Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 366

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,647

    Jivelite on a Pirate Audio 240x240 screen

    *** Current (final?) set of instructions are in this post ***

    I've moved this over from the pCP6/Pi4 thread, where it wasn't really on-topic.

    The Jivelite on Alpine Linux thread prompted me to have another go at getting Jivelite to work on the little Pirate Audio 240x240 display. After following JQW's instructions for getting the screen to show the boot up messages, and copying over Ralphy's file to configure detailed logging, I'm then trying to start Jivelite from a keyboard connected to the RPi, via a slightly modified script:

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    if [ ! -z ${SDL_TOUCHSCREEN} ]; then
        export JIVE_NOCURSOR=1
    fi
    
    export HOME=/home/tc
    export JIVE_FRAMERATE=22
    export JL_SCREEN_WIDTH=240
    export JL_SCREEN_HEIGHT=240
    export TSLIB_FBDEVICE=/dev/fb1
    
    #while true; do
    #    sleep 3
        /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite >> /var/log/jivelite.log 2>&1
    #done
    I included the TSLIB_FBDEVICE variable in an attempt to get jivelite to use the correct framebuffer device for this little screen - not sure if that's the correct approach.

    All that happens when I run the script is that the cursor on the screen stops flashing. The jivelite process is evidently running (I can see it as a process with PS), and the the logfile rapidly starts filling up. The only way I can get control back on the keyboard/screen is by killing the jivelite process from an SSH terminal.

    I think the fbset command is telling me that the little screen has a bit depth of 16
    Code:
    fbset -fb /dev/fb1 -s
    
    mode "240x240-0"
    	# D: 0.000 MHz, H: 0.000 kHz, V: 0.000 Hz
    	geometry 240 240 240 240 16
    	timings 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    	accel false
    	rgba 5/11,6/5,5/0,0/0
    endmode
    ..whereas /dev/fb0 has a bit depth of 32
    Code:
    fbset -fb /dev/fb0 -s
    
    mode "800x600-72"
    	# D: 50.000 MHz, H: 48.077 kHz, V: 72.188 Hz
    	geometry 800 600 800 600 32
    	timings 20000 64 56 23 37 120 6
    	accel false
    	rgba 8/16,8/8,8/0,8/24
    endmode
    I can't seem to match the jivelite log file to either of these devices:
    JiveLite 0.1.0
    [0;33m20200118 09:01:11.587 INFO jivelite - JiveMain.lua:312 JiveLite version 0.1.0[0m
    [0;33m20200118 09:01:11.587 INFO jivelite.ui.draw - jiveL_initSDL:232 initSDL[0m
    [0;33m20200118 09:01:11.710 INFO jivelite.ui.draw - jiveL_initSDL:245 656,416 32 bits/pixel 4 bytes/pixel [R<<16 G<<8 B<<0][0m
    [/code]

    Is that fourth line telling me that the device is 656x416, with bit depth 32?

    So I'm wondering if Jivelite is sending the output somewhere else. What's the correct way to force it to use /dev/fb1 ?
    Last edited by chill; 2020-04-18 at 01:06.

  2. #2
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,465
    Try adding this to the list of envars.

    SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb1
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  3. #3
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,647
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    Try adding this to the list of envars.

    SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb1
    Thanks Ralphy - that's moved things along a bit. I now get the 'piCor' part of the splash screen, before it crashes back to a prompt. The last few lines of the log file show that it's trying to load the Joggler skin with an 800x480 video mode, which clearly isn't supported on this 240x240 display.

    Code:
    20200118 15:09:08.399 DEBUG  jivelite.applets - AppletManager.lua:563 Loaded: JogglerSkin
    20200118 15:09:08.399 ERROR  jivelite.ui.draw - jive_surface_set_video_mode:855 SDL_SetVideoMode(800,480,0): No video mode large enough for 800x480
    20200118 15:09:08.399 ERROR  jivelite.ui.draw - jiveL_set_video_mode:902 Video mode not supported: 800x480
    I figured I was going to have to look at modifying an existing skin to work with 240x240. Is there a quick way around this?

  4. #4
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,647
    Michael pointed out that the Radio and Controller both have 240 pixel screens. Is it feasible to extract a skin from those devices? I have both, and I have previously SSH'd into a Radio. I'll have to search for how I did that, because I recall that the Radio has an encryption method which isn't supported by FileZilla.

  5. #5
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20,416

    Jivelite on a Pirate Audio 240x240 screen

    > Michael 'pointed out'
    > (https://forums.slimdevices.com/showt...l=1#post956299)
    > that the Radio and Controller both have 240 pixel screens. Is it


    But please note that they only have 240px in one dimension, 320 in the
    other. You'd have to tweak them to make them fit a 240x240. But hey, I'm
    looking forward to seeing the results :-).

    > feasible to extract a skin from those devices? I have both, and I have
    > previously SSH'd into a Radio. I'll have to search for how I did that,
    > because I recall that the Radio has an encryption method which isn't
    > supported by FileZilla.


    It's the QVGA* skins in

    https://github.com/ralph-irving/jive...e/jive/applets

    You might be able to inherit from the QVGABaseSkin.
    --

    Michael

  6. #6
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,647
    Thanks Michael - I'll start from there.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK/London
    Posts
    2,419
    I see that Pimoroni are offering 15% off for much of their stuff for a ôkrakenö sale period of a few days.
    Paul Webster
    http://dabdig.blogspot.com
    Author of "Now Playing" plugins covering Radio France (FIP etc), KCRW, Supla Finland, ABC Australia, CBC/Radio-Canada and RTE Ireland

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Webster View Post
    I see that Pimoroni are offering 15% off for much of their stuff for a ôkrakenö sale period of a few days.
    So they do. ú16.58 for a line-out Pirate Audio! Thanks.

  9. #9
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3,031
    I picked up a cheap st7789v based display.....works just fine with the new driver and overlay.

    This display and driver do not use the MISO channel on the SPI interface, so you can leave it unwired. The Pirate Audio board actually reuses this for DC. I used an arbitrary for my test configuration.

    This is how I wired and configured my other display.
    dtoverlay=st7789v-spi,dc_pin=24,reset_pin=25,cs=0,rotation=180,row_o ffset=80

    I'll build this driver into the next kernel.
    piCorePlayer a small player for the Raspberry Pi in RAM.
    Homepage: https://www.picoreplayer.org

    Please donate if you like the piCorePlayer

  10. #10
    Senior Member chill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,647
    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    I picked up a cheap st7789v based display.....works just fine with the new driver and overlay.

    This display and driver do not use the MISO channel on the SPI interface, so you can leave it unwired. The Pirate Audio board actually reuses this for DC. I used an arbitrary for my test configuration.

    This is how I wired and configured my other display.
    dtoverlay=st7789v-spi,dc_pin=24,reset_pin=25,cs=0,rotation=180,row_o ffset=80

    I'll build this driver into the next kernel.
    I have a couple of ST7789 240x240 SPI displays that I can't get to work with the fbtft_device. They differ from the one that I did get to work in that they don't have a CS connection. They have pins for GND, VCC, SCL, SDA, RES, DC, BLK. No combination of pins and settings that I've tried results in the slightest hint of life from the screen.

    Do you have any suggestions for getting them working with fbtft_device while I wait for your driver to become available?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •