Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 168
  1. #1
    Senior Member mr-b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    531

    piCorePlayer 6.1.0 issues

    Hi

    (Search doesn't show a main thread for PCP 6.1.0 so hope this is OK.)

    I've just got a RPi4 on a LAN and loaded PCP 6.1.0 as it was the latest on the PCP download page, however I've found some issues:

    1) the date is set to epoch aka 1970 (according to LMS) - doesn't it sync via NTP? I can't see anything in the Diagnostics page about time sync or NTP.

    2) LMS 8.0.0 is installed via the PCP LMS page - is this in beta still?

    The first library scan only got a third of tracks, second time round it gets them all but then shortly afterwards it keeps on repeating various steps again e.g. building full text index.

    Is 6.1.0 beta and should I just go to 6.0.0?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,932
    NTP not setting the time is usually an indication of a network issue, no internet access or a slow network device.

    Is that normal on your network?

  3. #3
    Senior Member mr-b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    531
    I don't think so - everything else inc my other PCP seems to be running fine, inc time-wise.
    The ntpdate cmd doesn't work on either box though.


    tc@PCP-LMS:~$ date
    Sun Jun 21 22:10:19 BST 2020

    vs

    tc@piCorePlayer:~$ date
    Fri Jan 2 06:49:50 GMT 1970

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,126
    Have you set the timezone under the Tweaks menu?

    UK is:

    GMT0BST,M3.5.0/1,M10.5.0

    (I think)
    Last edited by castalla; 2020-06-21 at 14:49.
    LMS server: O2 Joggler with Jivelite, Pi Zero W with PcP 6.0

    Amp: Denon PMA-50

    Players/Speakers: Touch, Logitech Radios, Sonos Play 1s & Beam, Libratone Zipp, GGMM E2 & E3, Yamaha WXAD-010, Loewe Airspeaker, Google Chromecast Audio, Home Mini & Nest Hub, Amazon Echo 2,3 and Show5, Pioneer WX-SMA1, Roberts S1, O2 Joggler, Cisco Joggler, Fiio M6, Avantree Priva BT transmitter



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  5. #5
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,932
    Quote Originally Posted by mr-b View Post
    I don't think so - everything else inc my other PCP seems to be running fine, inc time-wise.
    The ntpdate cmd doesn't work on either box though.


    tc@PCP-LMS:~$ date
    Sun Jun 21 22:10:19 BST 2020

    vs

    tc@piCorePlayer:~$ date
    Fri Jan 2 06:49:50 GMT 1970
    ntpd is only run at boot. So, if there is no access to the ntp server during the boot process the date/time will not be set. We also do not have the ntpd daemon running so no continuous time sync happening.

    piCore is a minimal system, so no ntpdate.

    I assume you have tried rebooting. Does it always fail?
    Last edited by Greg Erskine; 2020-06-21 at 15:46.

  6. #6
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3,412
    Lms 8 is the default install, and will be for new 6.0.0 installs too. We always run a recent nightly version, thatĺs where all the fun stuff happens.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  7. #7
    Senior Member mr-b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    531
    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    Lms 8 is the default install, and will be for new 6.0.0 installs too. We always run a recent nightly version, that’s where all the fun stuff happens.
    I guess that depends on your idea of fun! ;-)
    I'd prefer a stable release version to be loaded by default with the option of going off-road to a beta or nightly if I have time to fiddle about.

    The timezone I'd left since I'm a believer in not fiddling with things I don't understand, and the timezone value appeared to be plausible but I certainly didn't understand it!
    It's the same on my other PCP anyway.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    3,626
    I had this happen to me last week sometime, here is how I resolved it.

    I have just done it again so it does work

    pCP v6.1.0 on rpi 4b

    Name:  No timezone.png
Views: 1254
Size:  27.0 KB

    Boot log
    Code:
    Starting piCorePlayer v6.1.0 startup...
    Checking for boot files on mmcblk0p1...
      Trying to mount /dev/mmcblk0p1.
      ssh file found on mmcblk0p1.
      newpcp.cfg not found on mmcblk0p1.
    Setting default piCorePlayer repository...
    Generating sound card drop-down list...
    Loading configuration file... Done.
    Loading pcp-lms-functions... Done.
    Waiting for soundcard ALSA to populate. Done (1).
    Waiting for network................................................... No network found! Done (52).
    Setting built-in audio to analog jack... Done.
    Starting Openssh server... Done.
    Starting Squeezelite and/or Shairport-sync...
    [ INFO ] Starting Squeezelite player: Squeezelite...
     Done.
    Auto set timezone settings, can be updated on tweaks page...
    There was a problem reaching sites for automatic timezone, please set manually on tweaks page.
    Starting httpd web server... Done.
    Setting CPU scaling governor to ondemand... Done.
    Creating static footer... Done.
    
    Finished piCorePlayer v6.1.0 startup.
    
    To setup piCorePlayer, use the web interface via a browser:
    
    Press [Enter] to access console.
    
    In the background, ntpd is syncing time between piCorePlayer and the internet.
    A large offset between 1970 and now is normal.
    Copied timezone from here

    https://oldwiki.archive.openwrt.org/...tem#time.zones

    pasted it into Wordpad then recopied and pasted into pCP Tweaks

    Code:
    GMT0BST,M3.5.0/1,M10.5.0
    got this error message

    Name:  Error message.png
Views: 1261
Size:  47.3 KB

    went back to my WordPad and adjusted the timezone

    Code:
    'GMT0BST,M3.5.0/1,M10.5.0'
    copied and pasted and got the same error message

    deleted the two apostrophes (first the one on the right hand side, the hit Home (line start) then the one on the left)

    and sorted.

    Name:  sorted.png
Views: 1254
Size:  57.8 KB

    boot log

    Code:
    Starting piCorePlayer v6.1.0 startup...
    Checking for boot files on mmcblk0p1...
      Trying to mount /dev/mmcblk0p1.
      ssh file found on mmcblk0p1.
      newpcp.cfg not found on mmcblk0p1.
    Setting default piCorePlayer repository...
    Generating sound card drop-down list...
    Loading configuration file... Done.
    Loading pcp-lms-functions... Done.
    Waiting for soundcard ALSA to populate. Done (1).
    Waiting for network................................................... No network found! Done (52).
    Setting built-in audio to analog jack... Done.
    Starting Openssh server... Done.
    Starting Squeezelite and/or Shairport-sync...
    [ INFO ] Starting Squeezelite player: Squeezelite...
     Done.
    Starting httpd web server... Done.
    Setting CPU scaling governor to ondemand... Done.
    Creating static footer... Done.
    
    Finished piCorePlayer v6.1.0 startup.
    
    To setup piCorePlayer, use the web interface via a browser:
    
    Press [Enter] to access console.
    
    In the background, ntpd is syncing time between piCorePlayer and the internet.
    A large offset between 1970 and now is normal.
    Still no IP address published though

    ronnie
    Last edited by Man in a van; 2020-06-22 at 01:59.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    3,626
    Quote Originally Posted by mr-b View Post
    I guess that depends on your idea of fun! ;-)
    I'd prefer a stable release version to be loaded by default with the option of going off-road to a beta or nightly if I have time to fiddle about.

    If you follow these instructions, you just change the version number to the one you want.

    https://www.picoreplayer.org/how_to_upgrade_lms.shtml

    I suggest you make a back-up of your card first (always a good idea


    ronnie

  10. #10
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,932
    Ronnie, you have a network issue. Note "No network found! Done (52)." Bad network cable?

    During the boot process if there is access to the internet and the timezone is blank it will be automatically filled.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •