Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA / Pune, India
    Posts
    492

    Issue with plugin installation: Airplay, Chromecast & UPNP bridges and Material Skin

    I was trying to re-install the Material Skin and Airplay, Chromecast, and UPNP bridge plugins after a long time, but the system seems to be stuck in some kind of a loop. Everytime I click on the plugin page, it pauses for a few minutes and then asks me if I want to restart, and no matter what I select, it keeps going pack into the same loop. A look at the server log suggests that these plugins could not be downloaded. I've attached a snapshot of what I see.

    I'm running LMS on MacOS. Relevant details on the setup are:

    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.3 - 1579448956 @ Mon Jan 20 04:10:14 CET 2020
    Hostname: XXXXXX
    Server IP Address: X.X.X.X
    Server HTTP Port Number: 9000
    Operating system: OS X 10.10.5 - EN - utf8
    Platform Architecture: x86_64
    Perl Version: 5.18.2 - darwin-thread-multi-2level
    Audio::Scan: 1.02
    IO::Socket::SSL: 1.966
    Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.58 (sqlite 3.22.0)
    Total Players Recognized: 2

    I tried to look for these plugin folders in the following locations, but found nothing:

    Plugin Folders

    /Users/xxxxxx/Library/Caches/Squeezebox/InstalledPlugins/Plugins,

    /Users/xxxxxx/Library/Application Support/Squeezebox/Plugins,

    /Library/Application Support/Squeezebox/Plugins,

    /Library/PreferencePanes/Squeezebox.prefPane/Contents/server/Plugins

    Any suggestions to clear these from the update list?

    TIA,

    Nikhil

    Name:  Screen Shot 2020-04-19 at 1.55.17 PM.png
Views: 432
Size:  32.6 KB

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,310
    Quote Originally Posted by Nikhil View Post
    I was trying to re-install the Material Skin and Airplay, Chromecast, and UPNP bridge plugins after a long time, but the system seems to be stuck in some kind of a loop. Everytime I click on the plugin page, it pauses for a few minutes and then asks me if I want to restart, and no matter what I select, it keeps going pack into the same loop. A look at the server log suggests that these plugins could not be downloaded. I've attached a snapshot of what I see.

    I'm running LMS on MacOS. Relevant details on the setup are:

    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.3 - 1579448956 @ Mon Jan 20 04:10:14 CET 2020
    Hostname: XXXXXX
    Server IP Address: X.X.X.X
    Server HTTP Port Number: 9000
    Operating system: OS X 10.10.5 - EN - utf8
    Platform Architecture: x86_64
    Perl Version: 5.18.2 - darwin-thread-multi-2level
    Audio::Scan: 1.02
    IO::Socket::SSL: 1.966
    Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.58 (sqlite 3.22.0)
    Total Players Recognized: 2

    I tried to look for these plugin folders in the following locations, but found nothing:

    Plugin Folders

    /Users/xxxxxx/Library/Caches/Squeezebox/InstalledPlugins/Plugins,

    /Users/xxxxxx/Library/Application Support/Squeezebox/Plugins,

    /Library/Application Support/Squeezebox/Plugins,

    /Library/PreferencePanes/Squeezebox.prefPane/Contents/server/Plugins

    Any suggestions to clear these from the update list?

    TIA,

    Nikhil

    Name:  Screen Shot 2020-04-19 at 1.55.17 PM.png
Views: 432
Size:  32.6 KB


    The screen shot shows that you attempted to install a Plugin without ticking the

    Update plugins automatically

    box at the bottom of the Plugins page

    Suggest you tick the boxes in your screen shot then maybe tick Apply

    Wait a while and the Plugins should install, then refresh the browser, you may have to restart LMS

    There is also the possibility that the repository server is overloaded, in which case try later.

    I always install the bridge plugins one at a time


    ronnie

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA / Pune, India
    Posts
    492
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    The screen shot shows that you attempted to install a Plugin without ticking the

    Update plugins automatically

    box at the bottom of the Plugins page

    Suggest you tick the boxes in your screen shot then maybe tick Apply

    ronnie
    Thanks. Obviously I tried all that several times in every possible combination before I posted.

    Anyway, it looks like the repos are down and I just need to wait for them to come back online.

    N

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,310
    Quote Originally Posted by Nikhil View Post
    Thanks. Obviously I tried all that several times in every possible combination before I posted.

    Anyway, it looks like the repos are down and I just need to wait for them to come back online.

    N


    Well it's not obvious if you don't include that information in your post

    Which Mac OS are you using ?

    I have just installed the Airplay bridge on a raspberry pi piCorePlayer.

    The default repo did not work, but pCP has a mirror and that worked.

    If you look in the LMS server log there may be a messsage about the failure.

    This may give the download link and you could then try it to see what happens.

    It should be possible to do a manual install if the plugin downloads and you put it in the correct folder

    I did this a couple of years ago when I was having problems installind a different Plugin (MH and the Plugin DEV helped me with that)

    ronnie

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,310
    This gives a link to the thread

    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post909467

    It shows the path to install the plugin in Micheal's post.

    if you read the page before, it explains my problem.

    Further down the thread I had resolved the problem

    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post909516

    Nowadays I use a raspberry pi

    ronnie

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,411
    Quote Originally Posted by Nikhil View Post
    Anyway, it looks like the repos are down and I just need to wait for them to come back online.
    If the repos are on sourceforge then sourceforge justs timeout every so often. Check the server log to see what the repo error is exactly.

    LMS can cache http failures (not sure about repo fetches) and so repeating install in quick succession may not help. Stop LMS, clear LMS cache and then restart LMS may help.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    4,310
    In the first post for ech Plugin announce Philippe gives the sourcforge link.

    The UPnP link is

    http://downloads.sourceforge.net/pro...ev/repo-sf.xml

    I have just tried it and it downloads

    I have just read the OP's first post again and he is on Yosemite which gave me problems.

    ronnie

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,411
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    I have just read the OP's first post again and he is on Yosemite which gave me problems.
    My gut feeling about sourceforge is that it is setup to avoid being a "http" file server and so if number of downloads exceed a certain amount in a given time - it will timeout to throttle usage. Problem with LMS users is after a timeout they keep trying rapidly and so may exacerbate the problem.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,091
    Iĺve also observed that a plugin download that fails with a partial download will create exactly what you describe. So go to cache/downloaded plugins and delete everything there
    LMS 8.2 on Odroid-C4 - SqueezeAMP!, 5xRadio, 5xBoom, 2xDuet, 1xTouch, 1xSB3. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, Squeezelite on Pi, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5, RivaArena 1 & 3

  10. #10
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,536

    Issue with plugin installation:Airplay, Chromecast & UPNP bridges and Material Skin

    > Operating system: OS X 10.10.5 - EN - utf8
    > IO::Socket::SSL: 1.966


    Unfortunately this SSL implementation is rather old and known to cause
    issues with some servers. You'd either have to upgrade macOS or
    IO::Socket::SSL with its dependencies. See eg.
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...738#post925539
    --

    Michael

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •