Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    234

    Screen too bright in pCP

    Hello
    I am running pCP on a Pi 1 with a 5.5 inch av screen connected to the Pi 1 av output. The screen is a car reversing camera screen and is working very well but is too bright. There is no facility on the screen to adjust the brightness. Is there any way to reduce the screen brilliance a bit. I am using Jivelite with HD skin 640x480.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks
    diode84

  2. #2
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    4,519
    Quote Originally Posted by diode84 View Post
    Hello
    I am running pCP on a Pi 1 with a 5.5 inch av screen connected to the Pi 1 av output. The screen is a car reversing camera screen and is working very well but is too bright. There is no facility on the screen to adjust the brightness. Is there any way to reduce the screen brilliance a bit. I am using Jivelite with HD skin 640x480.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks
    diode84
    On a 7" official pi screen you can adjust screen brightness > Settings > piCorePlayer. Not sure about your 5" screen though.

    Name:  screen.jpg
Views: 120
Size:  163.4 KB
    Server - LMS 8.2.0 Pi4B 4GB/Argon one case/pCP v7.0.1 - 75K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi4/pCP 7.0.1/Topping E30 DAC/Ruark MR1 Mk2
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 6.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Pi3B/pCP/Bluetooth/Echo Show 8
    Garage - DAC32 > Edifier speakers

    Spares - 2xTouch, 1xSB Radio. 1xSB3, 6xRPi

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    234
    No it says no official Raspberry Pi display found.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,193
    I suspect that is not possible via simple configuration.
    I just had a look at the official list of items for config.txt for the composite display and saw nothing that gives controls over that.

    Might be possible with tricks in a display driver ... but pCP does not use X etc so not sure that there will be an easy way to achieve this.

    Are there any adjustable controls on the screen itself?
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,429
    If no technical solution available, you get screen dimming films (neutral density type filter) that can be stuck on the display.

    example https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B009WTOGFK/ref=dp_cerb_3 - different size are available.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    If no technical solution available, you get screen dimming films (neutral density type filter) that can be stuck on the display.

    example https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B009WTOGFK/ref=dp_cerb_3 - different size are available.
    That could be the solution although I was a bit concerned for the life of the screen itself. I will hook it up to my bench PSU and see if it works on reduced voltage.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    I suspect that is not possible via simple configuration.
    I just had a look at the official list of items for config.txt for the composite display and saw nothing that gives controls over that.

    Might be possible with tricks in a display driver ... but pCP does not use X etc so not sure that there will be an easy way to achieve this.

    Are there any adjustable controls on the screen itself?
    No nothing at all, its very basic.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    4,193
    Key thing here is that this screen is connected via the composite socket not the HDMI or GPIO or DSI so it would have to be something that would work for an old fashioned (pre HDMI) TV-style ... unless there is something in the screen that can be wired up to a GPIO which seems not to be the case here.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), PlanetRadio (Bauer - Kiss, Absolute, Scala, JazzFM etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    Key thing here is that this screen is connected via the composite socket not the HDMI or GPIO or DSI so it would have to be something that would work for an old fashioned (pre HDMI) TV-style ... unless there is something in the screen that can be wired up to a GPIO which seems not to be the case here.
    Its a very basic screen so not possible to modify be me anyway. It even stops working if it gets cold.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    234
    Chill I may be back if I need to get a new screen as the official Pi screens are quite expensive. My AV screen is obviously to basic but is doing the job at present. I may have to wear some sun glasses.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •