Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 72
  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    336
    I made an attempt to cleanup my repo and update the lms packages to make sure they work on the latest 3.14 release of alpine. Currently lms* in the armhf and armel repos are incomplete/broken and I'm not sure when or if I'll fix them. The following three arch's should be ok to use:

    Code:
    ./armv7/lms-openrc-8-r0.apk
    ./armv7/lms-nocpan-8.2.0.1624871911-r0.apk
    ./armv7/lms-utils-8-r3.apk
    ./armv7/lms-modules-8-r2.apk
    ./armv7/lms-8-r0.apk
    ./aarch64/lms-openrc-8-r0.apk
    ./aarch64/lms-nocpan-8.2.0.1624871911-r0.apk
    ./aarch64/lms-utils-8-r3.apk
    ./aarch64/lms-modules-8-r2.apk
    ./aarch64/lms-8-r0.apk
    ./x86_64/lms-openrc-8-r0.apk
    ./x86_64/lms-nocpan-8.2.0.1624871911-r0.apk
    ./x86_64/lms-utils-8-r3.apk
    ./x86_64/lms-modules-8-r2.apk
    ./x86_64/lms-8-r0.apk
    For a new install just do (after adding my repo, see post #1):
    Code:
    sudo apk update
    sudo apk add lms
    To upgrade after that just do:
    Code:
    sudo apk update
    sudo apk add -l lms
    Last edited by sodface; 2021-06-29 at 04:59.

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    336
    Updated repos and weekly update script to LMS 8.3 branch. I missed that 8.3 was available. I have it installed on my Alpine LMS server:
    Logitech Media Server Version: 8.3.0 - 1628023423 @ Tue Aug 3 23:02:57 CEST 2021
    Everything seems to be working fine so far.

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Posts
    2
    Hello,

    I did a second container for this, using the latest Alpine LXC image, and the packages in your repository. Unfortunately squeezelite and lms services crash at startup, with default settings. I have tried it with enabling the Alpine testing repo and also without it.

    Where can I check the logs for both of these services, as in /var/log/messages there is nothing related to it.

    Thank You,

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    336
    Alpine 3.15.0 was released back on November 24th. Perl was upgraded to 5.34. I just rebuilt the modules for x86_64 and armv7 and updated the repo. I don't have my aarch64 builder set back up yet after the move. I'll get it back online this weekend and rebuild the modules for that architecture too.

    Currently in the x86_64 and armv7 repos:
    Code:
    lms-openrc-8-r0
    lms-8-r0
    lms-modules-8-r3
    lms-utils-8-r3
    lms-nocpan-8.3.0.1638573231-r0
    LMS starts ok and seems to be running normally:
    Code:
    [21-12-09 22:42:59.4316] main::init (390) Starting Logitech Media Server (v8.3.0, 1638573231, Sat 04 Dec 2021 12:36:15 AM CET) perl 5.034000 - x86_64-linux-thread-multi
    Last edited by sodface; 2021-12-09 at 20:58.

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    11

    Adding X86 repo plan ?

    Iĺm very happy to run squeezelite and jivelite on my Thin client (t620).

    I appreciate your effort. I want to run it on my HP t420. HP t420 is 32bit arch. Do you have any plan for supporting x86 ?

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    336
    Quote Originally Posted by blackbird View Post
    Iĺm very happy to run squeezelite and jivelite on my Thin client (t620).

    I appreciate your effort. I want to run it on my HP t420. HP t420 is 32bit arch. Do you have any plan for supporting x86 ?
    Hi blackbird, I'm thrilled to see someone else running Alpine on a thin client and that you were able to use at least my x86_64 packages for squeezelite and jivelite successfully! I do not personally have a need to support x86 and I don't really want to set up another build machine. I've already sort of failed after my recent move to set back up aarch64 and armhf. I'm looking at my pi4 right now, unplugged, dark, and covered in dust

    I've done some cross compiling previously for armel so maybe I'll look into that for x86 though probably qemu on my x86_64 builder would be a better option??

    See this link for APKBUILD files for jivelite and the couple extra sdl packages not in the Alpine repos:
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...=1#post1044729

  7. #27
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    382
    Hi Sodface,

    What's the advantage of using Alpine over say Ubuntu, Not yet got round to playing around with it but I picked up a Wyse 3040 16Gb thin client after your recommendation.

    Not sure what it's end use will be yet, but definitely will try it for LMS, thinking also maybe an entire standalone Squeezebox system for taking away on holiday breaks and other option is my OpenVPN server needs a rebuild and I could use this instead of the current Raspberry Pi.

    Cheers

    Kev

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    336
    Hey Kev,

    I haven't used Ubuntu much so I can't really make an informed comparison between it and Alpine. It's extremely petty of me, but the cutesy little animal names they use for the Ubuntu releases irritate me and make me not want to use it just for that. I'd rather just say that Alpine kind of just "clicked" for me when I started using it and the fact that they support a bunch of architectures means I can use it everywhere I need it, router, desktop, rpi's, thin clients etc. So far, the only thing that has a been a negative to me is that the Linux version of the proprietary DAW, Reaper, only supports glibc and Alpine is based on musl libc. I've tried to get Reaper to work on Alpine with the gcompat package (a glibc / muslc translation layer) but it isn't stable. I have a license for Reaper and I like it but if I want to use it on Linux I'll have to use something other than Alpine. So depending on your use cases, software compatibility on Alpine may be more of a problem than on Ubuntu. For me, Reaper is the only example that I can give.

    I thought this blog post by Drew Devault was good and lines up with my thoughts about Alpine, give it a read:

    https://git.sr.ht/~sircmpwn/drewdeva...pine-Linux.gmi

  9. #29
    Senior Member KeBul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    382
    Quote Originally Posted by sodface View Post
    Hey Kev,

    I haven't used Ubuntu much so I can't really make an informed comparison between it and Alpine. It's extremely petty of me, but the cutesy little animal names they use for the Ubuntu releases irritate me and make me not want to use it just for that. I'd rather just say that Alpine kind of just "clicked" for me when I started using it and the fact that they support a bunch of architectures means I can use it everywhere I need it, router, desktop, rpi's, thin clients etc. So far, the only thing that has a been a negative to me is that the Linux version of the proprietary DAW, Reaper, only supports glibc and Alpine is based on musl libc. I've tried to get Reaper to work on Alpine with the gcompat package (a glibc / muslc translation layer) but it isn't stable. I have a license for Reaper and I like it but if I want to use it on Linux I'll have to use something other than Alpine. So depending on your use cases, software compatibility on Alpine may be more of a problem than on Ubuntu. For me, Reaper is the only example that I can give.

    I thought this blog post by Drew Devault was good and lines up with my thoughts about Alpine, give it a read:

    https://git.sr.ht/~sircmpwn/drewdeva...pine-Linux.gmi
    OK thanks, will have a read.

    Kev

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    336
    Kev, also if you see this and decide to try Alpine on the 3040, here are some notes I took at the time (it's been a while).

    Code:
    Notes on Wyse 3040 audio setup
    
    Had issues with the chtbswrt5672 onboard audio card showing up reliably
    sometimes it was there, sometimes not.  Regardless of whether it was
    there or not, dmesg | grep cht would show errors about codec.  When the
    card showed up there were only a handful of error messages, when it didn't
    show up there were a bunch:
    
    cht-bsw-rt5672 cht-bsw-rt5672: ASoC: failed to init link SSP2-Codec: -517
    
    What seems to be reliable is to blacklist the module so it doesn't load
    at boot then load it manually once the box is booted.
    
    Add to the end of /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
    blacklist snd_soc_sst_cht_bsw_rt5672
    
    Then after boot:
    modprobe snd_soc_sst_cht_bsw_rt5672
    
    and tail dmesg:
    [   48.903788] cht-bsw-rt5672 cht-bsw-rt5672: snd-soc-dummy-dai <-> media-cpu-dai mapping ok
    [   48.904727] cht-bsw-rt5672 cht-bsw-rt5672: snd-soc-dummy-dai <-> deepbuffer-cpu-dai mapping ok
    [   48.906025] cht-bsw-rt5672 cht-bsw-rt5672: rt5670-aif1 <-> ssp2-port mapping ok
    [   48.915735] input: cht-bsw-rt5672 Headset as /devices/pci0000:00/808622A8:00/cht-bsw-rt5672/sound/card1/input20
    
    Also need to do this to get the headphone jack working:
    apk add alsa-ucm-conf
    apk add alsa-utils
    alsaucm -c cht-bsw-rt5672 set _verb HiFi set _enadev Headphones
    speaker-test -D hw:1,0 --channels=2
    
    jack-02:/home/sodface# cat /proc/asound/cards
     0 [A              ]: USB-Audio - USB-C to 3.5mm Headphone Jack A
                          Apple, Inc. USB-C to 3.5mm Headphone Jack A at usb-0000:00:14.0-3, full speed
     1 [chtbswrt5672   ]: cht-bsw-rt5672 - cht-bsw-rt5672
                          DellInc.-Wyse3040ThinClient--022RX4
    Last edited by sodface; 2022-01-24 at 05:27.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •