+ is mainly being used for mobile. In terms of sound quality, mp3 is better unless the AACs are 128k or higher.
    RadioFeeds UK & Ireland.. an up-to-date radio directory for your Squeezebox/Transporter/UE Smart Radio.. available from the mysqueezebox.com App Gallery.
    Bonus: our RadioFeeds LMS plugin also lists AAC and the BBC's high-quality HLS streams on top of what's available in our MSB app.
    Now with over 1000 registered users, it's available for Logitech Media Server (and Squeezebox Server, SqueezeCenter and SlimServer).
    Click for more info: http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/squeeze

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,090
    Quote Originally Posted by vinnielo View Post
    Yes, mp3s carry a higher bitrate.
    At the moment, AAC+ is mainly being used for mobile. In terms of sound quality, mp3 is better unless the AACs are 128k or higher.
    That seems to be contrary to some documents that say 96kbps AAC+/AAC = 128kbps MP3.

    In all these cases of codecs, DACs etc - it will be up to the listener to decide.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Home Counties, UK
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by ews2k View Post
    Vinnielo, thank you for the advice. I already have RadioFeeds UK & Ireland app, but if I attempt searching anu UK station (by location, anyway), I get the following:

    "Error: No items found in playlist "

    Why would this be?

    I am using a SB Touch for the purpose.


    -Eric
    Can you confirm if you are navigating using your radio or if you're using something else like a mobile app or the Remote Control function in MySqueezeBox.com?
    RadioFeeds UK & Ireland.. an up-to-date radio directory for your Squeezebox/Transporter/UE Smart Radio.. available from the mysqueezebox.com App Gallery.
    Bonus: our RadioFeeds LMS plugin also lists AAC and the BBC's high-quality HLS streams on top of what's available in our MSB app.
    Now with over 1000 registered users, it's available for Logitech Media Server (and Squeezebox Server, SqueezeCenter and SlimServer).
    Click for more info: http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/squeeze

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by vinnielo View Post
    Can you confirm if you are navigating using your radio or if you're using something else like a mobile app or the Remote Control function in MySqueezeBox.com?
    Vince, thank you for your reply.

    I have various Touch units.

    When using my Touch #3 with LMS, I can access Radio Feeds UK & Ireland by all means, using the LMS installed on my PC.

    When using my Touch #1 unit which is connected to Mysqueezebox.com by means of the web-based Remote Controller, I can access RF UK & Ireland menu and open the list of choices (genre, location etc), but when selecting any of the available choices, I get the following message in the web-based controller: "Error: No items found in playlist "
    BUT:
    I can access RF UK & Ireland from Touch #1 itself, works like a charm, just not through the web-based RC.

    EDIT: I notice some menu choices presenting this error: "Error: 500 Can't connect to www.radiofeeds.co.uk:80 timeout" but only sometimes, most times I get the "Error: No items found in playlist " when selecting a location.


    -Eric
    Last edited by ews2k; 2020-11-16 at 12:18.

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Home Counties, UK
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by ews2k View Post
    Vince, thank you for your reply.

    I have various Touch units.

    When using my Touch #3 with LMS, I can access Radio Feeds UK & Ireland by all means, using the LMS installed on my PC.

    When using my Touch #1 unit which is connected to Mysqueezebox.com by means of the web-based Remote Controller, I can access RF UK & Ireland menu and open the list of choices (genre, location etc), but when selecting any of the available choices, I get the following message in the web-based controller: "Error: No items found in playlist "
    BUT:
    I can access RF UK & Ireland from Touch #1 itself, works like a charm, just not through the web-based RC.

    EDIT: I notice some menu choices presenting this error: "Error: 500 Can't connect to www.radiofeeds.co.uk:80 timeout" but only sometimes, most times I get the "Error: No items found in playlist " when selecting a location.


    -Eric
    Yes, I've had another report of this and can replicate it myself on the web RC.
    Thanks for confirming. I've requested for technical support.
    RadioFeeds UK & Ireland.. an up-to-date radio directory for your Squeezebox/Transporter/UE Smart Radio.. available from the mysqueezebox.com App Gallery.
    Bonus: our RadioFeeds LMS plugin also lists AAC and the BBC's high-quality HLS streams on top of what's available in our MSB app.
    Now with over 1000 registered users, it's available for Logitech Media Server (and Squeezebox Server, SqueezeCenter and SlimServer).
    Click for more info: http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/squeeze

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,090
    Quote Originally Posted by vinnielo View Post
    Yes, I've had another report of this and can replicate it myself on the web RC.
    Thanks for confirming. I've requested for technical support.
    What request do you see at your server and what does your server return ?

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Home Counties, UK
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    What request do you see at your server and what does your server return ?
    I've figured the problem.
    Unfortunately, it's the "ľ" (en dash) character that's causing the problem.

    I use it because I do make use of the regular hyphen in the naming of stations and locations.
    When the regular hyphen is displayed by the Squeezebox, it sometimes interprets it as ARTIST - SONGNAME and splits the display into two.
    For example, Smooth Radio [DAB - National] would be shown as:
    Smooth Radio [DAB
    National]
    .. which looks silly.

    So I tried to overcome it by substituting it with en dash. It seemed to work in all cases except the Remote Control feature on MySqueezeBox.com, which I've only just discovered.

    In the meantime, I've substituted instances of " - " with ": ". Not ideal, but it'll work for now.
    So I was wondering if it might be possible to allow MSB to parse feeds containing the en dash character in the future?
    RadioFeeds UK & Ireland.. an up-to-date radio directory for your Squeezebox/Transporter/UE Smart Radio.. available from the mysqueezebox.com App Gallery.
    Bonus: our RadioFeeds LMS plugin also lists AAC and the BBC's high-quality HLS streams on top of what's available in our MSB app.
    Now with over 1000 registered users, it's available for Logitech Media Server (and Squeezebox Server, SqueezeCenter and SlimServer).
    Click for more info: http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/squeeze

  10. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    49
    It is working fine now, thank you!

    -Eric

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •