Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Lms ram

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    307

    Lms ram

    Hi there,

    Today I logged in and could see my Synology NAS is using a lot of RAM (86%). Resource Monitor shows that LMS 7.9.2 is using 1.1 GB (next contender was using 40 MB, so LMS is the only real user). The machine uptime is 47 days.

    Is there any reason why LMS would require so much RAM? ... Does LMS manage its RAM use and dump whatever is necessary to prevent a crash?

    Should I occasionally restart LMS?

    Best regards,
    Claus

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,538

    Lms ram

    > Today I logged in and could see my Synology NAS is using a lot of RAM
    > (86%). Resource Monitor shows that LMS 7.9.2 is using 1.1 GB (next
    > contender was using 40 MB, so LMS is the only real user). The machine
    > uptime is 47 days.


    That's... a lot. How large is your library? What is your memory setting
    in Settings/Advanced/Performance?

    > Is there any reason why LMS would require so much RAM? ... Does LMS
    > manage its RAM use and dump whatever is necessary to prevent a crash?


    In the "maximum" memory configuration it would use large buffers to keep
    most of the library data in memory. And it takes advantage of more
    memory to cache information in many other places. But still, 1.1GB seems
    like too much.

    --

    Michael

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    307
    I turned off the NAS last night and restarted it 3 hours ago, to listen to music. Resource monitor says LMS uses 165 MB, so we're down from 1.1 GB. Other consumption of RAM looks unchanged. 165 MB is probably normal. I'm still curious to understand ...

    Library statistics:
    Total Images: 803
    Total Videos: 1
    Total Tracks: 8,548
    Total Albums: 697
    Total Artists: 926
    Total Genres: 102
    Total Playing Time: 556:30:59

    Settings/Advanced/Performance
    Database Memory Config: High (recommended for machines with 1+ GB RAM)

    BTW, I have two apps installed, Radio Paradise and TIDAL. Could it be the TIDAL plugin which requires some memory?

    Best regards,
    Claus
    Last edited by cfuttrup; 2020-02-08 at 10:57.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,273
    Quote Originally Posted by cfuttrup View Post
    I turned off the NAS last night and restarted it 3 hours ago, to listen to music. Resource monitor says LMS uses 165 MB, so we're down from 1.1 GB. Other consumption of RAM looks unchanged. 165 MB is probably normal. I'm still curious to understand ...Library statistics:Total Images: 803Total Videos: 1Total Tracks: 8,548Total Albums: 697Total Artists: 926Total Genres: 102Total Playing Time: 556:30:59Settings/Advanced/PerformanceDatabase Memory Config: High (recommended for machines with 1+ GB RAM)BTW, I have two apps installed, Radio Paradise and TIDAL. Could it be the TIDAL plugin which requires some memory?Best regards,Claus
    You could disable some other plugins. Like the upnp plugin, if you're not using it.Next time look in the resource manager under task manger which sup processes of LMS take a lot of resources. This might give a clue.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    751
    Quote Originally Posted by cfuttrup View Post
    Library statistics:
    Total Images: 803
    Total Videos: 1
    Total Tracks: 8,548
    Total Albums: 697
    Total Artists: 926
    Total Genres: 102
    Total Playing Time: 556:30:59
    Do you really display images and videos through LMS? If not, disable scanning for these. But I don't know if it would make a difference regarding ram usage.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    307
    Hi there

    Today after uptime = 1 day and 3 hours, and streaming 8 hours of Tidal, the RAM consumption is at 188 MB. It's going up, but not critical (yet).

    I have a suspicion that Tidal is causing this. At the previous post I had run the NAS since before Christmas (the 23rd to be exact) and through this period of time, as we know, there were issues with Tidal. It's just a suspicion on my part, nothing solid.

    Best regards,
    Claus

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •