Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 299

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,460

    Attention TIDAL users - changes ahead!

    Dear TIDAL users

    Over the past months/years we've repeatedly seen issues where requests to TIDAL's servers were blocked due to rate limiting. You would have experienced non-functional menus, or tracks not playing etc.

    I finally got in touch with someone in TIDAL who showed an interest to help us out. But their response was clear: we'll have to change the way you authorise SB to access your account. As of today you need to give us your full credentials (TIDAL username & password) - which indeed is far less than desirable. TIDAL asked me to implement their new authentication system instead (oauth2 for those interested). I fully support this request, as it's preferable not to have to deal with credentials whenever possible. The new system should be much more secure.

    But there's a caveat to this: once we enable the new authentication system, the old credentials will no longer work on SB. Which means that the day we flip the switch you will no longer be able to access your TIDAL content, until you've visited mysqueezebox.com to go through the necessary authentication steps once again.

    So please be prepared for that day, and spread the word among your TIDAL/Squeezebox friends. Thanks!

    I'll update this posting or thread when I know more details, like release date etc.

    Michael
    Michael

    "It doesn't work - what shall I do?" - "Please check your server.log and/or scanner.log file!"
    (LMS: Settings/Information)

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,460
    Uh... just learned about some bad news: they're dropping support for mp3. Which means that TIDAL will no longer play the (cheaper) lossy streams on SB3/Receiver/Transporter :-(.
    Michael

    "It doesn't work - what shall I do?" - "Please check your server.log and/or scanner.log file!"
    (LMS: Settings/Information)

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    25
    Thanks for all the hard work to support LMS8/Tidal Michael.

    By credentials, do you mean registering a new user name and password on mysqueezebox?

    Craig

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,460

    Attention TIDAL users - changesahead!

    > By credentials, do you mean registering a new user name and password on
    > mysqueezebox?


    No, you'll continue to use your old credentials. You'll have to
    authenticate using your credentials as usual, but all we get is a so
    called token, which will allow us to interact with TIDAL in your name.
    But we'll no longer keep your username/password for TIDAL on mysb.com.

    --

    Michael

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    658
    How is that with SB2, sb3, boom and transporter? Will they work?
    SqueezeBoxes: 1x Transporter (Living room) 1x SB2 (shed), 1x Radio (Kitchen), 1x Boom (Dining room), 1x piCorePlayer (jacuzzi), 1x piCorePlayer (Garden) 1x OSMC + Squeezelite (Movie room), 1x Touch (Study 2), few spare unit's
    Server: LMS on Pi3 7.9.1. on PcP 3.21
    Network: AVM Fritzbox, Netgear Smart Switch 24p, 3x Ubiquity

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United States, Florida
    Posts
    11,939
    Quote Originally Posted by edwin2006 View Post
    How is that with SB2, sb3, boom and transporter? Will they work?
    I assume that sb3, boom, and transporter (sb2 as well?) will still play the CD quality lossless streams from Tidal....Correct?
    Home: VBA2.5 4TB or rPi4B/pCP6.1/4TB>LMS 7.9.3>Transporter, Touch, Boom, Radio (all ethernet)
    Cottage: rPi4B/pCP6.1/4TB>LMS 7.9.3>Touch>Benchmark DAC I, Boom, Radio w/Battery (ethernet except Radio WIFI)
    Office: Win10(64)>foobar2000
    The Wild: rPi3B+/pCP4.0, hifiberry Dac+Pro, 4TB USB (LMS & Squeezelite)
    Controllers: iPhone11 & iPadAir3 (iPeng), CONTROLLER, or SqueezePlay 7.8 on Win10(64)
    Files: Ripping: dbpoweramp > FLAC; Post-rip: mp3tag, PerfectTunes; Streaming: Spotify

  7. #7
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,460

    Attention TIDAL users - changesahead!

    > How is that with SB2, sb3, boom and transporter? Will they work?

    They will continue to play lossless (flac). The issue is the switch for lossy streams from mp3 to AAC. Unless you have the more expensive offer using lossless streaming, these devices will no longer stream TIDAL.

    I'm currently looking into ways around this. But I'm not sure I'll have something ready by the time we switch to their new system.

    --

    Michael
    Last edited by mherger; 2020-05-30 at 20:42.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    494
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    they're dropping support for mp3. Which means that TIDAL will no longer play the (cheaper) lossy streams on SB3/Receiver/Transporter :-(.
    confirmed. moving to all lossless. FLAC for sure, assuming they're keeping MQA too. Dolby Atmos as well.
    --
    4 TB Drobo-->FW 800-->mac mini-->Ethernet
    Transporter--> Wireworld Eclipse 6 coax-->Meridian G61
    G61--> Nordost Red Dawn-->Primare 30.3
    Primare-->Ocos--Vienna Acoustics Beethoven/Maestro

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    143
    Assume no hope of them abandoning MQA and just streaming 24/96? The MQA hardware requirement is a pain, and really shouldn't be tolerated.

  10. #10
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,460
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    Uh... just learned about some bad news: they're dropping support for mp3. Which means that TIDAL will no longer play the (cheaper) lossy streams on SB3/Receiver/Transporter :-(.
    And here's some good news: thanks to important work philippe_44 has done in the streaming code LMS8 should now be able to transcode those AAC streams for consumption on aforementioned players!

    Thank you very much, Philippe!
    Michael

    "It doesn't work - what shall I do?" - "Please check your server.log and/or scanner.log file!"
    (LMS: Settings/Information)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •