Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Squeezebox Duet in kitchen - which amplifier to connect (without remote)

    Hello.
    Today I have an EISSOUND/KBSound iSelect 2,5" radio in my kitchen.
    I'm very interesting to change this set to Squeezebox Duet with some amplifier + 2x 2,5" ceiling speakers.

    What is a recipe to connect duet to small amplifier.
    My requirement: on/off only on a duet remote. I don't need any more remote for amplifier, Ive just use one controller for Duet.
    I don't need very specially sound quality - this is only Kitchen with another sound from kitchen tools

  2. #2
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,483
    Search Amazon for "Lepai" class D mini amp. It or any similar item will work; some have Bluetooth reception if that's an interest.

    Alternatively, replace the Duet receiver with a Raspberry Pi and HiFiBerry AMP board running piCorePlayer. Your Duet Controller will still work.

  3. #3
    Maybe your alternative idea its better like duet.

    Say me something more about this... which raspberry pi iv must to try?
    The cheapest one (Raspberry Pi Zero W) its enough for LMS?

    And I must use HifiBerry? Or I can use f.e.: https://shop.justboom.co/products/ju...f2518a21&_ss=r ?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,483
    Quote Originally Posted by dayus View Post
    The cheapest one (Raspberry Pi Zero W) its enough for LMS?
    Are you planning to run LMS server on this device?

    Quote Originally Posted by dayus View Post
    And I must use HifiBerry? Or I can use f.e.: https://shop.justboom.co/products/ju...f2518a21&_ss=r ?
    You can use any HAT that works with your OS. JustBoom lists all their products as working with piCorePlayer:
    https://www.justboom.co/software/con...i-core-player/

  5. #5
    No. LMS I have opened on my QNAP.
    This unit I need only to play music from my QNAP via LMS

  6. #6
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,483
    Good, in that case a Pi Zero + amp should work fine.

  7. #7
    Senior Member kappclark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Southern VT, USA
    Posts
    175
    I have a duet in the kitchen -- I connect it to one of these little class D amps driving a pair of Polk T-15's ... very inexpensive way to rock ! I
    ----------------------------------------------
    Bill Clark, Windham, VT
    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.3 - 1590417116 @ Tue May 26 04:13:57 CEST 2020
    Hostname: ubuntu-lms - ProxMox Virtual Environment 5.4-3 | Ubuntu 16.04 xenial
    piCorePlayer | piCorePlayer v6.0.0 | www v0005 | linux 4.19.105-pcpCore_v7 | piCore v10.3pCP | Squeezelite v1.9.6-1206-pCP
    -----------------------------------------------

  8. #8
    Do you have this amp always on?

  9. #9
    Senior Member kappclark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Southern VT, USA
    Posts
    175
    Yes - I have not had a plm with it..occaisionally I restart, but with such little current draw, it is easier to keep it on ... I was trying a Bose Sound Dock, but the older model I have always goes to sleep, so had to reset it always to get sound ...
    ----------------------------------------------
    Bill Clark, Windham, VT
    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.3 - 1590417116 @ Tue May 26 04:13:57 CEST 2020
    Hostname: ubuntu-lms - ProxMox Virtual Environment 5.4-3 | Ubuntu 16.04 xenial
    piCorePlayer | piCorePlayer v6.0.0 | www v0005 | linux 4.19.105-pcpCore_v7 | piCore v10.3pCP | Squeezelite v1.9.6-1206-pCP
    -----------------------------------------------

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •