Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Squeezelite Player for Stream Output

Hello guys, this is my first post in this forum.
    I already tried to find information on this topic but was not very successful.

I have a Linux machine running the LMS together with about 30 Squeezelite instances where each of them outputting to a different analog output of 6 connected USB 8 channel soundcards (7+1).

What i would like to have now, is a additional, always running Squeezelite Instance (chooable be the LMS), that offers a MP3 (or similar) stream output that could again chosen as Sourcestream by the LMS.

I already tried to simply start squeezelite with output to STDOUT and piped this to cvlc (VLC) trying to generate a mp3 stream but no luck so far.

squeezelite -n TESTZONE -o - | cvlc -vvv - --sout '#transcode{acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2}:standard {access=http,dst=0.0.0.0:8888/testzone.mp3}'

As i am a noob when it comes to such things i would kindly ask for help or hints on this.

Thanks.
    Last edited by Labmaster; 2020-03-30 at 04:22.

Quote Originally Posted by Labmaster View Post
    What i would like to have now, is a additional, always running Squeezelite Instance (chooable be the LMS), that offers a MP3 (or similar) stream output that could again chosen as Sourcestream by the LMS.
    Please explain the use case as this "feels" like a feedback loop.

squeezelite -n TESTZONE -o - | cvlc -vvv - --sout '#transcode{acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2}:standard {access=http,dst=0.0.0.0:8888/testzone.mp3}'
    I need to check but the IP address of 0.0.0.0 looks wrong.

Generally prove that teh vlc works by playing from say line input of PC - then whenb working - replace with squeezelite as a source.

edit:

Try "dst=:8888" no IP address.
    Last edited by bpa; 2020-03-30 at 04:37.

yes, it's a kind of loopback, but for good reason.