Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,962
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    No . Offhand I don't know how to add command line option to a service, I think they are called startup parameters and the parameter will be "-d_startup"
    Just checked. Assuming your system is "usual"

    There is a file /etc/default/logitechmediaserver

    It will have a content something like
    Code:
    SLIMUSER=squeezeboxserver
    
    SLIMOPTIONS=""
    Edit the file and change SLIMOPTIONS to
    Code:
    SLIMOPTIONS="-d_startup"
    Make sure the file has same ownership and permissions before and after edit.

    Stop and start the logitechmediaserver.service to make changes take effect. Look in log file for output/.

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by atrocity View Post
    In my experience, TrackStat will bring the server to its knees after a scan, at least on my 100,000 track library. I've just gotten used to it and only scan when I don't need to access that server for a while.

    Though I only see the problem for maybe 2 hours, not 9.
    I've never experienced this?
    I have 90403 tracks.

    Before (on 7.9.1) when I added a new album and then did a scan, it took 10-15 minutes.
    During that time the system was sluggish but not unresponsive. I could play music and use the webbrowser.

    Now it's completely unresponsive. I cannot use it at all and the browser just says Unable to connect.
    It stays this way for 9-10 hours every time i reboot my box or do a scan.

    BTW I run my system on a dedicated headless box with a barebones Debian Stretch and ONLY run LMS on it. Nothing else is installed (not even a GUI).

  3. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    87
    Thank you very much bpa.

    I just did this. But it gave me nothing unusual in the server.log:

    Code:
    2020-06-14 08:23:21 squeezeboxserver_safe started.
    [20-06-14 08:23:27.5943] main::init (387) Starting Logitech Media Server (v7.9.3, 1591161343, Thu Jun  4 04:16:22 CEST 2020) perl 5.024001 - i686-linux-gnu-thread-multi-64int
    And its "dead" again. :-)

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    87
    Just discovered this setting:

    Name:  Billede 2.jpg
Views: 126
Size:  70.9 KB

    This was set to High, and I changed it to Max.

    I then rebooted.
    Now it "only" takes 2h18m for the system to become responsive....

    I'm guessing that it's Trackstat that has become a problem.
    I will now clear the Trackstat DB and then try a reboot without any Trackstat data.

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    87
    Ok. I deleted Trackstat DB.
    Rebooted, and LMS was immediately responsive and available!

    I then started a scan.

    Code:
    [20-06-14 12:41:25.3016] Slim::Music::Import::runImporter (511) Starting Slim::Media::MediaFolderScan scan
    .....
    [20-06-14 12:45:32.0806] Slim::Music::Import::endImporter (644) Completed dbOptimize Scan in 38 seconds.
    It only took 4 minutes! Great.

    BUT what happens then....?
    Code:
    [20-06-14 12:45:32.3063] Plugins::TrackStat::Storage::refreshTracks (1242) TrackStat: Synchronizing TrackStat data, please wait...
    Trackstat starts refreshing and now the system hangs again!!
    My guess, it will hang for around 2 hours.

    My conclusion:
    Trackstat has become useless after 7.9.1.

    That is, for me, very bad news.
    Trackstat is one of the main points I'm still using LMS.

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    544
    Quote Originally Posted by GoodVibrations View Post

    Trackstat starts refreshing and now the system hangs again!!
    My guess, it will hang for around 2 hours.

    My conclusion:
    Trackstat has become useless after 7.9.1.
    Someone else reported problems with Trackstat after upgrading to 7.9.2. Perhaps they have solved it.

    Perl 5.28, general dpkg update woes, and a new problem with Trackstat?
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...rackstat+7.9.2

  7. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by mrw View Post
    Someone else reported problems with Trackstat after upgrading to 7.9.2. Perhaps they have solved it.

    Perl 5.28, general dpkg update woes, and a new problem with Trackstat?
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...rackstat+7.9.2
    Thank you mrw.
    Yes it looks very much like my problem.
    I can't find any solution mentioned anywhere by the original poster, drmatt.
    But I found some more mentions of sluggish Trackstat after upgrades.
    And I also found this post:
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...ws-10-PC/page3

    I don't think Erland maintains his plugins anymore?

    But after more than a week with a useless system, I have downgraded to 7.9.1 again.
    I'm now in the process of restoring my Trackstat data.
    And then I suspect I'll be back with a working system again.

    This whole mess has been a disheartening experience.
    As I see it, going beyond 7.9.1 breaks Trackstat.
    Or Trackstat wasn't playing nice with LMS to begin with.
    I don't know which is the unruly kid and I don't really care. :-)
    I almost always play my music using Dynamic Playlists based on Trackstat data.
    And if I can't use Trackstat if I upgrade, then I won't be upgrading.
    But that leaves me on an aging system and I don't want that either. :-)

    A working system (7.9.1) allows me to play my music, which is what it's all about after all. :-)
    And it will give me more time to think about where I'll go as my LMS steadily ages.

    BTW, can I move this thread to 3-party plugins somehow? It's not really a Linux issue.

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by GoodVibrations View Post
    Just discovered this setting:

    Name:  Billede 2.jpg
Views: 126
Size:  70.9 KB

    This was set to High, and I changed it to Max.

    I then rebooted.
    Now it "only" takes 2h18m for the system to become responsive....

    I'm guessing that it's Trackstat that has become a problem.
    I will now clear the Trackstat DB and then try a reboot without any Trackstat data.
    That's pretty consistent with my experience and (based on a prior post of yours) library size. I'm running on a Raspberry Pi (3?). I put up with it because that's my "overnight" box I use strictly to serve up Never Played Albums while I sleep. So if I do a scan early in the day, the fact that it's not usable for several hours doesn't hurt me.

    I understand your frustration and share it to some extent. I believe Erland has said elsewhere that he's looking into making his plugins work with LMS 8.0, so he hasn't abandoned them, he's just busy.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    544
    Quote Originally Posted by GoodVibrations View Post
    I can't find any solution mentioned anywhere by the original poster, drmatt.
    No harm in asking on that thread. You never know, he may have found a solution later.

    Quote Originally Posted by GoodVibrations View Post
    This whole mess has been a disheartening experience.
    I sympathize. Time spent with no good result. I guess breakage/loss of third party plugins is always going to be a risk.

    Quote Originally Posted by GoodVibrations View Post
    As I see it, going beyond 7.9.1 breaks Trackstat.
    Or Trackstat wasn't playing nice with LMS to begin with.
    I don't know which is the unruly kid and I don't really care. :-)
    One change I noted between 7.9.1 and 7.9.2: SQLite was upgraded (to v1.58).
    That may be influencing matters, but I have no idea how, or even if it is. I've never used or looked at Trackstat.

  10. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by mrw View Post
    No harm in asking on that thread. You never know, he may have found a solution later.
    I sympathize. Time spent with no good result. I guess breakage/loss of third party plugins is always going to be a risk.
    I just asked on the other thread. :-)

    I know Erlands plugins are 3-party, but for for me they are an essential part of LMS.
    I use Trackstat, Dyn. Playlists and Custom Skip all the time.
    Without them I might as well be on something else.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •