Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 19 of 21 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 LastLast
Results 181 to 190 of 210
  1. #181
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    22
    I've been using the snoopy86 container. Reckon I'll be able to switch over to one of these containers using my existing volumes - obviously pointing to the correct equivalent paths?

    Sent from my Redmi Note 8T using Tapatalk

  2. #182
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    758
    Quote Originally Posted by zordaz View Post
    My entire docker setup and management is done via docker-compose, as can be read elsewhere in this thread, including compose-file examples. Did you use search?
    Apologies, I didn't. I originally started this thread a long time ago, but then lost track of it.

    Will have a look back through your posts.

    Thanks

    Andy

  3. #183
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by lordvader View Post
    I've been using the snoopy86 container. Reckon I'll be able to switch over to one of these containers using my existing volumes - obviously pointing to the correct equivalent paths?

    Sent from my Redmi Note 8T using Tapatalk
    There must be several LMS images 'out there'. Does anyone have a recent overview of them? I think it is time to try to combine all separate efforts as much as possible.
    Living Room: HifiBerry DAC+ Pro & piCorePlayer
    Attic: HifiBerry DAC+ RCA & piCorePlayer
    Kitchen: SB Radio
    Other rooms: 4x SB Radio

  4. #184
    Quote Originally Posted by lordvader View Post
    I've been using the snoopy86 container. Reckon I'll be able to switch over to one of these containers using my existing volumes - obviously pointing to the correct equivalent paths?

    Sent from my Redmi Note 8T using Tapatalk
    Should work like this yes. Btw this is mine you are using.

    @mherger where are we currently with the official one? The major benefit of the official one would be that it would be up to date as now we have to make manual triggers.

    For starters we can add the existing dockerfile to slimdevices git. This would mean that commits to the code would trigger the build so it will be up to date.

  5. #185
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,460

    'Official' docker container for LMS?

    > @mherger where are we currently with the official one? The major benefit
    > of the official one would be that it would be up to date as now we have
    > to make manual triggers.


    I'm following the discussion, but am not familiar enough with it all to
    actually take some action. If somebody submitted a pull request, I could
    probably try it out and get a better understanding.

    But the biggest issue right now is the lack of spare time to take care
    of all the moving parts.
    --

    Michael

  6. #186
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,460

    'Official' docker container for LMS?

    > @mherger where are we currently with the official one? The major benefit
    > of the official one would be that it would be up to date as now we have
    > to make manual triggers.


    Thanks for submitting https://github.com/Logitech/slimserver/pull/439!

    Would the knowledgable people here please chime in on it, as I have a
    lot of questions? It's much easier for me to discuss an actual file than
    to follow an unstructured discussion like we do here. I have many
    questions in that pull request - because of my ignorance.

    If you would like to help with this effort, you can branch snoopy86's
    suggestion and tweak it to be further discussed. Thanks a lot!

    --

    Michael

  7. #187
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    410
    I've been following this thread for a while and I have two simple questions regarding the compatibility of underlying systems.

    If I set up a docker compose file with all the mount points and ports I want, I should be able to seamlessly switch between docker containers by change the "image:" entry in the docker-compose.yml shouldn't I? Or is there anything that people would change in the docker file which would make this not happen?

    On a similar note once my configuration is separated in to a mount point or data container, it should be compatible with all containers (even on other architectures)? I understand the underlying functionality required for plugins might be missing in base container, but there isn't any platform/os specific code in the configuration/plugin/state directories is there?

    TIA

  8. #188
    Quote Originally Posted by sander View Post
    I've been following this thread for a while and I have two simple questions regarding the compatibility of underlying systems.

    If I set up a docker compose file with all the mount points and ports I want, I should be able to seamlessly switch between docker containers by change the "image:" entry in the docker-compose.yml shouldn't I? Or is there anything that people would change in the docker file which would make this not happen?

    On a similar note once my configuration is separated in to a mount point or data container, it should be compatible with all containers (even on other architectures)? I understand the underlying functionality required for plugins might be missing in base container, but there isn't any platform/os specific code in the configuration/plugin/state directories is there?

    TIA
    You will have to check volume namings and any additional env variables if they are needed from different docker images but if that is the same you can just change the image and it should work.

  9. #189
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,460

    'Official' docker container for LMS?

    Ok, it's done: an "official" Docker image now is available on Docker hub:

    https://hub.docker.com/r/lmscommunit...echmediaserver

    It doesn't come with any of the bells and whistles some of the others
    do. But it'll be updated automatically, like for the other packages.
    Thus it doesn't rely on a .deb package or other inside the image to be
    updated.

    The image should be available for x86_64 and ARM. Please give it a try
    and let me know about the findings!

    Thanks snoopy86, lauret et al. who kickstarted my Docker know-how in
    only a few days :-)

    --

    Michael

  10. #190
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    758
    Excellent, looking forward to trying this.

    Minor point, the image name in the examples is incorrect: 'Logitech/slimserver'

    Also, I realise it's a first attempt, but can we have tags for latest 'stable' (presumably 7.9.x) and 'latest' (8.x)?

    Cheers

    Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •