Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: internet radio

  1. #1
    Member notechyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    48

    [Solved] internet radio

    Hello All
    I have one of these slim devices and the remote seems to have given up. Would you guys know a generic remote which would work for the slim-device remote?


    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by notechyet; 2020-02-14 at 18:53.

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,430

    internet radio

    > I have one of these slim devices and the remote seems to have given up.
    > Would you guys know a generic remote which would work for the
    > slim-device remote?


    I believe almost any multi device remote should work. Harmony certainly
    does. Some JVC remotes might work, too. Or a SB replacement remote as
    found on some online shops.

    --

    Michael

  3. #3
    Member notechyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > I have one of these slim devices and the remote seems to have given up.
    > Would you guys know a generic remote which would work for the
    > slim-device remote?


    I believe almost any multi device remote should work. Harmony certainly
    does. Some JVC remotes might work, too. Or a SB replacement remote as
    found on some online shops.

    --

    Michael
    Thanks@mherger
    I did try with some old TV remotes today without success. Our SB hasn't been used for a few years and now we are also Spotify subscribers. Is there a chance to connect to Spotify? If we can't get Spotify running on the old slim device then we might get some new gadget.

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,430

    internet radio

    > I did try with some old TV remotes today without success. Our SB hasn't
    > been used for a few years and now we are also Spotify subscribers. Is
    > there a chance to connect to Spotify? If we can't get Spotify running on
    > the old slim device then we might get some new gadget.


    If you're running LMS, then you can install the Spotty plugin.

    --

    Michael

  5. #5
    Member notechyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > I did try with some old TV remotes today without success. Our SB hasn't
    > been used for a few years and now we are also Spotify subscribers. Is
    > there a chance to connect to Spotify? If we can't get Spotify running on
    > the old slim device then we might get some new gadget.


    If you're running LMS, then you can install the Spotty plugin.

    --

    Michael
    I'm not up with the latest... what is LMS?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    4,429
    Quote Originally Posted by notechyet View Post
    I'm not up with the latest... what is LMS?
    An updated version of Squeezecenter..

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Member notechyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by slartibartfast View Post
    An updated version of Squeezecenter..

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    Thanks @slartibartfast
    I had installed the Logitech media Server on my laptop yesterday without knowing anything about it. I just though I'll try. Have found the plugin.
    So first next is a remote....
    Last night I also read somewhere here that Logitech wants to shut down the servers or something there-alike. That would be sad as I haven't found anything that would be equivalent to my old device.
    Once more, thanks to you both!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    4,429
    Quote Originally Posted by notechyet View Post
    Thanks @slartibartfast
    I had installed the Logitech media Server on my laptop yesterday without knowing anything about it. I just though I'll try. Have found the plugin.
    So first next is a remote....
    Last night I also read somewhere here that Logitech wants to shut down the servers or something there-alike. That would be sad as I haven't found anything that would be equivalent to my old device.
    Once more, thanks to you both!
    Do you have a smart phone? If so you can use an app or Material Skin as a controller.

    Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
    Last edited by slartibartfast; 2020-02-03 at 11:36.

  9. #9
    Member notechyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    48

    remote control

    I have just checked the remote control with my camera and there is definitely a light coming from it. Still the SB base station does not react to it at all. Does anyone know what could be the problem?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    4,811
    https://remotes-world.com/products/l...iABEgJLLPD_BwE

    Not sure if they will ship to NZ

    I can't remember the last time I actually used any remote with me SB players - a smartphone is much easier
    VB2.4 storage QNAP TS419p (NFS)
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 -> Celestion F20s
    Office - Pi3+Sreen -> Sony TAFE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi2+DAC & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom
    Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - Pi2+DAC ->ToppingTP21 ->AKG Headphones
    Bedroom (TV) - SB Touch ->Sherwood AVR ->Mordaunt Short M10s
    Everything controlled by iPeng

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •