Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    Senior Member mooblie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Scottish Highlands
    Posts
    194
    Thanks Ralphy, I’ll take a look and report back.
    Martin

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Saint-Siméon, France
    Posts
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by mooblie View Post
    Thanks, Greg. You did indeed warn me - and that's when I started worrying that, by installing such things, I was doing things not allowed and beyond my pay grade!


    Thanks too, Paul. It is true, I did use different event numbers, as I had installed a power-off switch between the two episodes. I found the correct/latest event number for the screen using
    Code:
    cat /proc/bus/input/devices
    which gave me
    Code:
    I: Bus=0000 Vendor=0000 Product=0000 Version=0000
    N: Name="ADS7846 Touchscreen"
    P: Phys=spi0.1/input0
    S: Sysfs=/devices/platform/soc/3f204000.spi/spi_master/spi0/spi0.1/input/input6
    U: Uniq=
    H: Handlers=mouse2 event7 
    B: PROP=0
    B: EV=b
    B: KEY=400 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    B: ABS=1000003
    Any thoughts?
    Hi Martin

    Are you using the C or H version of this screen? If C, then I think you have inadvertently installed the wrong touchscreen driver. The C version uses 'BYZHYYZHY By ZH851 Touchscreen', and is not an SPI device.

    There is a thread on the Raspberry Pi forum from January this year, from someone who tried exactly what you are doing, and even had a response from our very own Greg Erskine...

    https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/v...c.php?t=261304

    Which was then followed by this:

    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...-with-Jivelite

    Edit: Further reading suggests that the WS 5" and smaller screens do use the ADS7846 touchscreen driver.

    What does your DMESG output show for screen and touch discovery?
    Last edited by Yatsushiro; 2020-05-26 at 11:54. Reason: Additional Info found

  3. #13
    Senior Member mooblie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Scottish Highlands
    Posts
    194
    Thanks, Yatsushiro - I will look at that too. I have a capacitative (not resistive) touchscreen saying "A06" on the PCB, does that make it a "C"?
    Last edited by mooblie; 2020-05-31 at 03:43.
    Martin

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Saint-Siméon, France
    Posts
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by mooblie View Post
    Thanks, Yatsushiro - I will look at that too. I have a capacitative (not resistive) touchscreen saying "A06" on the PCB, does that make it a "C"?

    (Wow - what just happened to the forums!!!?)
    If it is 1024X600 with capacitive touch, then it's either a C or an H. If it only has HDMI video input, it's a C. If it has both an HDMI port and a mini VGA port, it's an H.

    This is the back of a C:

    Name:  7CP-design.jpg
Views: 83
Size:  131.2 KB

    This is the relevant section from my DMESG:

    Code:
    [    2.982713] usb 1-1.4: new full-speed USB device number 6 using dwc_otg
    [    3.116080] usb 1-1.4: New USB device found, idVendor=0eef, idProduct=0005, bcdDevice= 2.00
    [    3.116096] usb 1-1.4: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
    [    3.116108] usb 1-1.4: Product: By ZH851
    [    3.116119] usb 1-1.4: Manufacturer: BYZHYYZHY
    [    3.116129] usb 1-1.4: SerialNumber: qP386w5689
    [    3.126338] input: BYZHYYZHY By ZH851 Mouse as /devices/platform/soc/3f980000.usb/usb1/1-1/1-1.4/1-1.4:1.0/0003:0EEF:0005.0003/input/input4
    [    3.127279] input: BYZHYYZHY By ZH851 Touchscreen as /devices/platform/soc/3f980000.usb/usb1/1-1/1-1.4/1-1.4:1.0/0003:0EEF:0005.0003/input/input5
    [    3.128402] hid-generic 0003:0EEF:0005.0003: input,hiddev96,hidraw2: USB HID v1.10 Mouse [BYZHYYZHY By ZH851] on usb-3f980000.usb-1.4/input0

  5. #15
    Senior Member mooblie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Scottish Highlands
    Posts
    194
    This is the back of my screen - obviously a totally different design from yours, and I'm beginning to wonder if it is in fact a Waveshare screen at all:



    Not sure if this is the relevant part of dmesg:
    Code:
    [    2.498297] usb 1-1.5: new full-speed USB device number 4 using dwc_otg
    [    2.634241] usb 1-1.5: New USB device found, idVendor=1a86, idProduct=e2e3, bcdDevice= 0.00
    [    2.634247] usb 1-1.5: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
    [    2.634251] usb 1-1.5: Product: USB2IIC_CTP_CONTROL
    [    2.634256] usb 1-1.5: Manufacturer: wch.cn
    [    2.662939] input: wch.cn USB2IIC_CTP_CONTROL Touchscreen as /devices/platform/soc/3f980000.usb/usb1/1-1/1-1.5/1-1.5:1.0/0003:1A86:E2E3.0001/input/input0
    [    2.663172] input: wch.cn USB2IIC_CTP_CONTROL as /devices/platform/soc/3f980000.usb/usb1/1-1/1-1.5/1-1.5:1.0/0003:1A86:E2E3.0001/input/input1
    [    2.663645] hid-generic 0003:1A86:E2E3.0001: input,hiddev96,hidraw0: USB HID v1.00 Device [wch.cn USB2IIC_CTP_CONTROL] on usb-3f980000.usb-1.5/input0
    and cat /proc/bus/input/devices isn't giving me what it previously gave me any more . Previous result was:
    Code:
    I: Bus=0000 Vendor=0000 Product=0000 Version=0000
    N: Name="ADS7846 Touchscreen"
    P: Phys=spi0.1/input0
    S: Sysfs=/devices/platform/soc/3f204000.spi/spi_master/spi0/spi0.1/input/input6
    U: Uniq=
    H: Handlers=mouse2 event7 
    B: PROP=0
    B: EV=b
    B: KEY=400 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    B: ABS=1000003
    I think this is getting beyond me now, as I've restarted pCP without backing up settings (my fault I know), and lost all my manual setting up in the RAM-resident volatile world of pCP?!

    In future I may be relying on just the IR remote, web-control, or iPeng, as this unit will be up on a shelf, beyond touch, anyway. For me, it is primarily a nice display after all.

    Many thanks to everyone trying to help here.
    -----
    Edit: I think I might try nowhinjing's page on setting a 3.5" screen up here (working link now):

    http://www.pughx2.com/picore3.html

    It's not HDMI, and rather small, but I do have a screen to try....
    Last edited by mooblie; 2020-05-29 at 07:01.

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Saint-Siméon, France
    Posts
    51
    Almost certainly not a Waveshare/Spotpear screen; I think it's a Jun Electronics version, which uses a wch touch driver. Have you tried running it and calibrating on Raspbian, or another more mainstream RPi OS? That may give some clues...

  7. #17
    Senior Member mooblie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Scottish Highlands
    Posts
    194
    Yes, I think you're right. I believe it's this screen:
    https://www.amazon.co.uk//dp/B07YJDSCKR
    - and with Raspbian it's calibrated perfectly out of the box. They recommend the LCD-show driver/calibration routines from GitHub here:
    https://github.com/goodtft/LCD-show
    and installation with:
    Code:
    sudo rm -rf LCD-show
    git clone https://github.com/goodtft/LCD-show.git
    chmod -R 755 LCD-show
    cd LCD-show/
    sudo ./LCD7C-show
    With pCP (and TinyCoreLinux of course) I'm still not sure how to calibrate on pCP?
    Martin

  8. #18
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3,072
    Calibration is covered in nowhinning's how to...link posted a couple of messages up.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  9. #19
    Senior Member mooblie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Scottish Highlands
    Posts
    194
    Thanks. I've tried Ralphy's suggestion:
    "It's likely that /usr/local/etc/ts.conf needs to be modified for your screen. The defaults are for the rpi 7" screen. "

    I did that (uncommenting the last line):
    Code:
    # Uncomment to use ts_calibrate's settings
    # module linear
    It then allowed me to use ts_calibrate - giving me, correctly, five crosshairs to touch, but when Jivelite was restarted, the calibration was still way off - by several cms.

    I now need to try this one:
    http://www.pughx2.com/picore3.html
    Martin

  10. #20
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3,072
    If you make changes to ts.conf, you need to add it to the persistent backup list

    edit /opt/.filetool.lst

    and add usr/local/etc/ts.conf

    to the end of the list of files. Then do a backup before rebooting.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •