Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    12

    Picore and HifiBerry DAC+

    Hi
    I'm new with Linux and Alsa.
    When I use a PI3b and Picore and I use an amplifier all works (with a little bit noise in the distance but that's normal).
    So this is all working fine.

    When I use the PI with the HifiBerry DAC+ (with RCA) I hear nothing.
    On the monitor of the PI I see: Waiting for soundcard sndrpihifiberry to populate …..failed to find sndrpihifiberry (42).

    In LMS on my NAS I see Picore but playing a song: it remains silent.

    In Picore by Squeezelite: when I fill in hw:CARD=sndrpihifiberry Squeezelight will not run.
    When I use hw:CARD=ALSA Squeezelight will run, but ...I hear nothing.

    What is going wrong? Hope someone can help me.

    Peter2
    Last edited by Peter2; 2020-02-25 at 14:13.

  2. #2
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    2,900
    What card are you selecting on the drop down list?
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  3. #3
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    3,529
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter2 View Post
    Hi
    I'm new with Linux and Alsa.
    When I use a PI3b and Picore and I use an amplifier all works (with a little bit noise in the distance but that's normal).
    So this is all working fine.

    When I use the PI with the HifiBerry DAC+ (with RCA) I hear nothing.
    On the monitor of the PI I see: Waiting for soundcard sndrpihifiberry to populate ů..failed to find sndrpihifiberry (42).

    In LMS on my NAS I see Picore but playing a song: it remains silent.

    In Picore by Squeezelite: when I fill in hw:CARD=sndrpihifiberry Squeezelight will not run.
    When I use hw:CARD=ALSA Squeezelight will run, but ...I hear nothing.

    What is going wrong? Hope someone can help me.

    Peter2
    Have you selected the correct HAT?

    Name:  2020-02-25_214145.jpg
Views: 198
Size:  69.9 KB
    Server - LMS 8.0.0 Pi4B 4GB/Flirc case/pCP 6.0.0 18K library, playlists & LMS cache on SSD (ntfs)
    Study - Pi3B+/pCP 5.0.0/pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/jivelite,
    Lounge - Pi2/pCP 5.0.0 > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Squeezebox Boom
    Garage - Squeezebox Touch > Edifier R980T

    Spares - 1xTouch, 1xSB3, 1xRadio, 7xRPi

  4. #4
    Senior Member Jeff07971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    1,449
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstypike View Post
    Have you selected the correct HAT?

    Name:  2020-02-25_214145.jpg
Views: 198
Size:  69.9 KB
    And hit SAVE ?
    Players: SliMP3,Squeezebox3 x3,Receiver,SqueezeLite-X,PiCorePlayer x3
    Server: LMS Version: Latest Nightly on Centos 8.0 VM on ESXi 6.5.0U3 on Dell T320
    Plugins: AutoRescan/BBCiPlayer/PowerSave/PowerSwitchIII/Squeezecloud/Spotty/Player Groups
    Remotes: iPeng9/Orangesqueeze/PC/Jivelite/SqueezeLite-X
    Music: 522GB,1.5K albums with 25K songs by 5K artists mostly FLACs

    Want a webapp ? See http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...Webapp-for-LMS

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by kidstypike View Post
    Have you selected the correct HAT?

    Name:  2020-02-25_214145.jpg
Views: 198
Size:  69.9 KB
    Hi
    Yes I did: HifiBerry DAC + (and Pro,AMP2)
    And hit SAVE

    (I made a screen image but how do I get it in the post?)

    Peter2
    Last edited by Peter2; 2020-02-27 at 02:11.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,745
    Setting up this card shoould be extremely simple. Select correct card, Save and Reboot. No typing required.

    Check if your card is recognized, look on the Squeezelite settings page > Output setting > More> help

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    12
    Hi Folks

    I read in the forum: it's so easy to get it working! I got an answer: it's so easy.
    So I thought: is it the hardware?
    The PI gave sound: no problem! What is new? The DAC: out of the box!
    So I cleaned the 40 pins connector and the 40 pins of the DAC with alcohol (dangerous to drink!).
    And after renewed connection: a green led on the DAC starts burning (I had not seen before).
    And what I then already expected: it's working fine!!!
    So indirectly the forum helped me solving the problem.

    Thank you all!
    This post can be closed.

    Peter

  8. #8
    Senior Member M-H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter2 View Post
    So I cleaned the 40 pins connector and the 40 pins of the DAC with alcohol
    Hi Peter,
    I've never experienced that cleaning alcohol is needed on new hardware and relative clean connectors like a pi uses in house.
    But the scraping of the pins when inserting and extracting connectors does help.
    'Popping connectors' a few times is a wel known fix when debugging computer hardware problems.
    Especially when using old stuff.

    Another mistake I once made was to put the hat on wrong , with just 1 row of pins.
    Obviously reconnecting it again ( correct ) helped a lot.

    M-H
    Pi based multi-room audio system powered by PiCorePlayer(s):
    Pi3B with Phat-dac in a Rasptouch, 2 pi B+ with Cirrus Logic Audio Card, Pi Zero with Phat-beat , and a few other tests...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •