Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

SqueezePlay for OpenFrame

Hey everyone,

Quite some time ago I put together a "SqueezePlay OS" for the O2 Joggler and other OpenFrame based devices. I signed up for an account on here, but somehow never really got around to using it!

Well, only a decade has passed and I've now revisited the OpenFrames, mainly because Ubuntu Trusty shouldn't really be trusted any longer. I built a new command-line OS for the OpenFrame based on Ubuntu Bionic and decided to get SqueezePlay working on it in a tidier way than I had in the past.

The SqueezePlay for OpenFrame tweaked code is up on GitHub should anybody else want to check it out. I've tried to split out the OpenFrame components in line with the house style. I am no Lua expert, so as you will see I have avoided it wherever possible. Compiled versions should show up here.

Anyone who has an OpenFrame 1 (O2 Joggler, Telefonica Orby) or OpenFrame 2 (Cisco Home Energy Controller, Telio Touch) should be able to write the image to a USB stick, run a couple of commands over SSH and be up and running in short order. For OpenFrame specific issues there's a SqueezePlay for OpenFrame thread on the Joggler forums.

Seeing as you can still find these devices on eBay every day from between £15 - £50 they're an affordable, nicely integrated alternative to Raspberry Pi touchscreens. With the minor downside of having been out of production for years!

Thanks everyone, especially to Ralph Irving, whose code was the basis for this update. I've no doubt done something horrible to it, so apologies in advance!

Great to see you here.
    I'm going to spin one up and see what happens.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

Well that was painless ... up and running (with in built speaker).
    Well done.