Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,630

    Alarm to interrupt what is currently playing

    From a quick test .... if you are already playing something when the alarm time is reached then the alarm is skipped.

    At the moment I try to tune in to a radio station for particular news programmes.
    So - for example - I would set an alarm for BBC Radio 4 at 17:00 Monday-Friday.

    If there was a setting for each alarm that had an "interrupt current output" (can't think of the right wording) then it could see if there is something playing at present ... Pause ... put the alarm at the Now Playlist slot (shuffle everything else down by 1) and Resume.

    If it is a playlist that is scheduled then I guess it has to replace the current playlist as a whole.

    Then at the end of the alarm duration (which would be the programme length in my case) it would move to next item in playlist.
    If I have heard enough of the news then I simply hit Next to get back to what I was listening to before (with that track restarting).

    Alternative approach would be to put it as the Play Next item and then do a Next

    Alarm could skip if the scheduled item is the same as is already playing.

    I have not looked at the code yet but am willing to give it a try. Wanted to get some feedback first.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  2. #2
    Why not! the same mechanism could also be used for a global notification system, eg connected to doorbell, alarm system, paging...

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,871
    Quote Originally Posted by Gobuleberbu View Post
    Why not! the same mechanism could also be used for a global notification system, eg connected to doorbell, alarm system, paging...
    This has been asked a few time before and I think there has been a solution created Ur is different - you want to interrupt a stream and go back to playing - the OP wants to start a new stream

    A quick search found this one thread.
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...-announcements

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    This has been asked a few time before and I think there has been a solution created Ur is different - you want to interrupt a stream and go back to playing - the OP wants to start a new stream

    A quick search found this one thread.
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...-announcements
    Thanks Iĺll give it a look!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    18,871
    Oops - I thought I was in a continuation of another thread about alternative to alarm.

    The idea of breaking current paying stream to play something and return has been asked many times - the first I recall was a query about pager or email notification
    With HA and text to speech it appears very so often but each time - it sort of runs into the sand - possibly because each "source" is different . A nice idea but not enough people seem to have a great need for it.
    Another HA related thread.
    https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...-announcements

    WRT Paul's idea of breaking currently playing stream to play an alarm. IIRC the current behaviour (i.e can interrupt currently playing stream) arises from alarm playing internet streams having to be reliable. A lot of people used alarm to wake up to an internet stream and initial implementation of alarmjust tried once to play the stream but if stream broke or didn't set up - no alarm and so as an alarm not very useful. So alarm was changed to repeat set up - in fact if you are very quick and dismiss an alarm - LMS will restart the stream thinking the stream started for the alarm has broken.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    698
    There also is LMS Announce from [mention]Roland0 [/mention]
    It interrupts the current stream, plays an audio file or TTS, and continues afterwards.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    652
    Still a sort of paging system would be nice. Multiple applications come in mind like, diner ready, doorbell, wakeup alarm, fire alarm etc.
    SqueezeBoxes: 1x Transporter (Living room) 1x SB2 (shed), 1x Radio (Kitchen), 1x Boom (Dining room), 1x piCorePlayer (jacuzzi), 1x piCorePlayer (Garden) 1x OSMC + Squeezelite (Movie room), 1x Touch (Study 2), few spare unit's
    Server: LMS on Pi3 7.9.1. on PcP 3.21
    Network: AVM Fritzbox, Netgear Smart Switch 24p, 3x Ubiquity

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Home Counties, UK
    Posts
    290
    Is it possible to set the duration of an alarm?
    My Squeezebox always just shuts off by itself after about an hour. Which is annoying.
    RadioFeeds UK & Ireland.. an up-to-date radio directory for your Squeezebox/Transporter/UE Smart Radio.. available from the mysqueezebox.com App Gallery.
    Bonus: our RadioFeeds LMS plugin also lists AAC and the BBC's high-quality HLS streams on top of what's available in our MSB app.
    Now with over 1000 registered users, it's available for Logitech Media Server (and Squeezebox Server, SqueezeCenter and SlimServer).
    Click for more info: http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/squeeze

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    4,376
    Quote Originally Posted by vinnielo View Post
    Is it possible to set the duration of an alarm?
    My Squeezebox always just shuts off by itself after about an hour. Which is annoying.
    Under Settings/Player/Alarm Clock you will find "Alarm Timeout (in minutes)". I have mine set to 150 minutes but if you set it to zero the alarm will play until stopped manually.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Home Counties, UK
    Posts
    290
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    Under Settings/Player/Alarm Clock you will find "Alarm Timeout (in minutes)". I have mine set to 150 minutes but if you set it to zero the alarm will play until stopped manually.
    Ach! It's done inside LMS. Thanks!
    RadioFeeds UK & Ireland.. an up-to-date radio directory for your Squeezebox/Transporter/UE Smart Radio.. available from the mysqueezebox.com App Gallery.
    Bonus: our RadioFeeds LMS plugin also lists AAC and the BBC's high-quality HLS streams on top of what's available in our MSB app.
    Now with over 1000 registered users, it's available for Logitech Media Server (and Squeezebox Server, SqueezeCenter and SlimServer).
    Click for more info: http://www.radiofeeds.co.uk/squeeze

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •