Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Junior Member oldcelt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    18

    Can't get Classic FM to play

    Classic FM shows up in the list of radio stations but, when selected, it says "Connection reset by remote host". However, the indicator saying it's tuned into Classic FM 100.4 runs across the top of the screen but there's no sound!

    Can anyone help please?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,622
    Basic questions first ...
    LMS version running on what?
    Player is what (on what if not a real Squeezebox)?
    How did you choose the station to play (e.g. old Favourite, direct URL - which one, search via the radio search function)?
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  3. #3
    Senior Member Heuer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    564
    Works for me in the UK from LMS > Radio > Search > Classic FM. Yo-Yo Ma playing 'Seven Years in Tibet' at the moment. Anyway back to Scala Radio!
    Last edited by Heuer; 2020-05-28 at 07:17.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,857
    OP could be trying to play a https stream on a mysqueezbeox.com connected player.

    Use this as a Favorite and report back
    http://media-ice.musicradio.com/ClassicFMMP3

  5. #5
    Junior Member oldcelt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Basic questions first ...
    LMS version running on what?
    Player is what (on what if not a real Squeezebox)?
    How did you choose the station to play (e.g. old Favourite, direct URL - which one, search via the radio search function)?
    My apologies for the delay in replying. I haven't been getting any notifications of postings in this thread: probably my fault as I'm new to this forum and haven't set up properly.

    LMS 7.7.6
    The label on its bottom says the device is a Logitech Squeezebox Radio P/N 830-000080
    I chose the station by Home->Search->Tunein Radio->Music->Classical Music->Classic FM
    All other stations I've chosen by this method work fine.

    The radio has been used and was given to me by an old friend about a week ago. I have downloaded the manual but can't find any relevant help there.

    Thanks for taking an interest.

    PS: Looking through the options in LMS, I find that under the Player tab it says 'Your player was not found.' It goes on to say 'Make sure that your player is plugged in and its networking settings are correct. Click the Refresh button once your player is connected.' I can't see a refresh button anywhere!
    Last edited by oldcelt; 2020-05-29 at 01:41. Reason: Additional information

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    3,421
    Just tried on my Radio which is on mysqueezebox.com

    As @bpa notes, following @oldcelt 's procedure I get

    connection reset by remote host htpps:
    I put the url @bpa recommended into favourites and that plays

    ronnie

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,857
    Quote Originally Posted by oldcelt View Post
    LMS 7.7.6
    Very Old with v. limited https support. Many station are moving to https and older SB player need LMS to handle https for it.

    7.7.6 is the last Logitech version - there are later community supported version such as 7.9.2. see http://downloads.slimdevices.com/Log...Server_v7.9.2/

    I chose the station by Home->Search->Tunein Radio->Music->Classical Music->Classic FM
    All other stations I've chosen by this method work fine.
    Unfortunately Tune-in is not always correct/up to date or doesn't give all the options.

    Use this URL as a Favorite http://media-ice.musicradio.com/ClassicFMMP3

    PS: Looking through the options in LMS, I find that under the Player tab it says 'Your player was not found.' It goes on to say 'Make sure that your player is plugged in and its networking settings are correct. Click the Refresh button once your player is connected.' I can't see a refresh button anywhere!
    Refresh is Browser page refresh - icon depends on your browser often a circular arrow near URL at top of page.

  8. #8
    Junior Member oldcelt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    OP could be trying to play a https stream on a mysqueezbeox.com connected player.

    Use this as a Favorite and report back
    http://media-ice.musicradio.com/ClassicFMMP3
    My apologies for the delay in replying. I haven't been getting any notifications of postings in this thread: probably my fault as I'm new to this forum and haven't set up properly.

    Followed your advice and Classic is now playing perfectly. Can't thank you enough.

    How do you find the exact URL for a programme?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,857
    Quote Originally Posted by oldcelt View Post
    How do you find the exact URL for a programme?
    There is no one way.
    Sometimes they are listed on a station web site.
    With problem URLs first try some other "directories". For UK the Radiofeeds UK plugin and more international radio.net
    If not found, next try playing in a browser player and use Browser developer console to see which URL is playing.
    After that, there are more technical strategies.

  10. #10
    Junior Member oldcelt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    Very Old with v. limited https support. Many station are moving to https and older SB player need LMS to handle https for it.

    7.7.6 is the last Logitech version - there are later community supported version such as 7.9.2. see http://downloads.slimdevices.com/Log...Server_v7.9.2/

    Refresh is Browser page refresh - icon depends on your browser often a circular arrow near URL at top of page.
    Updated to 7.9.2 - thanks for the link. However, it still says 'Your player was not found. etc.' Refreshing the page makes no difference.

    I'm not quite clear how LMS and mysqueezebox.com are supposed to work together - or are they?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •