Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    2

    RP4 & Hifiberry Digi+ not working with piCorePlayer

    Hi folks!

    I just got the RP4 & Digi+ Pro as my foray into computer based music players.

    However, I can't get piCorePlayer to work with the Digi+ Pro. Anyone know what may be the issue here? The RP4 is working fine as the analog out (3.5mm headphone output) plays music, supplied via squeezelite-x on my laptop. When I go to assign the Digi+ pro as the new output device, accessing the Pi via a browser, it gives an error:

    "xxx.xxx.x.xx refused to connect

    ..ERR_Connection_Refused"

    This seems odd, as I access the Pi via a browser, I can re-set the outputs to the analog output, and the 3.5mm headphone output works fine again.

    I'm using the latest 6.1.0 version of the piCorePlayer

    I got volumio to work so, I've ruled out a hardware/assembly issue. (sounds great, btw!!!) I contacted Hifiberry but they didn't have any suggestions.


    Thank you!

    artn5000

  2. #2
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,285
    Quote Originally Posted by artn5000 View Post
    Hi folks!

    I just got the RP4 & Digi+ Pro as my foray into computer based music players.

    However, I can't get piCorePlayer to work with the Digi+ Pro. Anyone know what may be the issue here? The RP4 is working fine as the analog out (3.5mm headphone output) plays music, supplied via squeezelite-x on my laptop. When I go to assign the Digi+ pro as the new output device, accessing the Pi via a browser, it gives an error:

    "xxx.xxx.x.xx refused to connect

    ..ERR_Connection_Refused"

    This seems odd, as I access the Pi via a browser, I can re-set the outputs to the analog output, and the 3.5mm headphone output works fine again.

    I'm using the latest 6.1.0 version of the piCorePlayer

    I got volumio to work so, I've ruled out a hardware/assembly issue. (sounds great, btw!!!) I contacted Hifiberry but they didn't have any suggestions.


    Thank you!

    artn5000
    When you try to use the Digi card, what are your Squeezelite settings, mine below.

    Name:  digi.jpg
Views: 331
Size:  71.8 KB
    Server - LMS 8.2.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP v7.0.1 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi3B/pCP 7.0.1/pi screen/Hifiberry DAC HAT Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 6.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Garage - Squeezebox Boom + Fostex sub
    Dining Room - Pi3B/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstypike View Post
    When you try to use the Digi card, what are your Squeezelite settings, mine below.

    Name:  digi.jpg
Views: 331
Size:  71.8 KB
    Hi kidstypike:

    Thank you for the reply!

    I tried saving the "audio output settings" at the top first, as indicated. However, when I try changing it to Digi+ Pro and save it, that's where it hangs up and gives me the error message.

    artn5000

  4. #4
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,285
    Quote Originally Posted by artn5000 View Post
    Hi kidstypike:

    Thank you for the reply!

    I tried saving the "audio output settings" at the top first, as indicated. However, when I try changing it to Digi+ Pro and save it, that's where it hangs up and gives me the error message.

    artn5000
    You might get better advice from the pCP devs here - https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...rePlayer-6-0-0
    Server - LMS 8.2.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP v7.0.1 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi3B/pCP 7.0.1/pi screen/Hifiberry DAC HAT Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 6.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Garage - Squeezebox Boom + Fostex sub
    Dining Room - Pi3B/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    1
    I've bought a Rpi 4B and a HifiBerry Digi+ Pro HAT card and I'm having a weird behaviour here.

    When I first apply power to the Rpi, the boot procedure will try to populate the HifiBerry HAT and fail. If I then reboot the Pi (via menu), the boot procedure will then populate the HifiBerry HAT successfully.

    I'm using the official RaspBerry 4A power adapter connected to the Pi board. Audio output device is configured as HifiBerry Digi+ Pro. Output setting is "hw:CARD=sndrpihifiberry", which is correct.

    Does anybody have any clues about this weird behaviour?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,103
    @JonL

    No clues but the next time it happens, check the logs, it may help someone who knows what to look for

    Main Page > Diagnostics > Logs > boot


    Code:
    Starting piCorePlayer v6.1.0 startup...
    Checking for boot files on mmcblk0p1...
      Trying to mount /dev/mmcblk0p1.
      ssh file found on mmcblk0p1.
      newpcp.cfg not found on mmcblk0p1.
    Setting default piCorePlayer repository...
    Generating sound card drop-down list...
    Loading configuration file... Done.
    Loading pcp-lms-functions... Done.
    Waiting for soundcard sndrpihifiberry to populate. Done (1).
    Waiting for network................................................... No network found! Done (52).
    Starting Openssh server... Done.
    Starting Squeezelite and/or Shairport-sync...
    [ INFO ] Starting Squeezelite player: Squeezelite...
     Done.
    Starting httpd web server... Done.
    Setting CPU scaling governor to ondemand... Done.
    Creating static footer... Done.
    
    Finished piCorePlayer v6.1.0 startup.
    
    To setup piCorePlayer, use the web interface via a browser:
    
    Press [Enter] to access console.
    
    In the background, ntpd is syncing time between piCorePlayer and the internet.
    A large offset between 1970 and now is normal.
    ronnie

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •