Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 55
  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    4,416
    Quote Originally Posted by castalla View Post
    I'm confused! (not unusual these days)

    I have a radio which has the patch installed. I still get the bug message in the server log:

    [20-04-09 10:17:18.0916] main::init (388) Starting Logitech Media Server (v8.0.0, 1586408756, Thu Apr 9 07:19:42 CEST 2020) perl 5.026001 - i686-linux-gnu-thread-multi-64int

    [20-04-09 10:17:26.8198] Slim::Networking:iscovery::getFakeVersion (129)
    You're using a Radio with a buggy firmware not recognizing this version of Logitech Media Server.
    Please consider patching it. Until then we'll try to play nice and return a fake version number...
    Uninstall and reinstall the patch. I think the patch has been updated as well.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  2. #22
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,430

    Squeezebox Radio would not connect to LMS

    > Uninstall and reinstall the patch. I think the patch has been updated as
    > well.


    Correct. I had to set some flag visible to LMS when the Radio was
    patched. Or I wouldn't be able to stop the nagging when it's done. In
    order to add this flag I had to update the patch - which unfortunately
    doesn't update on the device automatically.

    --

    Michael

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5,043
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Uninstall and reinstall the patch. I think the patch has been updated as
    > well.


    Correct. I had to set some flag visible to LMS when the Radio was
    patched. Or I wouldn't be able to stop the nagging when it's done. In
    order to add this flag I had to update the patch - which unfortunately
    doesn't update on the device automatically.

    --

    Michael
    Okay - thanks
    LMS server: O2 Joggler with Jivelite, Pi Zero W with PcP 6.0

    Amp: Denon PMA-50

    Players/Speakers: Touch, Logitech Radios, Sonos Play 1s & Beam, Libratone Zipp, GGMM E2 & E3, Yamaha WXAD-010, Loewe Airspeaker, Google Chromecast Audio, Home Mini & Nest Hub, Amazon Echo 2,3 and Show5, Pioneer WX-SMA1, Roberts S1, O2 Joggler, Cisco Joggler, Fiio M6, Avantree Priva BT transmitter



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    1

    With iPeng you can "drag" a lost radio to LMS 8+ without patch

    Hi all
    If you use iPeng there is a other way to connect an unpatched radio to LMS 8+. You kan find Radios which have lost the connection to their LMS and which are not connected to my squeesebox.com in iPeng as "not connected player" in the playerlist.
    If you don't see them proceede a factory reset. After that you have to choose the language and then choose the netwok. The radio connects to the choosen network. Leave the radio at this point. You will find it in iPeng as "not connected player" in the playerlist. Tap it and choose the LMS to connect it with. This happens, and on the screen of the radio you will see the menu of the choosen LMS. Now you can download the patch as described. From now on you can change to any LMS you want with the menu of the radio. Until a factory reset witch unfortunately removes the patch.

  5. #25
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,430

    Squeezebox Radio would not connect to LMS

    > If you use iPeng there is a other way to connect an unpatched radio to
    > LMS 8+. You kan find Radios which have lost the connection to their LMS
    > and which are not connected to my squeesebox.com in iPeng as "not
    > connected player" in the playerlist.


    The latest LMS8 would let them connect anyway. Most likely the
    workaround I put in place will continue to work. But I added a check to
    ask the user to patch their units, as fixing the version string
    comparison on the Radio is the real fix.

    --

    Michael

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    158
    I have two SBR connected as a stereo pair. On one the screen doesn't work at all, I've covered with electrical tape.

    Any suggestions how I can patch the SBR with no screen?

    I was able to select the one with no screen for playback control from the one with a screen but it doesn't allow a plugin to be installed.

  7. #27
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,430

    Squeezebox Radio would not connect to LMS

    > Any suggestions how I can patch the SBR with no screen?

    If SSH was enabled on the unit you could patch it manually.

    Otherwise you'll have to rely on the assumption that faking the server
    version string under some circumstances won't break anything, but let
    you use your device as before.
    --

    Michael

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    158
    Thanks Michael

    SSH isn't enabled so I'll just have to hope the server patch continues to work.

    Or downgrade LMS as a fallback.

  9. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    3

    New firmware?

    How about creating a real fixed new firmware for Radios altogether? Or is this not possible due to licencing/copyright issues?

  10. #30
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,430

    Squeezebox Radio would not connect to LMS

    > How about creating a real fixed new firmware for Radios altogether? Or
    > is this not possible due to licencing/copyright issues?


    I think the message in LMS explains that we were not able to create a
    new firmware when we tried last time (which admittedly was a few years ago).

    Now that said, there are always people more dedicated and brave than a
    company who's asked to maintain a long abandoned device... There's
    indeed an effort going on to provide an updated firmware for the Radio:

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=111663

    It's not available to a larger audience, and I have no idea where the
    journey goes. But just as a hint as to what is involved in getting this
    stunt pulled off: the build is run on a Linux from 2010. Such an old
    system is having a hard time satisfying today's web servers and has a
    hard time downloading from them. That was one of the reasons why we
    (well, mostly me, tbh) gave up trying last time...

    --

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •