Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32
  1. #11
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,526

    Squeezebox Touch in Endless "VerifyEthernet Connection" Loop After Factory Reset

    >> Not directly IP related. But anything interesting in /var/log/messages,
    >> in particular towards the end of the file?
    >>
    >> Yes there is maybe something wrong there, after loading the plugins and
    >> starting the network polling (see extract at the end).


    I have no idea how you copied that log snippet, but could you please get us a full copy of /var/log/messages?

    I _believe_ you can enable SSH using the following steps:

    - "vi /etc/inetd.conf": there should be a line for ssh at the bottom of the file. Remove the # in front of it
    - run "/bin/ps x -o pid,command | grep inetd | grep -v grep" to get the pid of inetd
    - run "kill -HUP [PID]" (put the pid there)
    - try to ssh in to it

    --

    Michael
    Last edited by mherger; 2020-05-25 at 08:49.

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    13
    Hello Michael

    Many thanks for your instructions. Formerly, I just transferred the messages logfile with the SD-card (did a clean shutdown before removal). Now I could set up the SSH connection with your instructions below (BTW. you have to add the parameters "-o KexAlgorithms=+diffie-hellman-group1-sha1 -c aes256-cbc" in either the ssh- or scp- command lines on Linux) and it gets more comfortable...

    You will find the messages logfile in attachment.

    Kind regards,
    Pierre


    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >> Not directly IP related. But anything interesting in /var/log/messages,
    >> in particular towards the end of the file?
    >>
    >> Yes there is maybe something wrong there, after loading the plugins and
    >> starting the network polling (see extract at the end).


    I have no idea how you copied that log snippet, but could you please get us a full copy of /var/log/messages?

    I _believe_ you can enable SSH using the following steps:

    - "vi /etc/inetd.conf": there should be a line for ssh at the bottom of the file. Remove the # in front of it
    - run "/bin/ps x -o pid,command | grep inetd | grep -v grep" to get the pid of inetd
    - run "kill -HUP [PID]" (put the pid there)
    - try to ssh in to it

    --

    Michael
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    13
    Hello Mike

    One more comment: following addresses do get resolved without any problem:

    # nslookup fab4.squeezenetwork.com
    Server: 192.168.1.1
    Address 1: 192.168.1.1 internetbox.home

    Name: fab4.squeezenetwork.com
    Address 1: 52.51.150.149 ec2-52-51-150-149.eu-west-1.compute.amazonaws.com
    Address 2: 52.31.254.173 ec2-52-31-254-173.eu-west-1.compute.amazonaws.com
    Address 3: 34.247.45.207 ec2-34-247-45-207.eu-west-1.compute.amazonaws.com
    Address 4: 63.34.162.152 ec2-63-34-162-152.eu-west-1.compute.amazonaws.com
    Address 5: 34.244.198.169 ec2-34-244-198-169.eu-west-1.compute.amazonaws.com
    Address 6: 34.244.111.131 ec2-34-244-111-131.eu-west-1.compute.amazonaws.com

    as well as for getting a FW-image on the SD-Card, the transfer goes quite fast (until 99% where it gets stalled sometime before finishing):

    # df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
    /dev/root 17.1M 156.0K 16.1M 1% /
    ubi0:ubifs 17.1M 156.0K 16.1M 1% /mnt/storage
    none 17.1M 156.0K 16.1M 1% /
    none 61.4M 76.0K 61.4M 0% /dev
    /dev/mmcblk0p1 486.0M 98.6M 387.5M 20% /media/mmcblk0p1

    # pwd
    /media/mmcblk0p1

    # wget http://update.slimdevices.com/update...8.0_r16754.bin .
    Connecting to update.slimdevices.com (13.224.89.17:80)
    fab4_7.8.0_r16754.bin 100% |************************************************* ********************************************| 33476k 00:00:00 ETA

    Kind regards
    Pierre

    Quote Originally Posted by SqueezedUser View Post
    Hello Michael

    Many thanks for your instructions. Formerly, I just transferred the messages logfile with the SD-card (did a clean shutdown before removal). Now I could set up the SSH connection with your instructions below (BTW. you have to add the parameters "-o KexAlgorithms=+diffie-hellman-group1-sha1 -c aes256-cbc" in either the ssh- or scp- command lines on Linux) and it gets more comfortable...

    You will find the messages logfile in attachment.

    Kind regards,
    Pierre

  4. #14
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,526

    Squeezebox Touch in Endless "VerifyEthernet Connection" Loop After Factory Reset

    > Many thanks for your instructions. Formerly, I just transferred the
    > messages logfile with the SD-card (did a clean shutdown before removal).
    > Now I could set up the SSH connection with your instructions below (BTW.
    > you have to add the parameters "-o
    > KexAlgorithms=+diffie-hellman-group1-sha1 -c aes256-cbc" in either the
    > ssh- or scp- command lines on Linux) and it gets more comfortable...


    Ah, right. I've got that in my ~/.ssh/config file... always forget about it.

    > |Filename: messages-20200526-1910.txt


    I compared this to a fresh file from one of my own Touchs. The biggest
    difference indeed is what you posted before, some failure around
    "halfDuplexBugVerification" - whatever that is...

    But as this is related to Ethernet, could you please try to use wlan
    instead? And I'd recomment you remove the SD card and only insert it
    when you want to transfer something. It's firing up slimserver, which
    slows down things a lot, and introduces more noise to the log file.

    --

    Michael

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    13
    Hello Michael

    I have enclosed 2 versions of the /var/log/messages with the SD-Card removed,
    • the first: after power on and before choosing the language
    • the second: after having chosen the language and after some time it remains endlessly saying "Verify Ethernet Connection"


    You will also find the dmesg-output in the 3rd attachment.

    Regarding the Wlan-connection, the only way to try it out is via command-line (it is the only communication I have to this device; no Home-Screen just the ever-running hourglass...) but I didn't find any wlanX-device to "ifconfig up" and to "iwlist" and configure it thereafter... Surprisingly, I haven't seen anything except the ieee802.11 stack in the dmesg-output. Did I miss something? So for the moment, I'm stuck to the wire.

    P.S. I never used the Wlan with this SBT.


    Kind regards
    Pierre

    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Many thanks for your instructions. Formerly, I just transferred the
    > messages logfile with the SD-card (did a clean shutdown before removal).
    > Now I could set up the SSH connection with your instructions below (BTW.
    > you have to add the parameters "-o
    > KexAlgorithms=+diffie-hellman-group1-sha1 -c aes256-cbc" in either the
    > ssh- or scp- command lines on Linux) and it gets more comfortable...


    Ah, right. I've got that in my ~/.ssh/config file... always forget about it.

    > |Filename: messages-20200526-1910.txt


    I compared this to a fresh file from one of my own Touchs. The biggest
    difference indeed is what you posted before, some failure around
    "halfDuplexBugVerification" - whatever that is...

    But as this is related to Ethernet, could you please try to use wlan
    instead? And I'd recomment you remove the SD card and only insert it
    when you want to transfer something. It's firing up slimserver, which
    slows down things a lot, and introduces more noise to the log file.

    --

    Michael

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    3,641
    Some bits from the files

    dmesg (looks OK to me - but would need comparison with another ethernet connected Touch to see if more usually comes out)
    Code:
    eth0: config: auto-negotiation on, 100FDX, 100HDX, 10FDX, 10HDX.
    eth0: status: link down.
    eth0: status: link up, 100MBit Full Duplex, auto-negotiation complete.
    From pre-lang
    Code:
    Jan  1 01:01:27 kernel: eth0: status: link up, 100MBit Full Duplex, auto-negotiation complete.
    Link comes up - time not yet set from internet.

    8 seconds later - IP address assigned
    Code:
    Jan  1 01:01:35 udhcpc[723]: Lease of 192.168.1.112 obtained, lease time 86400
    Jan  1 01:01:35 root: udhcpc_action eth0 bound ip=192.168.1.112
    About 1 minute later ... very fast retries ... perhaps implying networking hard error (not a timeout) and still no time
    Code:
    Jan  1 01:02:39 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {mysqueezebox.com_Request}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    Jan  1 01:02:40 squeezeplay: WARN   net.thread - NetworkThread.lua:146 network thread timeout for Task(SocketHttp {fab4.squeezenetwork.com}(R))
    and then the HalfDuplex check ...
    Code:
    Jan  1 01:07:17 squeezeplay: ERROR  squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:75 task error halfDuplexBugVerification: ...ve/applets/SetupNetworking/SetupNetworkingApplet.lua:378: attempt to index local 'iface' (a nil value)
    Jan  1 01:07:17 squeezeplay: stack traceback:
    Jan  1 01:07:17 squeezeplay: 	/usr/share/jive/jive/ui/Task.lua:75: in function 'resume'
    Jan  1 01:07:17 squeezeplay: 	/usr/share/jive/jive/ui/Framework.lua:317: in function 'eventLoop'
    Jan  1 01:07:17 squeezeplay: 	/usr/share/jive/jive/JiveMain.lua:422: in function </usr/share/jive/jive/JiveMain.lua:264>
    Jan  1 01:07:17 squeezeplay: 	(tail call): ?
    Jan  1 01:07:17 squeezeplay: 	/usr/share/jive/jive/JiveMain.lua:638: in main chunk
    Jan  1 01:07:17 squeezeplay: 	[C 0x615b9]: ?
    Jan  1 01:07:17 squeezeplay: 	[C 0x29fec]: ?
    Suggestion - Perhaps there is a low level ethernetworking interoperability problem that you can avoid by plugging in somewhere else.
    if you have another networked ethernet hub/switch then try plugging it into that one instead ... e.g. a spare port on your ISP router.

    Once you get past the language selection part then ... maybe things will start working when you replug it back in the place where you want it (or you can enable wifi).
    Other thing to work out is what it does once the language is set ... and do that by hand. Presumably it is writing to a config file to say which language has been chosen.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  7. #17
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,526

    Squeezebox Touch in Endless "VerifyEthernet Connection" Loop After Factory Reset

    > Jan 1 01:07:17 squeezeplay: ERROR squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:75 task error halfDuplexBugVerification: ...ve/applets/SetupNetworking/SetupNetworkingApplet.lua:378: attempt to index local 'iface' (a nil value)

    This part sounds like a bug in Squeezeplay. Or at least unwanted
    behaviour due to some unexpteced data.

    > Suggestion - Perhaps there is a low level ethernetworking
    > interoperability problem that you can avoid by plugging in somewhere
    > else.
    > if you have another networked ethernet hub/switch then try plugging it
    > into that one instead ... e.g. a spare port on your ISP router.


    Good idea!

    > Once you get past the language selection part then ... maybe things will


    I think the device hanging is not due to the language selection, but
    above failure. I tried to figure out what triggers the setup route,
    rather than just going to the main menu. Haven't found it yet. But I'm
    pretty sure it should be feasible to set some flag in some config file
    to get there.

    > start working when you replug it back in the place where you want it (or
    > you can enable wifi).


    Wouldn't you be able to use Wifi if you did another factory reset?


    --

    Michael

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    13
    On this SBT, trying to start the connection on the command line (no home screen!) just gives:

    # ifconfig wlan0 up
    ifconfig: SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device

    On my other SBT, this command works perfectly well however...

    => Is there really no way to restore an older firmware via the ssh-connection? The problem appeared after a simple factory reset.


    Kind regards
    Pierre

    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Jan 1 01:07:17 squeezeplay: ERROR squeezeplay.task - Task.lua:75 task error halfDuplexBugVerification: ...ve/applets/SetupNetworking/SetupNetworkingApplet.lua:378: attempt to index local 'iface' (a nil value)

    This part sounds like a bug in Squeezeplay. Or at least unwanted
    behaviour due to some unexpteced data.

    > Suggestion - Perhaps there is a low level ethernetworking
    > interoperability problem that you can avoid by plugging in somewhere
    > else.
    > if you have another networked ethernet hub/switch then try plugging it
    > into that one instead ... e.g. a spare port on your ISP router.


    Good idea!

    Sorry, but I tried this also several times... Maybe take it to someone else's ISP?

    > Once you get past the language selection part then ... maybe things will


    I think the device hanging is not due to the language selection, but
    above failure. I tried to figure out what triggers the setup route,
    rather than just going to the main menu. Haven't found it yet. But I'm
    pretty sure it should be feasible to set some flag in some config file
    to get there.

    > start working when you replug it back in the place where you want it (or
    > you can enable wifi).


    Wouldn't you be able to use Wifi if you did another factory reset?

    This does not work unfortunately:
    # ifconfig wlan0 up
    ifconfig: SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
    On my other SBT, this command works perfectly well however...




    --

    Michael
    Last edited by SqueezedUser; 2020-05-26 at 07:42.

  9. #19
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,526

    Squeezebox Touch in Endless "VerifyEthernet Connection" Loop After Factory Reset

    > On this SBT, trying to start the connection on the command line (no home
    > screen!) just gives:


    Can't you do another factory reset with the ethernet cable unplugged,
    then try to configure it as WLAN?

    > => Is there really no way to restore an older firmware via the
    > ssh-connection? The problem appeared after a simple factory reset.


    The firmware you're using is what probably 90% of all Touch units out
    there use. I doubt downgrading will help. And no, I still don't know how
    to do it manually. Did you check wiki.slimdevices.com?

    --

    Michael

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    13
    Hello Michael,

    Following http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.ph...zeOSNetworking, I tried the following:
    1. Remove Ethernet cable
    2. Perform Factory Reset (via fab4 button)
    3. Upon Language Screen appearing, choose English => beep => nothing else happens (Language Screen remains)
    4. Connect USB-Keyboard; type CTL-ALT-F3
    5. Login as root, pwd 1234


    Then, typing command: "ifconfig wlan0 up" (which works fine on my other SBT) and which just gives:
    # ifconfig wlan0 up
    ifconfig: SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device

    OK, trying to set it in the Autostart script according to the wiki chapter " Autostart wireless"

    Autostart wireless
    1. Remove auto eth0 in /etc/network/interfaces : Done
    2. Add auto wlan0=<SSID> in /etc/network/interfaces ('ifup -a' in '/etc/init.d/rcS' will start it): Done
    3. Only remove disabled=1 from the one wireless setting to start in /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf: No wireless setting yet in that file


    Then, typing ifconfig => only interface lo is up...
    manually firing up ifconfig wlan0 up => error message above
    manually firing up eth0 => no error; etho appears after typing ifconfig

    Should I try to startup the wlan0 interface with "ifup" instead of "ifconfig ... up"? What is the full command-line syntax in this case?


    If I only could get the SBT home-screen back...

    Many thanks for your support

    Kind regards
    Pierre



    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > On this SBT, trying to start the connection on the command line (no home
    > screen!) just gives:


    Can't you do another factory reset with the ethernet cable unplugged,
    then try to configure it as WLAN?

    > => Is there really no way to restore an older firmware via the
    > ssh-connection? The problem appeared after a simple factory reset.


    The firmware you're using is what probably 90% of all Touch units out
    there use. I doubt downgrading will help. And no, I still don't know how
    to do it manually. Did you check wiki.slimdevices.com?

    --

    Michael

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •